Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tonifrom Whitstable

A very enjoyable stay!

Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely place to stay with comfortable rooms, great service and good food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pretty Location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Lovely spot and pretty hotel shame out weather didn't let us explore the grounds. Heads up the entrance drive can be hard to spot despite the road signs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacqui Bfrom Grangemouth

Lovely, quiet hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our second visit in two months. Staff are great, rooms are nice and spacious, food is brilliant -although restaurant menu is very limited, grounds are beautiful. There was a wedding on the second day of our stay and it didnt disturb us at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Martinfrom Cumbria

Lovely spot for a bit of fishing

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, grand but friendly. Good choice of food in restaurant. Lovely river to fish in, and being able to have my dog along with me was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel very comfortable,clean and warm

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: clean warm good beds and good food
Cons: the windows could do to be renewed
Location: dont know as it was a wedding we were at but it is close to dumfries if you wanted to shop,there is a lovely lake at the hotel well worth a walk round
we were at a wedding and stayed at this hotel,the only thing that i could fault was the reception was in a markey it was alright to start with but as it got later it was so cold as the doors are open all the time,was glad to go back down to the hotel to get warm otherwise it was lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
by L Loxamfrom Leeds

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pretty. Food is great. Rooms are lovely but a little tired if anything. No one can complain seeing the price is so reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Atlanticmanfrom Shropshire

Great location, superb grounds, excellent food

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very impressed overall...management and staff are pleasant and attentive to all your needs...There is a large comfortable lounge including a real log burner to warm you up on cold days...what with this and the unmistakeable feeling of its history, you expect a fully armed group of Clansman to enter the building at any moment....The meals are superbly cooked by an exceptionally talented Chef, with nothing being too much trouble...The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and all the usual extras....On this occasion, we took advantage of their very generous offer and stayed for four nights.....The house is reasonably placed for exploring the Galloway National Park area, but especially noted for being adjacent to the River Nith and its Salmon fishing...Nearly every night we enjoyed a Salmon option for dinner... there is nothing quite like it, and, as usual, cooked to perfection....The grounds have a small resident flock of Guinea Fowl who patrol the wood and adjacent fields for their foraging.....they also provide an endless source of amusement with their calls and antics.....Overall, an extremely enjoyable stay and well worth investigating
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Seanfrom North East Englnd

Dumfries hideaway

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable. Lovely setting. Ideal for a stay in this lovely area of Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel with a touch of class

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
classy with very nice food.