Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom auckland

Would not recommend at all

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service training, smiling, welcoming, positive attitude
We spend an average of 30 nights a year in hotels, mix of business and pleasure. This can range from 3-5 star depending what we are doing. In the last 20 years of travelling we have never encountered such appalling customer service, and it was consistent across the 3 staff involved from front desk person to duty manager. Rude and no interest in working with customer. Whilst Dunedin accommodation is often busy we would camp or drive rather than be spoken to the way we were.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
excellent hotel nice staff we forgot shaving kit , was posted back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Timaru

Very handy for the centre of Dunedin

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Lovely grounds very nice hotel.I would definitely stay here again .Best part was it was great value for money.Although I did end up paying for the internet which on the booking form I had left at home it said it was free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

A pleasing hotel but a bit far from downtown

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The room was okay and had a patio door opening to the lawns and parking. Staff were helpful. The breakfast was good.
Cons: I do not think so. It is a motor lodge with a restaurant and a good breakfast.
Location: It is a bit of a walk, but you can walk to see most of the sites in Dunedin.
The hotel was a bit difficult to locate due to its location on a one way street. There was plenty of parking despite an ongoing conference on the day of our arrival. The staff were very accommodating to our early arrival and directed us verbally to our room which was not hard to find on our own. The room was a standard hotel room that had a glass door that opened onto the hotel property and parking. The bathroom was okay. There is a restaurant on site with the morning breakfast (not included) was fine. We walked downtown to visit and to have our lunches and dinners. The hotel also hosts events and for the first night, the conference room next to our room hosted a Robbie Burns event for a bus tour that included bagpipes and the passing out of Scotch to those who attended the event. The second day, there was a large wedding that reserved a large part of the restaurant for breakfast, but few turned up. These events did not impact very much on the enjoyment of our room. Overall, it is a standard motor lodge. Expect a clean room, a comfortable bed and helpful service. There are no kitchen facilities in the room except for the usual hotel ones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Comfortable and friendly.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Two beds and great service from the cleaners.
Cons: Better Tea bags
Location: Quite a long walk to town but close to University and the Rose Gardens.
Nice rooms with a relaxed atmosphere and short walk to the Rose Gardens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield U.K.

Lovely hotel, not far from the town centre by car.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Dunedin town centre is close but we saw little of it due to our schedule.
Arrived early evening after a long car journey, staff very welcoming and helpful. We departed quickly for the Royal Albatross Centre to see the albatross and the blue penguins. Again only here for one night so not much time to assess the area. We visited the Railway Station in the morning we left, a fine old building, but unfortunately we weren't able to take one of the excellent railway trips due to our hectic schedule.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Nice hotel, quiet location & close to a garden par

Posted Feb 11, 2015
My friend and I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. A bit disappointing with wifi availability. We were told we had 1 hr free wifi but then after one use for less than 15 minutes, when my friend tried to log in again later on she had a message that we had used our wifi allowance. We complained about it & it turned out that the 1 hour meant 1 internet use for 1 hr a day. Anyway the employee at the reception adjusted & gave us more wifi time. The hotel is close enough to walk to shoppinh centre and eating places
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Morley, WA

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Modern room décor and facilities
Cons: A few more car parking bays
Location: Short drive to shopping centres and the main town of Dunedin.
Very clean, tidy and quiet room perfect to relax in after driving from Christchurch that same day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GUANfrom Singapore

Mercure DNDN Review

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comfortable place but slightly further away from the Octagon. Bed rather soft (as I have a backache) but otherwise, this is a reasonable nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Philip Geoffrey Rawsonfrom New Zealand - Canterbury

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Easy location to find
Cons: Cost of local phone call
Location: Easy to find
Facilities: Good; Value: Affordable; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to tell us of your experience. We really appreciate you feedback and promise not to become complacent having received this review. Lovely.