Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Show Low, AZ.

Historic and authentic!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Location: the Durango/Silverton train is within walking distance.
Very enjoyable stay. Staff was excellent and accommodating.Location was perfect to downtown shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

An historic hotel with character.

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location, character, good facilities, service, good value for the price.
Cons: The breakfast situation is confusing and needs better management. Charging extra for a slice of toast? Is it buffet or isn't it?
Location: The Strater is close to the rail-road station and many good restaurants. Our car never moved out of the hotel parking lot during our stay.
Enjoyable 3-day stay in downtown Durango. The Strater has lots of atmosphere and sacrifices nothing in terms of comfort, cleanliness and efficiency.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic ambience

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We stay at the Strater whenever we do not stay with relatives or friends in Durango. We enjoy the history and the ambience. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the bar until the piano player went home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Old historic hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Cons: Front Desk training - person we talked to said he had been there for only a year but was unaware of what future activities were. No on site parking.
Location: Restaurants and shops
The Stator is an old historic hotel and those going there should realize that. The floors creak and the beds are comfortable but noisy. D├ęcor is period set so it has the charm of an old historic hotel. If you are looking for modern luxuries then this is not the place for you. Hotel staff could be better trained since several questions we asked about future activities that are shown on their website were complete mysteries to them. Overall it was an enjoyable stay but our exposure was limited to time spent in Durango.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

Great Historical Stay

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Everything. Exceeded expectations in all measures.
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: Durango is a resort/vacation destination - whatever you want to do, the odds are very good you can do it nearby.
A stay in the Strater was on my bucket list. My great-grandmother worked as a maid at the Strater in Durango's silver mining heyday. The owners have done a great job of preserving the historic aspects of the hotel while accommodating present-day amenities - i.e. in-room bathrooms, Wi-Fi, etc. Superior corner room, very comfortable with a view of the Durango - Silverton narrow gauge railroad was a big plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Location and history make the stay memorable

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The integrity of the interior and exterior to preserve its historical heritage.
Location: Location is perfect for dining, shopping and just being in the heart of the action in Durango.
If you desire to stay in an historical hotel, there are some concessions to make but all worth it! We loved it and we love Durango!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great place to stay in Durango

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The ambiance. Great old character. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Nada
Location: Durango is a great place to visit and hang out for a few days. Look forward to going back.
After reading a lot of the reviews I kind of knew what to expect and it did not disappoint. We arrived on a Sunday evening. I can see how parking could have been a real bear but we had plenty to pick from. The room was very nice, small but very nice. The bathrooms are indeed small but it's not like that is where we were going to spend a lot of time. Great ambiance. Just what I expected. The location is superb. Once the car was parked there was no need to use it again until we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Awesome food and locale for Durango, Colorado"

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great food, friendly staff, location, location, location!
Location: Great New Mexican nearby within walking distance called Gazpacheos and Francisco's.
We spent the night here and toured Durango for the day. Great location and good food served at Mahogany and their pub, The Office. The theater next door has been doing small productions 50 years. We went to a vaudeville show that evening called The Dame of Durango and it was superb! Saloon in the lobby was a real hoot too! Loved our historic stay at the Strater and Durango.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

Historic gem.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Baths were not designed for a 6'10" man
Location: Fort Lewis College, the train and lots of expensive boutique restaurants.
Well appointed historic hotel. Would re-think if modern comforts were necessary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

"Historic" hotel in heart of Durango

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, lots of character and history
Cons: A little run-down--needs a facelift
Location: Mesa Verde was only 40 minutes away. Downtown Durango is a lot of fun, and there's plenty to do and see
We stayed here because it was fairly close (40 minutes) to Mesa Verde. Old hotel, in the middle of Durango, which is a fun town. Hotel is a little run-down, though...older renovation, but still comfortable. A little noisy downstairs, but our room was quiet enough. Lots of character!