Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Main "Lodge" building MUCH better than other bldgs

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Cons: They need to renovate the other, older buildings on the resort - right now - the only hospitable building is the main/lodge building.
We stayed at the "Purgatory Lodge" resort for a friend's wedding. The main "lodge" building actually has VERY NICE rooms, however we stayed in a separate, much older building called the "Village Center" building. Our room in the VC building was quite disappointing - old, run-down, horrible lumpy pillows, no light in the bathroom where the shower was, etc. I would NOT recommend that anyone rent rooms in any other building besides the main "lodge" (i.e., the same building where the front desk is located). The main/lodge building has obviously been renovated and is kept up much better than the other older buildings on the resort. I would NEVER stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful natural surroundings

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: that Tim, at the Registration Desk on Day #2, understood & excelled at CUSTOMER SERVICE (thanks, Tim, for making our trip wonderful)
Cons: Replacing the "attitude" of the pretty blonde girl at the Registration Desk on Day #2 who did not wish to help improve or even save our stay.
Location: Gorgeous, natural location -- lots of on-mountain activities for wide range of ages and abilities. Our 80-something-year-old even rode the zipline!
Although condo accommodations were clean and pleasant, our stay was rated completely different on Night #1 (too noisy to sleep) from Night #2 (different section of Kendall Blg and one floor up), which was very pleasant and incredibly restful. Upon approaching front desk staff on Morning #2, we were treated wonderfully by a male staff member who was quick to relocate us to another room in a different section of the same building although, while he was moving us, we were informed by a female staff member that they ABSOLUTELY COULD NOT do that. Wh-wh-what?!? We were, after all, moved to another (similar) room in the same building and had a very restful, pleasant stay. THANK YOU, sir, for the excellent customer service!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Nice size room and mountain view.
Cons: Furnishings seemed very tired.
Location: Beautiful location.
Had no idea this was a ski resort when we booked it. Stupid me! It was very weird to be in a location with so few people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Empty in off season .

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Empty in off season . Upgraded to studio with kitchenette . Pool was out of order and no food service available in Sept .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Overnight stay in Durango

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Secluded and very quiet.
Cons: Condition of some of the furniture in the room.
Location: Rafting, 4 wheeling, Durango-Silverton train
This hotel worked out well for planned activities in Durango. The rate was very good and the hotel is very nice. This time of year things are very slow so many of the typical summer activities are closed during the week as well the the restaurants. Still, we were very pleased with the facility and the rate and it is very close to Durango. Also would recommend 1 mile south from the hotel the Schoolhouse Bar and Restaurant. A very unique place with very good pizza and nice selection of local beers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mex

Beautiful location on the mountain

Posted Aug 19, 2014
On the slopes of Durango mountain, amazing views and gorgeous weather. Hotel is basically ski condos. We had one half of a suite. Furnishings tasteful and well done. Only down side is the scarcity of food establishments (a couple of restaurants but only one place open for breakfast and it is terribly overpriced).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Summertime on the mountain.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Take the chairlift up. Look for the wild strawberries. And, enjoy the views. Enjoyed it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington NM

Great area but bad staffing levels

Posted Jul 14, 2014
I've been to Durango mountain resort several times but never stayed. The condo-renal rooms are fine but be warned there is no air conditioning which is fine most of the time. It can get warm though. The family activities at the plaza are great. The issue we had was with the staffing levels. Long waits for food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Los Ranchos, NM

Centrally located and convenient condos

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: It would be nice to have a balcony in the smaller room. The larger room of the 2 bedroom lockoff did have small balconies.
Location: Skiing is the only thing to do. The Sow's Ear was a very good restaurant. Purgy's is next door and had very good dinner menu. Not much else around.
We spent two nights, Friday and Saturday. Check in was easy, and the staff was helpful. We were allowed a late check-out on Sunday, until 1pm.