Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Littleton Co

Not air conditioning in a room W/O windows

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: We love the charm, location and the teddy bears.
Cons: Fix the Air Conditioning!!!!!
Location: Location was great as we were riding the D&SNG railroad.
My wife and I had a two day stay at the hotel. While we found the Hotel Charming and ideally located, we did not have air conditioning or at least fresh air in our room. This is a room without windows. We inquired about the situation numerous times and were told someone was working on it or according to our information everything is working fine. I can attest that is was not working. If the problem cannot be fixed then admit to the problem, do not gloss over a situation that cannot be corrected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay in town.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Historical!
Cons: Breakfast is continental only.
Location: The Durango-Silverton train is a half block away. Great places to dine nearby!
The staff, on all days, were very cordial and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

I expected more from a four diamond hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel. The room was clean and quiet. It was close enough to walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go.
Cons: Improve customer service. The continental breakfast could be better-like replacing the toaster that kept burning everyone's toast. Minibars in rooms.
Location: There were several restaurants/bars for what ever we were in the mood for. Shopping in the little shops on main street was nice.
We arrived at the hotel round 2 p.m. and they said that we could not check in till 4:00. We asked that they call us if a room was clean before then, because we had just rode our motor cycle over 300 miles and we just wanted a shower and to get some rest. They said they would. We came back to the hotel after eating some lunch and saw them checking other people in. This was around 3:00 and they had not called us. This was more than a little irritating. We asked to get a room right then and they did check us into one. The room was very nice. My only complaints about the room are that the toilet was broken - and not fixed after telling the front desk about it - and that there was not a minibar. I have stayed at 4 and 5 star/diamond hotels and this one really did not measure up to the standards that I have experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Old old elevator but it was fun. Perfect location. Didn't care much for the murphy bed in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place

Posted Aug 16, 2014
A beautiful, periodic place with very comfortable room and great location. Only minus was that a lightning bolt had knocked out their internet board so wifi was out for over 24 hours. It wasn't a major inconvenience, but the hotel should have had a back up for that. Otherwise, a great place!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Room we were in had a window to a lighted air shaft. No way to block all the light at night. Hard to sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We were disappointed with the breakfast selections. The cookies in the afternoon were very appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Air conditioning and a better complementary breakfast.
Location: Right next to the Durango narrow gauge train and right on the main drag of Restaurants and shops.
Great location with ample parking (not the same with other convenient Hotel) . Hotel was clean and all but one staff member was very friendly. Only complaints were a poor air conditioner that ran the same regardless of how you set it. I had to bring my personal,portable fan to the room to stay cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott from Denver

Excellent service!

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kalena, the hotel receptionist, went out of her way to help me. I was meeting with some clients while in Durango, and Kalena reserved a meeting room for us and made sure we had a professional environment for our meeting. It led to a very succesful experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roanoke, tx

close to the Train for the trip to Silverton

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: history and style
Cons: elevator and breakfast area
lovely town, old west style, enjoyed wine tasting, train ride, great French Bistro/Bakery