Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Norcross, Ga

Filthy

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Check in lady very kind and efficient. Guest enters during check in to complain of another guest fighting with her over washing machine in laundry room. Nice. Sidewalks outside rooms were disgusting. TV from the 1980's. Bed linens ok. Shower and toilet separate from vanity, which is good, however cracks in plaster walls everywhere, completely trashy place. Best of all, had hot water in vanity area for shaving, but not even tepidly warm water in the shower. Too cold to even soap up properly. And it was 11 degrees that mirninng. A disgusting, filthy hotel. Please remove from selection list.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you experienced a negative check-in process as well as cleanliness and maintenance issues. I am sincerely sorry and will be working with housekeeping and maintenance to make sure every room matches our company’s high standards. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Old small tv...uncomfortable sheet and bedspread...hair in the bathroom..no WiFi as promised..not a clean hotel..gives other crosslands a bad name
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Worth

Cheap in every way.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Stayed two nights. The room was dirty when I checked in - the bathroom especially. Housekeeping did not visit my room to refresh towels or even make the bed. I understand this may be an appropriate level Of service for a discounted weekly- pay extended stay arrangement, but that's not what I bought. Two thumbs down. I'll stay at motel 6 next time.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dawnfrom Gulf Shores, Al

do not take your family!!!

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel condition was awful. Bathtub hadn't been cleaned in several customers. Kitchen was disgusting. I felt like it was a hourly motel instead of an extended stay hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dawn - Thank you for telling us about your stay. The condition of your room that you described is unacceptable. Please accept our most sincere apologies. We will work with our housekeeping staff to ensure our rooms are always cleaned thoroughly prior to our guest's arrival. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marquettefrom Augusta,Ga

Great Stay!

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at this crosslands in Norcross it was very quite the location was great there wasn't people up all night, kids every where like the last crosslands I stayed at (on Jimmy Carter Blvd). I would definately stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your stay at our location. It is great to know that you had a quiet stay with us and that you would return to our hotel. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SC

The place is filthy.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing. They don't even have a lounge for public bathroom.
The tub was so dirty, I didn't even shower. There are people walking around at all hours of the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jay - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very disappointed to hear about the condition of your tub. We will work with our housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Keithfrom Arizona

Don't stay here

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place was awful.save your money don't bother with this place. I was told I had a non smoking room. This place smell like some one had just smoked in it. The walls and bathroom looked it hadn't been painted in 20 years. Room service never came by in the 3 days I was there. I found cigarette burns in the comforter the carpet was stained. When I checked out and told the front desk about how bad the service was she said you have to stay for at least 8 days before room service will come bye unless you want to be charged extra. You have got to be kidding me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Keith - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. The condition of your room that you described is unacceptable. Please accept our apologies. We will review our housekeeping policies with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ms. Writerfrom Atlanta, Ga

A Perfect Stop for a 1-2 night stay

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is amazing! Walking distance to a nice park and historic sections of Norcross. I needed something for 2 nights and this was perfect for the price. The carpet was stained (looked vacuumed though) and the bath tub had a slow drain so I would be standing in my dirty water as I showered. The worst thing about the room was the mattress. Very uncomfortable! Could physically see the springs!! Overall, I would stay again but this is NOT for anyone wanting a romantic getaway/stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel; however, I am disappointed to read that that your bathtub had a slow drain and that you did not find your bed to be comfortable. In response to your feedback, my maintenance engineer is servicing the drains at our hotel to ensure they are working correctly. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.