Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle Upon Tyne

Good Hotel for Conference

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Easy access to all facilities and a bar lounge which served food.
Cons: Nothing worth complaining about.
Location: Town of Dunblane Stirling Castle Doune and nearby distillery.
The hotel is central for visiting Stirling and other attractions but the position of the hotel at the top of a very steep slope is not the most suitable location for people with some mobility problems. This means that even the 10 minute walk into Dunblane was beyond my caapabilities and all excursions had to be by car. Other than that i have no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Once upon a Time...

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Food and comfort
Cons: information giving, clear policy on table booking
Location: lots of walks around the hotel and town, a fitness centre, pool and spa available although you do have to walk a short distance outdoors to access it.
... this would have been a very grand hotel with lovely gardens and plenty to do and see but unfortunately it has been let down a little bit over the years and is not so grand although still has impressive gardens. We stayed on a DBB basis and I have to say the food in Nick Nairn's restaurant is fabulous. Every course we had over 2 nights was beautifully cooked and presented and the attention from the staff was mostly excellent. One little downside was on booking dinner one night we asked if it was possible to have a table at a window to be advised it wasn't possible to accommodate these types requests despite the previous night being told our request for an apparently empty table at a window could not be met as it was 'reserved' - funny that eh? Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. The room was very comfortable, clean and had all the usual amenities. Check in and out was painless however a little more information on what was available wouldn't go amiss as there was no information in the room. Bar was Ok although a little on the small side for the size of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

Beautiful hotel with fantastic restaurant

Posted May 5, 2015
Fantastic overnight. Great value for money and the food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

Great hotel in lovely location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
A great hotel in spectacular location. Would certainly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

Good hotel staff varied

Posted Apr 12, 2015
One receptionist was terrible when we told her about problems in the room. But the Duty Manager to whom I complained to was excellent. It shows that one bad employee can seriously destroy a reputation On the whole and thanks to the manager we had a good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sevilla

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: El personal y el desayuno
Cons: la accesibilidad de algunas partes del hotel
Location: fantásticas
Ha sido una experiencia positiva, el hotel esta en un entorno fantástico, tranquilo y accesible.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: One member of staff who was very helpful and who we praised to the duty manager
Cons: STAFF TRAINING IN ALL AREAS URGENTLY REQUIRED
So many things were wrong that it was necessary to arrange a meeting with the duty manager!! .1 After making a joint booking for 2 rooms we were given rooms in 2 different areas of the hotel. When we said this was unacceptable we were eventually given 2 rooms on the same corridor, only to discover one room was a double as requested but the other was a king rather than the twin we required. We were told this would be corrected and 1 member of staff arrived but when he pulled off the sheet the mattress protectors were badly stained on both sides and I refused to accept them. This member of staff then announced that he had to go as it was the end of his shift!! Another member of staff was eventually found but she said she could not find 2 clean mattress protectors. This member of staff also disappeared and one of my party made up the bed herself. This linen problem was eventually sorted out by a very helpful staff member. 2. The rooms were very dusty and carpet not vacuumed. Surfaces sticky and in corners and behind units were deep in dust and articles of clothing from previous guests. 3. Outside in the corridor were many glasses and bottles on the floor which had not been collected - this was in the late afternoon- and which we felt was a safety hazard especially for children. 4. The quality of the food at breakfast was very good but the waitressing was appalling with poorly set tables and plates being removed while we were still eating. No waitress staff actually spoke.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warrington

1 night stay, wish it was longer!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Cons: Small lift for so many rooms
Got a cracking deal including 3 course dinner and breakfast. Food was great. Room was great. Weather was shocking so we were disappointed that the pool was a short walk across the grounds. That said - pool was great. Not too many people. Basically if you take off the cost of the food we stayed for free! Yeah :)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom H

Dirty, shabby rooms

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Grand entrance and foyer but filthy, dusty room with half used complimentary toiletries and ripped bed linen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Really nice hotel but you do need a car!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Rooms were nice and staff were friendly.
Cons: A better TV - it was pretty old and there was no ipod docking station.
Location: Dunblane is nice and about 10 mins walk into the centre. Great cathedral and a few quaint shop. Nice pubs too.
Great hotel - but it is a bit out of the way - and at the top of a fairly steep hill so it's hard going if you don't have a car and have to walk into the village to get supplies :) Nice room and comfy bed but the TV is a bit dated and doesn't have that many channels. You get a free cookie when you check in which is a really nice touch. The breakfast is buffet style and there is TONS of it and a good deal. The pool is small but ok. Overall a nice hotel.