Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in good location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
We enjoyed our three day stay in this pleasant hotel. We did not dine there so can't comment on that. the room was very clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fay from Auckland

Dunedin in Autumn

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The entry foyer was attractive and gave a welcoming feel. Staff were always available and helpful.
Cons: Would have like a biscuit in the cupboard to go with my tea- most places in NZ do provide this.
Location: The Botanic Gardens are just a step across the road and worth visiting- nice cafe there for lunch. Taxis to the city centre are not expensive.I
Stayed at the Mercure Dunedin Lodge- Comfortable room and quiet even tho our room faced onto Cumberland St which is a main thoroughfare. The hotel has a lovely garden and lawn where it would be pleasant to sit, read or have a coffee. I liked being able to walk just a few minutes thru the Botanic garden to Bank St shopping complex where there is a cafe called Crusty Corner which has delicious baked goods and makes nice coffee. Our family joined us at the Mercure for drinks one evening which was very enjoyable. Staff ordered a taxi for us when required and we liked their helpful attitude. The Dunedin Art Gallery down by the Octagon was an interesting place to visit. We went there with a local friend who had taken us up to the top of Balcewan St to Delicacies for a light lunch. We liked getting away from the main drag for a change and the food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Good in room facilities
Cons: Amount of time given for free wifi
Location: Near to Botanical gardens
This hotel is right on the edge of Dunedin and opposite the Botanical Gardens which I have to say were very good. The rooms were clean and tidy and there was a kitchen area with fridge and microwave but no hot plates. Basically good value for the money but only criticism is the free wifi offered. It don't last long!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by angela from Kaikoura

Excellent motel

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Excellent rooms and very handy to kids at uni. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlton from Chicago

A pleasant and convenient place to stay.

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: Location and comfortable and clean room.
Cons: Common areas and price of Wi-FI
Location: Close to Otago University. Walkable neighborhood.
Spacious and well-kept double room. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Walking distance to Otago University if you have any business there. Common areas could use a refreshment and the price for Wi-Fi (NZ $30.00 per day) was outrageous. Restaurant was good but a bit pricey, especially for breakfast. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Dunedin...clean and well appointed.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Cons: Hotel staff could have been a little more helpful
Good place to stay.it wS quiet, the room well appointed and cleN. Pleasant outlook over the garden. Close to the botanic gRdens
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kapa from AKL

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: They allowed me to check in early
Cons: A card next to the tv remote stating tv channels
Location: Botanical gardens.Pizza Hut take away & delivery
Beautiful outdoor lawn area.That photo on their webpage sold me straight away.Nothing was too much trouble ,from ordering taxis to organising a rental car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: clean hotel not far from the centre
Cons: menu was a bit limited for dinner
Location: there are near by gardens to visit and the town and the near by beaches are also worth visiting. If you are fit it is worth going to tunnel beach.
hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, arranging storage of our bags after we had checked out. The 11am dead line for getting out of the hotel also meant we didn't need to rush. Liked the options around the different breakfasts available. Although the town centre is walkable it will take you around 25 mins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and friendly

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Just what we needed as a couple on the go to visit but needing a comfortable, uninterrupted sleep.