Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Room we were in had a window to a lighted air shaft. No way to block all the light at night. Hard to sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We were disappointed with the breakfast selections. The cookies in the afternoon were very appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Air conditioning and a better complementary breakfast.
Location: Right next to the Durango narrow gauge train and right on the main drag of Restaurants and shops.
Great location with ample parking (not the same with other convenient Hotel) . Hotel was clean and all but one staff member was very friendly. Only complaints were a poor air conditioner that ran the same regardless of how you set it. I had to bring my personal,portable fan to the room to stay cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roanoke, tx

close to the Train for the trip to Silverton

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: history and style
Cons: elevator and breakfast area
lovely town, old west style, enjoyed wine tasting, train ride, great French Bistro/Bakery
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Ambiance galore

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Cons: Cleaning and updated electrical service so it can handle modern conveniences.
Since this is a historic hotel, it has its limitations. Our first room did not have a working air conditioner system. We were offered a fan and told to give it a while because it takes a while to cool. It never came on, nor did it cool. We were finally offered a different room. Later in the week, the power went out during the evening. Fortunately, our second room had a window, so we were able to stay cool as we went to bed, though it was noisy with the night life on the street. Cleaning was so-so. We had hiked in Mesa Verde, and the next day our tub had a bathtub ring after being "cleaned". Breakfast was basic with some nice surprises such as homemade scones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Brisbane Australia.

A great vintage era hotel from the 1800s.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Center of town and close to all attractions and Restaurants.
Cons: nothing
Location: The main reason for staying here was we wanted a true historic hotel and it was very close to the Durango railway and Mesa Verde trip.
This is a genuine 1800s hotel retaining all the original furnishings of that era but with very comfortable rooms featuring all the mod cons you would expect in a modern hotel. The staff were always very helpful and they were able to help us with a minimum of fuss even when we phoned to say we were delayed by a day due to airline problems. Excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nina from Albuquerque, NM

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Wonderful old hotel with lots of antiques and stained glass. Great vintage feeling and loads of charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tmac from Tampa

Durango Oldie but Goodie

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: History, location, free parking, walking distance to restaurants, afternoon coffee and hot cookies in the lobby, and a great breakfast to boot.
Location: Durango to Silverton RR trip, numerous pueblo ruins in NM, CO and UT, Four Corners (AZ, NM, UT & CO), Black Canyon of Gunnison, and much much more.
Love Durango and the experience of hotels like the General Palmer. Makes me feel like I'm in tune with the history surrounding Durango. Excellent location. Nice drive from Albuquerque airport. Close to Mesa Verde, Hovenweep, Four Corners and the mountains above Durango. We use Durango as a stopping off point on the way to the Grand Canyon while (re)visiting the many wonderful ruins before and after Durango in NM, UT and AZ.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maryann from Utah

Historic Durango

Posted May 29, 2014
We loved it! The hotel was better than I expected. The sitting areas and antiques were beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in downtown Durango!

Posted May 23, 2014
Love it. Everything was great. Highly recommend, in fact already did.