Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Albany

Train watching

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast, price for the room.
Cons: The internet service was not great, slow at times. (6 Mbps). For a small down, this comes as no surprise.
Location: Yaks, is on the 100 best restaurants according to Yelp. The cinnamon rolls are their specialty. Dinner items all appear to be the same price $11.99.
Not your typical hotel. It’s only has two floors and less than eight rooms on the first and only 15 on the second. The “front desk” is located in the diner next door (about 25 yards away). The hotel is geared for UP railroad crew. Not a lot of amenities, (exercise room, no room service and no daily housekeeping). For the price, it was a pleasant stay. The next door restaurant is open 24 hours. The restaurant is a basic 50’s diner with a limited number of items on the menu (burger, chicken, fries, shakes, …). The food is average, but a bit expensive. My cook had repeatedly burned my food, but was willing to replace it. For the money, I would recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Awesome Basic Lodging by Highway

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, close to highway (but not noisy).
Simple, clean, in good shape. You have to check in at the detached diner, which is unusual, but you're traveling, expand your mind! You get a free breakfast at the diner, which is yummy, but don't eat too much greasy food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk Island

This Hotel fitted our requirements perfectly.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Location and Price were the draw-cards on this property. The 24 hour Diner on site made it easy for my husband and I to enjoy late or early meals.
Cons: The Carpet smelt of sweaty socks. If staying for several days there are no laundry facilities.
Location: Dunsmuir is a great area to explore and its only 10 minutes to Mt Shasta city with access to all the Mountain areas and wonderful trails.
Good beds for sleeping. Room was clean and comfortable. Restaurant clean with friendly staff. Breakfast voucher could be used anytime in the 24 hour period. Very handy if you want to start early or get back from exploring late. Quiet location due to double glazing on windows and blackout curtains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joefrom Shelton, WA

Nice

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was very clean and tidy. The clerk/waitress was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jack

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RAYMONDfrom Chewelah

Destination remote.

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We found the hotel location somewhat remote and a little difficult] to find in the dark. There is no lobby for check-in you must do that in the dinner. The cleanliness of the hotel and the room was excellent. The onsite dinner was open 24 hours which is convenient; however the menu is somewhat limited to burgers and dogs so we drove into town and ate dinner there. The breakfast menu and food at the dinner was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pet friendly hotel. Good value & breakfast!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We were traveling to see our daughter and family up in Washington state. We took our dogs with us and we're in need of a pet friendly hotel. Oak tree fit the bill and Penny's Dinner next door was perfect. We liked it so much we booked a room for the return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donfrom Spokane, wa.

Nice place

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpful. I accidentally left the dome light on in the car and they noticed, told us, and we avoided a dead battery. Meals were good and with several options to pay. We booked the oak tree on our return trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Denisefrom Milwaukie

Great Dunsmuir Stop

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Oak Tree Inn is in a lovely, wooded setting in Dunsmuir. It sets up on a bit of a hill with a 24 hour vintage diner right next to it. That's super convenient. The staff is friendly, and it is very low key. This is not a high service hotel - but it has everything that you need. It's a fairly new hotel, so everything is in great condition, and I think that it would be a good home base to explore the region. Don't miss a visit into the town of Dunsmuir.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tomaszfrom San Francisco

Above Expectations

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
great place for a great price. updated hotel with everything you need (nothing fancy), nothing wrong. our room faced the freeway, but the noise was barely audible (window closed).