Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Bowral, NSW Australia

Great place to stay in Dunedin

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Richard & Sue were great hosts and excellent ambassadors for Dunedin and it many attractions.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good convenient location.
Everything about this motel was perfect. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly - even helped with our luggage. Room was spotless and everything worked. Breakfast menu was varied and well prepared. Originally planned to stay 2 nights but extended to 3 nights. As a direct result of our experience at 555 on Bayview we stayed at Best Western Invercargill and Queenstown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fatboy

Nice Motel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Good place to stay. Very friendly owners and staff. It is not an upscale hotel with all the amenities, so dont expect that. However, if you want a comfortable room at a reasonable price, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

friendly staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
unable to rate this hotel, reception staff were very helpful despite the fact they had no record of our booking from expedia they managed to find us accommodation 50km away. Which was nice after a four hour drive to get there. Thank you best western.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan the Girl from Brisbane

Just Lovely

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
At the time of writing this review we are on our last night after three weeks in NZ. I asked my husband what accommodation did he think was the best. We have stayed in BnBs, four and even five star hotels on this trip and while everywhere has been great for different reasons, he said if he was honest, he thought our accommodation in Dunedin was the best. The Best Western 555 on Bayview is your classic family motel style on a fairly main road but it was so clean and spacious, well ventilated, well-equipped and comfortable that it really has to be the winner for us. It had a sink, microwave and all the usual tea/coffee facilities, large shower, tv/dvd and free movies, free wifi, easy parking, access to their laundry and was located within easy driving distance of the city and the sights. The staff were just delightful and bent over backwards to help us out and tell us what to see (and what to steer clear of!). This was a home away from home and we would highly recommend this to anyone who wants somewhere safe, comfortable and very well priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gabriel from germany

Very nice and looking new motel

Posted Jan 8, 2014
It has high standard in their rooms. We had a Super King Studio and there was everything we need, like fridge, water kettle, toaster, big flat screen, DVD, unlimited high speed wifi, micro wave, air con,... They also provide a very big collection of DVD movies where you can borrow some for free. The price per room was similar to other motels of this quality where we have been to in the last weeks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wish i could take this motel all over New Zealand

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The BEST motel ever! I was on the first floor and without asking my luggage was taken upstairs for me. NZ t.v doesn't offer much so the ability to borrow the owners dvd's was a definite plus! The largest shower head with instant hot water, toiletries - although no shower caps, massive beds, fridge, microwave, decent coffee and tea, large supermarket across the road and multiple restaurants within walking distance or some even deliver. I didnt want to leave, it was such a pity i stayed at the mecure inn the night before, wish i could have taken this motel with me on the rest of my holiday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay with a four-legged friend.

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Location: 5 minute drive to town
We chose this hotel because it was dog-friendly. You pay a bit more but it was a much better standard than some of the other places that allow dogs. Very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Gold Coast Qld.

Convenient to the wildlife and scenic attractions

Posted May 15, 2013
Pros: Management
Location: Excellent to visit either city centre or beautiful Otago peninsula
The owners/managers of this motel were particularly helpful with directions, maps, knowledge of restaurants etc. Their manner was pleasant and welcoming. The motel was in a good position to access the scenic areas of Dunedin on the Otago peninsula without having to negotiate the city traffic. Although quite close to the city centre the motel was chosen by us mainly for location as it did not have views of interest. Close to restaurants that were reasonable and yet of a good standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by WMSUK from Birmingham UK

Best Little Hotel in South Island New Zealand

Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Could not have been more pleased with our stay. This little motel says it all for its fantastic personal touch by its owners / management commitment to doing it right . We wished we could have stayed longer. Everything was 100% ++ and left us wishing there was a rating of "6" reflecting VERY VERY SATISFIED. YOU HAVE JUST GOT TO STAY HERE!