Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros:
Cons: Room temperature and pipe noise.
Noisy water pipes and room was very hot. Food was good and although parts of the hotel was tired looking it still had character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by Golfing Couplefrom Leeds

Great location.

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location ideal for our visit to the Seniors Open at Rockcliffe Hall. Only criticism was problem cheap kettles in room - we had difficulty making drinks. Could have done with 2 chairs in room (only 1 supplied) to watch TV in evening. Extra shelf in bathroom would help - nowhere to put bath items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Martafrom Surrey

great location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
ticked all the boxes, perfect for business as well as lesuire,
2 out of 5
Recommended
by corryfrom glasgow

New owners need to invest fast !!!

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in bad shape and desperately needs investment it looks to me like the new owners are first of all chasing the wedding market ,but our rooms 114 & 115 in the " new block" looked as though they haven't seen a lick of paint since they were built ! poss 30 years ago.The hallway was dim and the carpets just a mess.The room cost us £69 plus £10 for breakfast and the Magners was £4.40 a pint yet no one could wipe clean an outside table. three things going for the hotel the staff ,the main dining area was bright poss new carpet & furniture bit still needed painted and the cooked breakfast was excellent .There are better hotels not far away,im afraid it wasn't up to the mark they had their chance and blew it i wont be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Business Tripfrom Midlands

Quirky

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Comfort, staff, food
Cons: Needs to be closed for a while and refurbished or a refurbishment programme needs to be phased whilst keeping the Hotel open.
Location: Great location close to the A1M
I was staying for the one night whilst away on business. The hotel was a bit quirky and definitely tired and worn. Great building and grounds. Staff superb in reception, bar and restaurant. Excellent meal. The room i had was a 'superior double'. It was right at the front of the buidling, very spacious and only a few pounds more expensive that a standard double. Having read other reviews I probably benefitted from being there midweek - no weddings on and very attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janieloufrom Carlisle

Good stop over

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Ease of booking, friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Bar menu could be less deep fried
This hotel is always reliable - it does what it says on the tin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ScottFraserfrom Watford

Nice place to stay

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I liked it, room had a carpet stain and the bed was a bit hard. Had an ironing board, but no iron. The room was next to the staff dining room, so there was a light on all night. I'd stay there again though the beer and the food were both excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AyeChampionfrom London

One too many coats of Paint.

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The food was out of this world, Hotel itself in tip top condition but it has had one too many coats of paint. Stiff doors, slamming doors through the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kevinfrom West Midlands

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Huge comfy beds and nice location
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A nice break

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 3 nights in mid March. Very happy with all aspects of this hotel i.e room,bar and spa.