Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A. Farooqi from Maidenhead, UK

Fantastic Service

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Team at Reception was very politely, knowledgeable and very helpful. The room was neat and clean. Excellent value for Money. Would love to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2014 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your Review. We hope we see us again. Your Team from Wyndham Garden Düsseldorf Mettmann
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst bed ever

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We have received your comment. With best regards, Your Team from WYNDHAM GARDEN Düsseldorf Mettmann.
2 out of 5
by sergenick from Seattle

Nice Hotel Location, Lacking Services

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: Location, sauna.
Cons: They need to add WiFi capabilities. It is claimed on the hotel description, but it never worked.
Location: The charming town of Mettmann, Dusseldorf.
This hotel is located conveniently in Mettmann, not too far from the town and a close drive to Dusseldorf. They have a nice sauna and good meeting facilities. I came to this hotel for business and to spend a few days catching up on work. Unfortunately, I was not able to do this because of their lack of Internet service. The rooms are a bit small, but otherwise German standard. The big problem is their "free WiFi" DOES NOT WORK, even on multiple devices (iPad, PC, droid phone, etc.). After several days in the hotel, they were unable to get it working. The only option was to work in the lobby with a cable. Even after the front desk staff promised to have the system reset multiple times and to talk with management, nothing happened over several days. They kept giving me new passwords, but this was not the problem -- I could not even access the screen for passwords. It was a "hot" issue discussed in the sauna by other guests with the same problems. A business hotel without working WiFi means it is NOT a hotel that can be recommended. In this day and age, it is simply unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We really regret that you were not satisfied with the WiFi connection during your stay in our hotel. We checked the connection and we have it repaired. With best regards, Your Team from WYNDHAM GARDEN Düsseldorf Mettmann.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value for the money

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: cleanliness, staff helpful
Cons: Better Pillows and( two instead of one each)
Location: supermarket nearby,Main shops are a good 20 min walk away. Mc Donalds about 5 min walk which was handy.
The Hotel was a bit far away from the centre of Dusseldorf, where we wanted to spend more time. It took almost an hour on the bus.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We have received your comments. With best regards, your Team from Wyndham Garden Düsseldorf Mettmann.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Terrible service and rude aggressive staff

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff from the front to the bar were rude aggressive and generally unhelpful. The bar staff were rude and put out by having to serve us. They booked my taxi booked for the incorrect time at 0515 instead of 0545 although I was a awake when the wake up call came the awful male receptionist persisted in arguing with me and wouldn't agree to ask the driver wait. I was down in 20 mins and luckily the driver waited. The male receptionist then persisted in aggressively pointing the time the taxi was booked and I had to ask him to stop being so aggressive. He then shrugged his shoulders and said I haven't asked the driver to wait, the driver had waited and was clearly not concerned about the wait. The male receptionist then deliberately took a very long time to check me out and even tried to argue that my credit card was not working. Despite having printed a receipt which had cleared the amount due he tried to ask for another credit card which I refused. Overall the experience left me feeling extremely unsafe. I will not be recommending this hotel or staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2013 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We really regret that you were not satisfied with our service during your stay in our hotel. With relevant staff we have already spoken. We apologize for the inconvenience. Your feedback is very important to us to improve our service. With best regards, Your Team from Wyndham Garden Düsseldorf Mettmann.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel but not more than that.....

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: It is open 24 hours a day
Location: It is a good location if you have a cer
Small rooms, hot water running out in the shower. Other than that - OK but not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We have received your comments. With best regards, Your Team from Wyndham Garden Düsseldorf Mettmann.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Adele from USA

Distance from Airport adds to the Cost

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was the first budget option that came up when I looked for one close to the Dusseldorf airport. We spent the same amount on cab rides to and from the airport as we did on this Best Western motel for our one-night stay, effectively doubling the cost. It wasn't a nice enough hotel stay to justify this travel. Surely, the total cost of travel to and from the airport plus the cost of the room is equal to staying at a nicer hotel, closer to the airport. This just wasn't worth the cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by O from New York

Partly accessable room

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Food was ok Parking free
Cons: Room has to improve Fix the step in shower Lower the toilete - do not feet comode!
Location: Near dusseldorf in Mattman About 20 min from the city
WHEN I ORDERED THE ROOMR HOTEL TOLD ME ROOM IS ROLL IN SHOWER AND ACCESSABLE ROOM In the end I got single room with a step in shower, I needed help to get in the shower and slept alone in the room both frieds I came with got a room far away, they didi not supplay a conecting door room a day after they asked me to leave the room because they over booked it!! Nsturaly I refused and they did ot asked me again....
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the disabled room during your stay in our hotel. We apologize that we have not found a way to check in your friends close to your room. We have received your comments and welcome any opportunity to improve. With best regards, Your Team from Grand City Hotel Düsseldorf Mettmann.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shelagh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room we had did not have any air con and the window only opened a fraction. Our visit coincided with 30c temp!!! So it was very hot and difficult to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2013 by Hotelmanager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We have received your comments. With best regards, Your Team from BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Düsseldorf Mettmann.