Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hythe,Southampton

Dissapointing stay close by the A74(M)

Posted Aug 8, 2014
We arrived @ 7pm.Staff indicated the stairs to our 1st floor room.It was incredibly hot in the room--we opened the the window for cool air---traffic noise from the motorway was considerable. Presumeably rooms not overlooking the motorway would be quieter. Our double bed had an incredably uncomfortable matress which would have given us severe backpain.Fortunately there were two single beds in the room with matresses slightly better than the double. Neither of us slept well. After a reasonable breakfast we left immedaiately--never to return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincs

Quirky hotel.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Lovely atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: Welcoming booklet about availability of meals - didn't realise a cooked breakfast could be ordered as an alternative or what the restaurant menu was.
Location: Ideal location and close to M74 for easy access to sight seeing.
Quirky hotel with lovely staff. We stayed here for 4 nights while traveling to the Commonwealth games and arriving late back was not a problem. All the antiques added atmosphere and the dogs were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by The Henderson Family from USA

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very interesting place to stay that is not a standard hotel. The food was excellent and the owners were very accommodating. The rooms were well appointed and bathrooms were larger than expected. The hotel is conveniently located off the motorway and easily accessible. The only concern we had was the lack of an elevator and the suitcases for a 12 day family vacation were heavy to carry up the stairs. Overall a lovely place that I would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gerry from wales

A true unique jem

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a great place, it is a little eccentric but all the better for it, the owners are hosts in the best possible sense. Definitely not a run of the mill chain hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by 1gezzer from Upminster

No full breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
It says on the web site full breakfast But you have to pay extra for it when you arrive, they have cold meat and toast but NOT hot food for breki NOT GOOD :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Kiekconnel hall hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and friendly, my wife and I found it very peaceful, we would definitely stay again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Therese from Australia

Pleasant travel stop

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The character of the place was fabulous
Unfortunately there was no meal service on the night of out stay but we were redirected to the pub in ecclefechan and it was so much fun. A lovely stay in our accommodation
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Islip

Good stopover

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good stop over friendly good food only downfall dogs running. About and doggy smell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Wales, UK

lovely friendly hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: room was spotless and very comfortable
Cons: the statues in the reception hall
Location: just off the motorway, found it very easily. need a car to get around
when first going in seamed very dark and old but as soon as we spoke to the owners they were very friendly and the room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. Only the main reception was dark everyehere else was lovely and bright and airey.