Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from retired, Masterton, NZ

very convenient hotel to center of Dunedin

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: as above also warm
Cons: lighting was abysmal - could hardly read unless under the bed light. Bathroom fittings needed attention,towel rail and knob on shower came off.
Location: Everything handy and in walking distance to Octegon and Cadbury factory etc
Was good for what we needed, reasonable rates, good location and clean and tidy room. Car parking difficult. Twice we needed to park on the road overnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Felt at home but had all the dreams of luxury to go with it. Thank you all very much for such a memoriable stay.
Cons: Sink for washing cups, and filling jug.
Location: Shopping and racing.
Found staff to be professional and friendly. Were very good with my grandchildren, patient,genuinely interested in making my grandchildren's stay memoriable. Would stay again and tell my friends to do the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Dunedin Town Hall

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Great price, location & quality of room apart from no much water pressure. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very conveniently situated for central city.

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Situation, cleanliness, off street parking.
Cons: Nothing much really.
Location: We were going to the Regent Theatre and dinner at Del Sol. There are other restaurants and Rialto, shopping, Fortune Theatre, Octogon.
We really needed just a place to get ready and sleep which this hotel provided very comfortably. Georgina ( our room lady) made sure the room was spotless and welcoming. The receptionist was friendly but professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great central location

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: location and room
Cons: Nothing
Enjoyable stay. Hotel looks tired on the outside but rooms were of a good standard and the location is excellent as was the price for this standard of accomodation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Whakatane, NZ

Central to City Hotel

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Offered good facilities, including off-street vehicle parking.
Cons: Felt it was a little tired.
Location: Location was excellent with the city centre within walking distance.
It was a good experience. Staff were welcoming, room information clear and full. Appreciated having an on-site restaurant with warm communicative staff (loved the carved mural)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Thames

Nice hotel right in town

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Very pleasant stay nice views over city great dining. ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconsistent service

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Good location, close to town, restaurants etc
Cons: Customer service skills of some of the staff members
Location: Awesome location!!
I would describe my 4 night stay as inconsistent. I encountered staff who were totally incompetent and couldn't find my booking ( FINALLY this was sorted) but also staff who were very helpful and polite. Some days my room was cleaned beautifully but other days dirty dishes were not replaced (there was no sink or facilities to clean these yourself) , toiletries were not replenished and the bed wasn't made (not essential but a nice touch). Also the walls are paper thin and one night I was woken up at 2am by the guests in the next room yelling, swearing and banging around. Fortunately the other nights of my stay were more peaceful. The room card given also deactivates itself if put next to a cellphone or credit card, I was not advised this until the 3rd day of my stay after having to return to reception to have my card reactivated for the third time. This place would be ok for a short overnight stay but I found my longer stay rather frustrating and would not return in a hurry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Nice hotel, I recommend this hotel, central to city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Wellington

Excellent location close to the Octogon

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Location, views.
Cons: Better parking arrangements
A very pleasant 3 day stay. Great location; would definitely stay again.