Ratings based on 1,014 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ham Lake, MN

Great location. Good food, very good service

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Location, unique design, revolving restaurant with good food and service
Cons: Bathroom upgrades
Location: Train depot, lake walk,
We found the hotel easily right off the freeway and met in the Bowery Pub. We were greeted by a very friendly and courteous bartender-server. Our rooms were satisfactory although they seem to be due for some updates. Overall comfortable a good value for the money considering the time of year and location in the downtown area. Super convenient to the train depot. We ate at the JJ Astor restaurant for dinner at 7p. Excellent wait staff, very friendly and accommodating. Food was very good, service excellent. We would stay again anytime of the year
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Friendly

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Staff went out of their way to make my stay as pleasant as possible. The food at the Astor restaurant was superb. Facilities a bit dated but clean and pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nope nope nope.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Both beds in the room were the most uncomfortable things ever. Both of us tossed and turned all night and felt like we were going to roll off the edges. At 3am I finally got up and slept in the other bed so we could both have "the center". Nice romantic stay. Hah.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Not bad

Posted Jul 18, 2015
It is an old hotel need a lot of updates! ceiling was leaking, the carpets need to be change! the gym is too small couldn't finish my workout! The hotel staffs were so nice and helpful. Nice swimming pool, free parking, room is big, free WIFI but I couldn't connect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mankato, MN

Was located close to railroad museum.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: it was located close to many of the attractions that we were interested in seeing.
Cons: The rooms could be stocked with a mini-frig and microwave.
Location: It is located in the heart of Duluth. The Railroad museum, aquarium, boat rides and cargo ship tours were within walking distance of the hotel.
When we arrived, there were no hand towels in the room, only 3 bath towels and 2 wash clothes. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and accomidating. The front desk staff were also very friendly. We did ask one clerk if he had ever been on a tour of the cargo ship that is in port. He stated he had and that there were only 3 flights of stairs to go on. There were many more flights than what he stated, which may have changed my mind as to whether I would have taken the tour. The policy for the pool was that you wore a robe over your bathing suit when you went to and from your room, but no robes were supplied in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great Views Clean

Posted Jul 7, 2015
We had a nice stay. We went to Grandma's restaurant down on the canal. We also visited the aquarium right across from the hotel. Glensheen mansion was fun as well as our drive up the north Shore to Gooseberry falls. The vacation was topped off with breakfast in the hotel restaurant the room revolves to reveal all the views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by Rhonda H. - GM, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay over the 4th of July. We do have a great location and the area is just beautiful. We have been serving our guest for over 45 years and truly apprciate hearing each and every time how much they enjoyed their stay. Have a great summer! Rhonda H. - GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southerrn MN

Interesting architecture needs update

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Overall room clean towels freshened daily. Bed comfortable to me but husband didn't care for select comfort bed. Restaurant top notch but expensive. Front desk very pleasant especially Ken. Overall a few updates could take place to improve hotel. Carpets and elevators could use updates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Radisson GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 STAR review! We truly appreciate you mentioning Ken; he is new to our Duluth team, but has several years experience with Radisson in NY. We are replacing all of the Sleep Number beds with the top of the line Sealy pillow top mattresses. We have replaced over 400 so far and look forward to having all of the rooms done by the end of December, 2015. We will no longer offer the Sleep Number beds after that. As you mentioned, JJ Astor has the best views and the food is GREAT and they have an amazing staff. Many of their staff have been here for many years. Tony, Shelia, Jeremy, Marcy, and the gang all do a fabulous job! Have a great summer! Rhonda H. - GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Classic Hotel with Great View

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location, history, staff, and view.
Cons: More trash bins in room, softer TP, better artwork in room, and update the bathroom.
Location: Canal Park, restaurants, easy walk away!
Friendly staff, excellent food (and view at the rooftop restaurant), and convenient distance to Canal Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by Radisson - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 STAR review! We appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we have such a great location and you can't beat the views, service, and meals at JJ Astor. Have a great summer! Rhonda H. - GM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

find a different hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Bed was a sleep number that didnt work and was rock hard. Had asked for a lake view and got a parking lot view. Clerks at desk were young and rude. Told us they were booked but the parking ramp was almost empty. Lobby very outdated. Location is good. Did not eat there so cannot say about the restaurant. Clean and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by Radisson - GM, Hotel Management
We regret that you awarded us a 2 STAR review. We always have a Manager on Duty 24 hours a day 7 days a week to address any issue or concern during our guest stay. We have engineering on each night until 11pm ... if there is an issue - we fix it if at all possible. We have 24 hour laundry attendants that can clean rooms if necessary if something is missed or someone has a special request. We truly try to be proactive in anticipating the guest needs. We regret that we did not have an opportunity to address the issues you mentioned while you were here. In regards to the lake view. We do have lake view as an option; however, that is an additional charge and on a first-come/first-serve basis so it is possible that all of the lake view rooms were taken the night that you were here. In regards to the Sleep Number bed. We have recently replaced over 400 mattresses ... all of those were rooms with 2 double beds. We will replace all of the remaining mattresses in late August; then we will no longer offer Sleep Number beds. The mattress that we chose was a top of the line Sealy pillowtop mattress. It seemed as though guest either LOVED the Sleep Number or they did not. We have had raving reviews on the Sealy beds. Again we regret that you weren't able to get the lake view room, and that the mattress was uncomfortable. We truly apologize. We do have a few new folks in the hotel, but we still have some of the folks that started 45 years ago when the hotel opened, several that have 30+ years of service and many have 20+ years of service. We appreciate you letting us know about your experience and will work with the new folks. Have a great summer! Rhonda H. - GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel and nice view of the harbor.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This was the fourth time we stayed at this hotel and each time we have not been disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Rhonda H. GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 STAR review! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again & again! Renovations for guest rooms start in late August... completed December. Lobby/public areas will be completely done by end of March, 2016. We are so excited! Rhonda H. - GM