Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay in town.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Historical!
Cons: Breakfast is continental only.
Location: The Durango-Silverton train is a half block away. Great places to dine nearby!
The staff, on all days, were very cordial and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

I expected more from a four diamond hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel. The room was clean and quiet. It was close enough to walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go.
Cons: Improve customer service. The continental breakfast could be better-like replacing the toaster that kept burning everyone's toast. Minibars in rooms.
Location: There were several restaurants/bars for what ever we were in the mood for. Shopping in the little shops on main street was nice.
We arrived at the hotel round 2 p.m. and they said that we could not check in till 4:00. We asked that they call us if a room was clean before then, because we had just rode our motor cycle over 300 miles and we just wanted a shower and to get some rest. They said they would. We came back to the hotel after eating some lunch and saw them checking other people in. This was around 3:00 and they had not called us. This was more than a little irritating. We asked to get a room right then and they did check us into one. The room was very nice. My only complaints about the room are that the toilet was broken - and not fixed after telling the front desk about it - and that there was not a minibar. I have stayed at 4 and 5 star/diamond hotels and this one really did not measure up to the standards that I have experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Old old elevator but it was fun. Perfect location. Didn't care much for the murphy bed in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place

Posted Aug 16, 2014
A beautiful, periodic place with very comfortable room and great location. Only minus was that a lightning bolt had knocked out their internet board so wifi was out for over 24 hours. It wasn't a major inconvenience, but the hotel should have had a back up for that. Otherwise, a great place!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Room we were in had a window to a lighted air shaft. No way to block all the light at night. Hard to sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We were disappointed with the breakfast selections. The cookies in the afternoon were very appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Air conditioning and a better complementary breakfast.
Location: Right next to the Durango narrow gauge train and right on the main drag of Restaurants and shops.
Great location with ample parking (not the same with other convenient Hotel) . Hotel was clean and all but one staff member was very friendly. Only complaints were a poor air conditioner that ran the same regardless of how you set it. I had to bring my personal,portable fan to the room to stay cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roanoke, tx

close to the Train for the trip to Silverton

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: history and style
Cons: elevator and breakfast area
lovely town, old west style, enjoyed wine tasting, train ride, great French Bistro/Bakery
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Ambiance galore

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Cons: Cleaning and updated electrical service so it can handle modern conveniences.
Since this is a historic hotel, it has its limitations. Our first room did not have a working air conditioner system. We were offered a fan and told to give it a while because it takes a while to cool. It never came on, nor did it cool. We were finally offered a different room. Later in the week, the power went out during the evening. Fortunately, our second room had a window, so we were able to stay cool as we went to bed, though it was noisy with the night life on the street. Cleaning was so-so. We had hiked in Mesa Verde, and the next day our tub had a bathtub ring after being "cleaned". Breakfast was basic with some nice surprises such as homemade scones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Brisbane Australia.

A great vintage era hotel from the 1800s.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Center of town and close to all attractions and Restaurants.
Cons: nothing
Location: The main reason for staying here was we wanted a true historic hotel and it was very close to the Durango railway and Mesa Verde trip.
This is a genuine 1800s hotel retaining all the original furnishings of that era but with very comfortable rooms featuring all the mod cons you would expect in a modern hotel. The staff were always very helpful and they were able to help us with a minimum of fuss even when we phoned to say we were delayed by a day due to airline problems. Excellent.