Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft Lauderdale,

T-ride

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Good location downtown but need transportation to the lifts which the hotel or shuttle provides. Nice staff. Average breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely charming in every way

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Absolutely recommend it. What a pleasant surprise! If it is a little more than other hotels, it is definitely worth it in every way. The staff couldn't be kinder, the rooms more charming and comfortable.....Definitely a delightful experience. Even better--the Starbucks is right across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice hotel in the heart of downtown!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Mostly everything!
Cons: Except thin walls & elevator.
Location: Train, shopping, & eating
Great experience except the elevator is very old & tight. The staff was wonderful! They all went out of their way for us! (Especially Andrew! He wasn't even on the clock one day when he helped us out!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bob lfrom S Dak

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was exceptional exept the transom in our room was near a hallway light that kept our room like daylight all night. I almost went out to cut a piece of cardboard to fit the transome so I could tape it in place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David Kubicafrom Albuquerque, NM

Gateway to an earlier time.

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
For those of us who love history, our stay was like going back to the late Victorian era, complete with a steam train outside the door. The antique d├ęcor was magnificent, and the atmosphere was very calming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elinorfrom Commerce M I

great location

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Breakfast good but no bar or restaurant. Decor nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dfrom ABQ

Classy!

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and friendly service! Classy decor. Amazing shower head. Mattress too soft, and transoms over door allows too much hallway lighting into room. Excellent breakfast delivered to room. Overall excellent stay!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bob Schwermannfrom Olathe, Ks.

Dishonored prepaid confirmed reservation!

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon arriving at the General Palmer Hotel in Durango, Co. at about 5:00 p.m. Oct. 3rd, 2014 we were told they were full and could not honor our prepaid confirmed reservation. They gave us no explanation and helped us get a room at a much lesser hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Littleton Co

Not air conditioning in a room W/O windows

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: We love the charm, location and the teddy bears.
Cons: Fix the Air Conditioning!!!!!
Location: Location was great as we were riding the D&SNG railroad.
My wife and I had a two day stay at the hotel. While we found the Hotel Charming and ideally located, we did not have air conditioning or at least fresh air in our room. This is a room without windows. We inquired about the situation numerous times and were told someone was working on it or according to our information everything is working fine. I can attest that is was not working. If the problem cannot be fixed then admit to the problem, do not gloss over a situation that cannot be corrected.