Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

perfect

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Staff were lovely, especially the manager.. Location is beautiful, great all round
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Devon

This Swan is Sinking fast!

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The location is lovely.
Cons: management, cleanliness, attention to detail.
Location: Great for watching the planes fly over if that's your thing. Lovely windmill, pretty little town. 1 hour from Colchester, Cambridge and Chelmsford.
We have stayed before and though the rooms were getting a bit tired, didn't mind because the service was so good and the breakfast so nice. This time, there seems to be a new manager and he appears to be somewhat out of his depth. As this was my birthday weekend, my husband had phoned the hotel during the week before to ask them to put some flowers in our room for me. He couldn't get anyone to answer the phone so he left a message. No one got back to him, no flowers in the room,. disappointed husband. Food, on the whole was Ok. There is a fabulous breakfast menu and on my first morning I enjoyed smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and my husband, a fabulous Full English. We went out for the day and returning that evening to our room we found that housekeeping had not been in, our bed was unmade, our cups and saucers remained dirty, our towels unfolded (I am Ok with not having them changed everyday). He took the dirty cups down to reception and asked, at least for clean cups. 10 minutes later the manager came to the room with clean cups and by way of an apology, basically slagged off the house keeper (apparently you can't get the staff these days). No offer of any compensation - but we did negotiate a cheeky bottle of Pinot Grigio over dinner. That evening there was 'live music', hmm, usual singer, usual songs, not offensive in an offensive sort of way... and the manager and staff evidently stayed up rather late drinking with friends (we bailed out at about 12 when the music ende
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by alexfrom oxford

What a contrast

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
I have written a review of my first stay here some time ago and rated it excellent. Having had such a good experience i returned for another night. Location wise it cant be beaten- Thaxted is a lovely village and only 20 mins from Stansted Airport. However my room on this occasion was awful- cold and damp and poorly maintained, with the carpet held down by gaffa tape. It had only been half prepared for the night too. Music went on until gone 1am and was very loud If you stay here make sure you ask for a room in one of the annexes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamiefrom Newmarket

Great night stay

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
We only stayed for a single night, however it was a great place to stay, nothing bad thing are the walls are thin, and youcan hear people walking pasted your room, however at night it is fine, as no one is walking about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Emsland

Schönes kleines Hotel für Touristen

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Die Ambiente und das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis für Essen, Trinken & Übernachtung
Cons: Ich würde dort an dem Konzept nichts ändern! Schreiben Sie einfach, dass es bis Punkt 24:00 etwas laut ist.
Location: In der Nähe vom Flughafen STN, Mietwagen erforderlich
Thaxted ist ein kleiner Ort. Insofern kommt eine Übernachtung dort eher dann in Frage, wenn man mit Mietwagen unterwegs ist. Taxi zum STN Airport kostet übrigens 22 GBP. Das Pub wird bis 24h ziemlich gut besucht. Die moisten Zimmen befinden sich direct über dem Pub, so dass man erst so ab 0:30 in ruhe schlafen kann. MICH hat es allerdings nicht gestört, da ich als Tourist unterwegs war. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut bis auf den Kaffee. Das Essen im Pub (es gibt auch einen Restaurant-Bereich) ist auch sehr gut und relativ günstig. Das gleiche gilt für die Getränke. Das Personal ist sehr nett und hilfsbereit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Nice country inn hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place, lovely location, good customer service and great breakfast. Rooms need some investment though - bed comfy however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stephenfrom Barcelona

We loved the place!

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
All staff very friendly and helpful. Great food and pub bar. Comfy bed and very peaceful. Highly recommended!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom london

Chocolate box hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The drink and the en suites are great.
Cons: Our room was quite hot, I woke up during the night to open a window, ethe radiator in the room is easily turned off, in the en suite, it is always on.
Location: Not much! You can see Audley end house with the English Heritage which is nice. Difficult to find anything to do if you spend more than a weekend.
This was a lovely hotel with great staff. If you don't drive, then its a bit difficult to get around. There was a DJ both Friday and Saturday night. Our room was right above the main part of the inn where the DJ was and we didn't hear a thing! To which I was really thankful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Séjour et hôtel correct.

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Agréable séjour. Service excellent. Seul bémol: bruit dans la chambre (3) à cause d'une chaudière extérieure à côté.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christopherfrom Runcorn

Great Hotel for overnight before flight from STN

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable, nice staff, try to stay in the main building, Wifi wasn't working in the Coach house so had to sit in the bar to work