Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devils Lake, ND

Great time on Superior

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This was or second visit to Grand Superior Lodge and both times we were not disappointed ! Beautiful grounds and a great restaurant and bar with awesome Superior views. The food at Splashing Rock is incredible !! Thanks again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eden Prairie, MN

Cute cabins right on the lake

Posted Jun 22, 2014
If the price wasn't so high, I'd stay here every time I come to Duluth. The scenery, location, amenities, staff, room, etc. were so lovely! I only came for one night for Grandma's Marathon and could only enjoy the place for a few hours unfortunately :/
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from Minneapolis, MN

Terrific location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Cons: Website. Better Sauna door; looses too much heat. Beds were very firm; was very sore each morning.
Their company website does not do this place justice. It is way nicer than we could have imagined. My wife and I took our four year old boys for two nights their and had a terrific time. They have nightly s'mores available by prelim bonfires. They have yard games to play like horseshoes, bean bags, ladder golf, yard Jenga; etc - all free. Adequate pool for young kids. Ok Hot tub and Sauna as well for adults. We thought the Restaurant on site was too overpriced, but they did offer pizzas that were very good that could either be delivered to your room or picked up. Overall, great spot for our family. We wanted to check out Split Rock Lighthouse and Gooseberry Falls - all of which were no more than a 5 minute drive away. Would definitively stay again, regardless of whether we go as a family or as a romantic weekend away. Resort and the area really does offer it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Shakopee, MN

Our getaway to the North Shore

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Everything except the bed.
Cons: The bed was way too hard. An investment in pillowtop mattresses would make all the difference.
Location: Split Rock Lighthouse, Duluth, Betty's Pie Shop, The Rustic Inn (which serves the best onion rings ever!) and a stunning view of Lake Superior.
My wife and I wanted a short getaway to the North Shore, and we selected the Grand Superior Lodge. Everything was absolutely perfect, except the bed. That has got to be the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on! No, actually, there was no sleep to be had, because the bed was extremely hard and ungiving. It was a shame, because everything else was wonderful! The staff was extremely friendly, polite and accommodating. The facility was top-notch in appearance and amenities. The room (other than the bed) was magnificent, with a fantastic view and everything needed for a relaxing couple of days away (flat screen TV, jacuzzi, etc...). The resort was incredible, but the bed was lacking. We will go back again, there's no doubt about that. However, I will be making a phone call ahead of time and asking if there has been an upgrade to the bed, perhaps pillowtop mattresses will be added soon. If not, then we will bring an air mattress and sleep on the floor. I hope that Mr. Ryan takes this message to heart and does like he promises in his mission letter: If anything is not to the guests satisfaction, let him know about it so that it can be remedied. It would be unfortunate if it is not. The Grand Superior Lodge is way too nice of a place for this to compromise what would have been a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Thunder Bay, Ontario

Paradise on Lake Superior

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: View of the lake. Large but warm, cozy lodge. Bonfires. Hot tub and pool.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Lots of great hiking. Bike path goes for miles, with free bikes from the hotel!
We felt comfortable and at home from the moment we arrived. The room was spacious with a wonderful view of the lake. We had a wonderful dinner in the Splashing Rock restaurant. It was a nice Fall night, so we kept the window open and fell asleep to the sounds of the lake. Staff were very friendly. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We will be back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointment from start to finish

Posted Oct 1, 2013
While the area is beautiful, the staff alone made my last weekend awful. --> They charged me an additional $40 of fees than what Expedia quoted, stating that I should have expected to have additional hotel fees added on and "it was not their fault." --> I was greeted with a series of staff where not one but a single receptionist enjoyed their job. -->The wedding coordinator left sick the day my cousin, the bride, was suppose to arrive and neglected to tell anybody that there was a wedding the following day (which left the bridal party to fend for themselves for the rehearsal and curious if they would even have a wedding coordinator the day of) --> the bartender told me they were "too busy" to get me champagne glasses for the bride and told me I had to go "find some" --> we had mold in our bathroom and the wall was crumbling behind the wall paper --> when we asked for the bride and grooms room to be "turned down" we were told no, "nobody will want to stay an extra 2 hours for that" I can spend literally 1/2 the price at hotel in town and have great service and be treated with much more respect than this place. Their only hope is to get new owners with a focus on customer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna from Minnesota

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: It is a beautifully built lodge and I loved the d├ęcor! I liked that you could have your own fire in the evenings and also go canoeing!
Cons: The one morning we had to wait for our breakfast over and hour and it wasn't even busy.
Location: Two Harbors has a bunch of cute little shops with a little bit of everything!
Stayed the weekend and the staff was very helpful and friendly! The bartender was great and the food was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Minnesota

Great Hotel on the Lake

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: The room was very comfortable and the veiw of the lake was incredible.
Cons: The day we checked out we stopped for breakfast in the hotel restaurant.There were only 3 other tables that had people but 45 min to get food. No good
Location: Plenty of things to do..Gooseberry Falls, the light tower and the towns of Beaver Bay and Two Harbors are all within shouting distance.
We had a wonderful time. It is a great area with lots to do if you don't want to stick around the hotel. The hotel itself offers a lot of things for you to do offsite (biking, tours, etc.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Kentucky

Nice stay on Superior

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: The restaurant, DVD check out, location on the water, comfort of the room, friendliness of staff
Cons: Earlier opening of restaurant for breakfast, coffee available in the lobby
Location: Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, small shops near-by, beautiful north shore to explore. I believe canoes/kayaks could be checked out.
We made the reservation on line. Check in was friendly and simple. Our room was a large two queen room with a view towards the parking lot. We were located on the second floor of the main lodge. There are also multiple detached units on the property. We ate at Sparkling Rock restaurant located in the main lodge. Wait staff was attentive and allowed us to take our time ordering. We sat outside on the deck adjoining the bar/restaurant which had a beautiful view! The food was AMAZING! I had the crab stuffed trout with sweet potato and fresh green beans! Hot and tasty! My husband had the whitefish and also really enjoyed it! The lady next to us ordered the steak which she also said was cooked perfectly and very good! There was also an option of Mexican Buffet which others seemed to be enjoying. Only complaint, breakfast doesn't start until 8 am (which may be perfectly fine for many) and it would have been nice to have coffee available in the lobby ( it is available in room, but a grab and go would have been nice). Another thing that was nice was they have DVD's that can be checked out and watched in the room! We had the windows open at night so some road noise on that side of the building. The address is Two Harbors, however it is north of Two Harbors about 20 min. It is two miles from Gooseberry Falls and about 5-7 miles to Split Rock Lighthouse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Try harder

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Right on the lake
Cons: The young women at the front desk could at least pretend to be glad you are staying there?
Location: The Rustic Inn just down the road a block or two was great. Their pies are wonderful.
Room was pleasant enough, but half the window blinds were broken, the wi-fi didn't work, there was a lingering smell of cigarette smoke and I had to listen to a neighbors tv until 2 am. Couple that with a rock hard bed, and I was glad to leave.