Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex uk

Faultless in every respect

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: 6 minute walk to Altstadt and Shadow Strasse for shopping
Can only say the Hotel has been refurbished to excellent standard and Staff were excellent in every respect. All reception Staff were faultless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A splendid hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: As above.
Cons: My curtains did not entirely cover the fairly long windows,and I prefer a shower cabinet to curtains round a bath, but these were minor faults.
Location: Hotel is two minutes walk from a metro and tram stop.Nearby,across the main road, is the main art museum and the start of the Dusseldorf waterfront.
My room was spacious and well furnished, with double glazing blocking all the noise from a busy road outside. The bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom was also roomy, with a non-slip shower/bath base. For breakfast the range of food offered was more than adequate, both hot and cold, and accompanied by ample supplies of coffee.The dining room itself was a joy to behold, with its light brown tables and chairs and pristine tablecloths. Each and every member of staff was helpful and cheerful, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adrian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

very good experience

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Very convenient location, nice staff and great breakfast. But the room fixed line has problem always I need to come downstairs to talk to the reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Martti from finland

value for money

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
great value for money as I got special 79eur deal. Very good breakfast and decent though somewhat outdated rooms. Excellent service and only a short walk to old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by richard from canada

excellent stay

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
good clean hotel, nice large room with everything that should be there in the room.four underground stops from main railway station.a big plus for an hotel in Europe is free wi-fi..(and it was strong too) and also a very good buffet breakfast also.all in all an excellent stay and I will stay here again when I am back in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest, USA

Nice hotel, good value

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Price compared to other hotels, nice breakfast
Cons: If you have a car parking is a bit of a pain.
Location: Go to Altstadt, great food and beer!
I checked out a number of hotels online before booking and the price for the value seemed to be best for the Excelsior and my hunch worked out! Nice place, 15 minute or less walk to Altstadt, clean rooms, quiet hotel, really good breakfast, friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel without having to pay a ridiculous amount. If you have a car you have to park across the street at the parking garage. It's around 17 euro a night so that part wasn't so fun but if you've been to Europe before you'll know that parking in the cities is always at a premium. You might be able to drive around and find a spot along the street but it was pretty full everywhere. Not the hotels fault though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Fabulous in every aspect!

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
It was fabulous! The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever had in our travels! With out a doubt will come back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from London

Good value good quality good location

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
Great value good quality hotel. Although the room was clearly not the latest styling the condition of it was still very good. The bath tiles are actually so out of date they may even be back in fashion! Very helpful staff, neat system on the Wifi log-in for requesting things such as irons etc. Would definitely stay again. Walking distance to the Altstadt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

skønt roligt hotel i rolige omgivelser

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Stille og roligt hotel, behagelig atmosfære