Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Location and history make the stay memorable

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The integrity of the interior and exterior to preserve its historical heritage.
Location: Location is perfect for dining, shopping and just being in the heart of the action in Durango.
If you desire to stay in an historical hotel, there are some concessions to make but all worth it! We loved it and we love Durango!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great place to stay in Durango

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The ambiance. Great old character. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Nada
Location: Durango is a great place to visit and hang out for a few days. Look forward to going back.
After reading a lot of the reviews I kind of knew what to expect and it did not disappoint. We arrived on a Sunday evening. I can see how parking could have been a real bear but we had plenty to pick from. The room was very nice, small but very nice. The bathrooms are indeed small but it's not like that is where we were going to spend a lot of time. Great ambiance. Just what I expected. The location is superb. Once the car was parked there was no need to use it again until we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Awesome food and locale for Durango, Colorado"

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great food, friendly staff, location, location, location!
Location: Great New Mexican nearby within walking distance called Gazpacheos and Francisco's.
We spent the night here and toured Durango for the day. Great location and good food served at Mahogany and their pub, The Office. The theater next door has been doing small productions 50 years. We went to a vaudeville show that evening called The Dame of Durango and it was superb! Saloon in the lobby was a real hoot too! Loved our historic stay at the Strater and Durango.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

Historic gem.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Baths were not designed for a 6'10" man
Location: Fort Lewis College, the train and lots of expensive boutique restaurants.
Well appointed historic hotel. Would re-think if modern comforts were necessary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

"Historic" hotel in heart of Durango

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, lots of character and history
Cons: A little run-down--needs a facelift
Location: Mesa Verde was only 40 minutes away. Downtown Durango is a lot of fun, and there's plenty to do and see
We stayed here because it was fairly close (40 minutes) to Mesa Verde. Old hotel, in the middle of Durango, which is a fun town. Hotel is a little run-down, though...older renovation, but still comfortable. A little noisy downstairs, but our room was quiet enough. Lots of character!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keystone, CO

Great hotel, right downtown!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Cool hotel, historic with friendly staff! Walk to shops, restaurants and lots of activities!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE Arizona

Squeaky Bed

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Location & Staff were great! Bed was very soft and very squeaky. So made for a Long night !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming w/ character

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Great historical hotel in great location I will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Cool historic hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Room n beds on the small side. Piano bar and experience was fun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Comfortable old hotel. Getting baggage to and from the room is somewhat slow due to a small, slow elevator.