Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Quiet
Great location for a quiet stay, wonderful hosts and love the retro collections.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
Friendly home from home. Quirky B&B with lots to look at around the house.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B, an easy walk to downtown.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The location. Comfortable room with en suite bathroom.
We were very happy here, close enough to walk to the downtown area and visit museums etc. Easy parking and close to local restaurants for evening meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Timaru, NZ

comfortable

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: quirkiness
Cons: TV go
Location: handy access to Dunedin
A map identifying that Arden St came off another street would have been helpful to find the place otherwise excellen and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Very friendly hotel staff

Posted Apr 17, 2015
You are welcomed as though you were family. The facilities were good and the view from our room was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom staffordshire

Not for the shrinking violet

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Quirky
Cons: Clearer directions on the web site
Location: On the doorstep for Botanical Gardens. Near to town but stiff walk uphill back.
We stayed for two nights and can say it was a very pleasant, t2o evening meals were home made and reasonably priced. The hotel is very much a reflection of your hosts Joyce & Dave. Each room is full of quirky bits and bobs. One evening Joyce invited anyone to join her and unforgettable friends for a walk around the Botanical gardens. They kept us amused all evening. If you want a posh upmarket minimal hotel don't go to Arden House, but if you want a memorable lovely kiwi home from home this is the place
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dunedin, New Zealand

Evil Owner and Awful Room

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing
I had booked into Arden house for 5 nights because my apartment was getting work done on it. I came in quite late the first night and found my room to basically be a damp closet with a bed in it. It smelled terrible and someone with asthma would have died in it. The next day a friend let me know that I could stay with him instead if I wanted. I told this to the owner around 1pm who told me the cancellation policy was 48 hours notice so I would have to pay for 3 nights when in the end I stayed for about 15 hours. I thought I was going to stay that night as well so I paid up figuring a one night's penalty was reasonable. But, then my friend told me I should come over right away and when I asked the owner about getting a night's rent back she told me I was lucky she didn't charge me for 4 nights since it was after check-out time on the first night by the time I talked to her. I've traveled all over the world and never heard of anyone having more than a 24 hour cancellation on a non-prepaid room. Don't give people like this your money, there are plenty of better places to stay in Dunedin
4 out of 5
by Martin Kullfrom Switzerland

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Fine breakfast
Cons: A bid difficult to find the house as well as the entry
Location: Tranquil, Good views, near to Botanic Garden
Facilities: Basic, friendly and helpfull ; Value: Economical; Service: Good, Respectful, Friendly; Cleanliness: Pleasant; We felt well with the family. Also french spoken!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2014
Hi Martin, Really enjoyed meeting you. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Yes Sophie our French woofer has been such an asset!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
by Vanessa Smith-Glintenkampfrom New Zealand

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Warm, welcoming and close to Knox College
Cons: Bed a bit soft but I like a hard bed
Location: Perfect, New Zealand
Thank you for your hospitality. I will definitely stay with you again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2014
Thanks! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay!