Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

peaceful during the week

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: by a marina; indoor pool; very good restaurant
Cons: air conditioning
Location: by small shops; close to other bays to explore also
This was a nice quiet getaway because we were there during the week. The restaurant was very good and the prices were reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful view and friendly staff

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: the staff are friendly view is amazing pool and deck are lovely location was relaxing hotel is clean and parking is free kitchenette is handy
Cons: the tv's in the room are outdated no air conditioning, but we didnt need it anyway with the windows open
Location: cowichan lake and cowichan river are a short drive away, so we had a nice day trip exploring the town and went for a swim in the river near skutz fall
fist time staying at a hotel in cowichan bay and we had a great time. the view of the ocean and marina is amazing, and the shops and restaurants/pubs in the bay are quaint and there is definitely an abundance of seafood on the menu. the pool at the hotel is inside, but you can go for a swim and then sit out on the deck in the sun. we went to the pub next door (cowichan bay pub) and sat out on the deck and you can see the native kids paddling in their canoes, and racing each other.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is excellent

Posted Jul 13, 2015
For the price I paid, this was an excellent value. The location is nice, but the hotel could do some things to make this a better experience. The pillows and sheets were poor quality. The room was clean but everything has a lot of wear and tear. The restaurant was only open for breakfast, but the quality of food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north vancouver

Nice, friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
All good, except no AC in room. But probably not in budget. Great view of ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Coast

Lovely Waterfront Hotel

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Ocean view suites, the fact that it has a pool, sauna, and hot-tub. A working computer in the lobby would be nice.
Cons: The bed linens were decidedly 4th-rate. The duvet cover felt like a polyester table cloth made into bedding. The pillows were inexpensive foam.
Location: It's a beautiful location - very picturesque, and there are great restaurants and water-front boutiques in Cowichan Bay. Wonderful ecotourism!
Our stay at the clean, quiet OceanView Hotel was a lovely break away. Situated right on the water, the room was spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Maddy , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vanc

Great location.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: location and friendly staff
Cons: rooms need updating, screens on the sliding glass doors, and new tv's
Location: amazing view from the room. lots of excellent shops and eateries
Great location...close to both Nanaimo and Victoria. Loved the shops in Cowichan Bay. Would absolutely stay there again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Maddy , Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Cowichan Bay. Hopefully we will see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Great view, quick walk to everything!

Posted May 12, 2015
Hotel is dated, but clean, friendly staff. Loved the views, the suite had everything we needed and it was a quick walk to everything in Cowichan Bay. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

A Little Dated but Pleasant!

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Close to shops and restaurants.
I have stayed at this hotel several times for work and the staff couldn't be more helpful and go out of their way to make sure your stay is positive! Although I only stay one night on each visit, my visits are always great. Very clean but the hotel overall, needs some updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Maddy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have completed some renovations in the past year, starting with a renovation of the 5th floor restaurant and also the guest guest rooms on that level. We will be continuing renovations in the future to update the remaining rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
GREAT LOCATION,WONDERFUL VIEWS. RESTURANT HAD INCREDIBLE FOOD!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Deidre from Dixon, California

Rugby tour 2015

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. Great hotel with all the amenities that one needs to have a very relaxing stay. The small community was very friendly, wonderful food, and great views. Thank-you for everything.