Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Victorian excellence.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Vintage and authentic Victorian experience!! It will not disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bert from texas

Gorgeous historic hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Beautiful authentic era decorations and furnishings. Lots of history. Great nightly musical entertainment, frequented by locals. It's located right in the middle of downtown Durango, within walking distance of many restaurants, bars, and theaters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Louisville Ky

Nice Hotel with an interesting Past

Posted Apr 9, 2014
We only spent 1 night at the Strater and found it to be a great place. The staff was up to par in particular the evening bellman. He went out of his way to take care of us when it was really someone else's job to do. My only complain would be that the bed I had was of course antique but the springs were also antique and the slightest movement caused the bed to move much like the very old water beds did. The breakfast buffet was a bit lacking in the fact that if you didn't eat eggs there was VERY little for you. The d├ęcor was amazing and the place looked great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Palisade, Colo

Recent trip/stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
My daughter, 10 yearold grandson and I enjoyed our stay. Parker, the child, did not want to leave. The staff were very welcoming for us all, but especially to him. The room was small for two beds, but charming and pristinely clean. The special burger in the Diamond Belle was delicious and breakfast was well done. I grew up in Durango and have visited and stayed at the Strater in the past. It is always a treasured experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2014
It was my first visit to Durango and two Samaritans gave me a lift from the airport to Stater at midnight. I was enchanted by the hotel's old world look. My room was delightfully antique! The next morning I was treated to a full breakfast: chef prepared omelet and French toast, and fresh fruit aplenty. The service was courteous and cheerful. I hope to return for another visit and have recommended Strater to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Pagosa Springs, CO

A Step Back In Time!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Loved the antique decor, the cleanliness of the facility, and the location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Downtown Durango is a neat shopping district. Great food establishment are minutes from the hotel.
Strater Hotel, in the heart of Durango, Colorado, is a classic turn of the century hotel. The decor, not changed from the wild west, are just wonderful! As with all old classic motels, the rooms are small and the hallways narrow. This is all part of the ambiance! At times I just sat and marveled at the woodwork and the layout of the facility. The staff were very friendly and acted like they enjoyed working there. The room was clean and the linens were of the highest quality. Perhaps the greatest part of our stay was the breakfast. Purchased at check-in, the breakfast had everything imaginable on the menu!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Great historic hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: The antique decor and location
Location: Durango has lots of culture locally, shops theaters, pubs and restaurants.
Great location to see downtown Durango. Quick 2 night stay, but was very enjoyable...Had dinner there both nights as it was convenient and weather a little rainy. Acoustic Guitar in the Saloon was perfect for a great atmosphere. Would highly recommend it or if you can't stay, at least visit it to see the gorgeous architecture and decor. Each floor had complimentary coffee and tea in the morning was a pleasant surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Historic charm
Cons: Bed comfort
Location: Great food and shopping. Loved Derailed Pour House and Steamworks. Great dinner at the Ore House.
Will absolutely stay here again! Pleasant and historic charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Strater Hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2014
The hotel is old-fashioned with a cleverly done updating of the interior. We found the food good, the bar excellent, and the location in the middle of Durango very convenient.