Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

Decent hotel within walking distance of Octagon

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel well equipped with friendly and professional staff.
Cons: Unfortunately our bed was really uncomfortable on this visit. Too tired to move so had a really uncomfortable night.
Location: Close to the Octagon and George Street
Overall a good hotel at decent rates. Problem on this stay with the bed but I'm sure they would have resolved it if we'd had the energy to request another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Good stay for price. Centrally located. gym was good size but oneofthe bicycles was broken.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Windows whistled in the wind. Bathroom was cheap. Bed was very good. Food was of a good standard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stewart Island, NZ

Great hotel walking distance to town.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Nice atmosphere, friendly staff,quiet room.
Location: Walk to the Octagon, Early Settlers Museum, theatre.
Nice quiet hotel right in the heart of the city. Easy walking distance to restaurants,theatres & scenic attractions.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Disappointed at the size of the bathroom, it was so small and the shower water pressure was just a dribble. For the price you could get far better accomodation elsewhere. Wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rhondafrom Dunedin

Highly recommend this hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Thoroughly enjoyed a wsrm and comfortable night and look forward to coming again one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel and nice location. Staff was helpful and welcoming. Big rooms with modern facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Timaru

Comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: We like fresh air at night and our room actually had an opening window which was great. The room was spacious and included a table and two armchairs.
Cons: We did get asked if we would like a newspaper on Saturday morning. We said yes, but the paper never arrived. But this is a minor matter.
Location: The hotel was next door to the Casino, but had an entrance through from the hotel. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the center of town.
The hotel was wonderful. Great room, quiet with all the little extras such as tissues etc that sometimes get overlooked at other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch, NZ

Southern Cross

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: See above: exceptional service, warm and friendly.
Cons: We may not have looked properly, but thought there wasn't a room safe.
Location: See above: in the CBD, close to everything. We even walked up a steep hill to shop at Rockbourne - great place to pick up arty jewellery.
A couple of days of shopping and taking in some local sights with 2 other women. As the Southern Cross Hotel was in the CBD, it was perfect for our needs. The service was the best I have encountered in any hotel, overseas and NZ, particularly in the dining room. We had breakfast there every morning. Nothing was too much trouble.