Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Holiday

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Restaurant was ex.
Cons: Bathrooms need window screening stop doors to rooms banging shut.
Location: Good location
Very noisy doors to rooms as they close are like a bomb going off early hours of the morning when you are trying to sleep. No widow privacy in bathrooms .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

No problems - better than average

Posted Feb 21, 2015
We stayed one night in Dunedin and wished we had stayed longer. This is a great city and the Best Western Hotel was above average and we would certainly use it again. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colinfrom Glasgow

Enjoyable stay at Great Western 555

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. (2nd night was arranged at location for same rate) Sue and her staff were excellent with advice on visits to the local area and she also arranged a special deal on breakfast. The hotel was very clean and efficient plus it was good value. The only drawback was the distance to the town centre as we decided to walk (it was 30 mins so next time we took a taxi)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Trevorfrom New Plymouth

Good quality motel

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient location near my family. Supermarket across the road. Christmas gift provided, much appreciated. Overall quality was good so I made a further booking for later in 2015.
4 out of 5
by Josie Bolandfrom New Zealand - Christchurch

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Booked a room for 4 and got 2 rooms of 2 - a bonus.
Cons: So far out of the city, poorer area so not so nice for walking
Location: Poor views, Uninspiring, too far from town
Facilities: Modern, Nice ; Value: Could be better; Service: Respectful, Friendly, Courteous; Cleanliness: Spick and span; Staff looked disorganized, but very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chi ming

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rogerfrom Sydney

TOP SPOT

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Awesome Motel to stay at will definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Service

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The owners, location and service was excellent
Location: Great restaurants and handy to the CBD
Upon checking in the owner Richard and his wife were very welcoming, spoke about near by eateries, showed me how everything in the room worked, great place highly recommend
4 out of 5
by Dr Abbas Muhajerfrom Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Pretty good
Cons: Better utensils
Location: Close to everything
Value: Affordable; Service: Professional, Courteous; Cleanliness: Pleasant; None
5 out of 5
by Laki Dometakisfrom New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless;