Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

early morning fire alarm

Posted May 3, 2015
fire alarm went off at about 7am. Reception said there was nothing they could do, likely to be caused by steam from shower, but they could put in extraction to bathrooms, door closers on bathroom door and review position of alarm in room etc etc. As it happens I was on an early start and was dressed and ready to go so just left.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Filthy, dated, old fashioned and inedible food!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
I was very disappointed when we arrived. The receptionist was rude the rooms smelt and felt dirty. But we were only there for two nights to visit my mother so I thought, let it go, however it was the last straw when we went for breakfast. The dining room was very dirty and the food looked like it had been there for a month. I did complain but was still not given or offered any compensation or refund, It's such a shame as this hotel was once the best in Darlington. I wouldn't let my dog stay there now!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Coventry

Darlington for a rugby match

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is full of history standing in its own grounds. Although the building is old and could possibly do with a bit of modernisation, the staff were very good and could not have done more for us. Would recommend this hotel to any one. The bed was huge and comfortable the room very clean and more than met our needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sam from Leeming Bar

Not a bad hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
nice hotel, need modernizing, also the bar is way to expensive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business Stay

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
Local to meeting location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Morhaf from Manchester

Faulty Tower

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Checking in was offered Breakfast as additional extra I agreed and paid the extra only to be told the next morning no you have not paid for breakfast by the restaurant attendee and the reception contradicting it self saying no he has not then phoning few seconds later yes he did remanded me with Faulty Towers !! Not what I expected or expected
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is very tired needs updated. It's expensive given the condition
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Nice hotel close to Darlington

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The quiet location surrounded by trees and its still very close to Darlington
Cons: Nothing in my opinion as I stayed two nights and I found it perfect
Location: The location is great! but its not in the centre of town so I wouldn't recommend to walk its a little far, get a taxi or drive, the taxi was only £4
I stayed here a couple of nights while visiting friends, the Hotel is large with lots of space in and outside, I would have liked to visit it in the summer to use the swimming pool and the gym but as I stayed at end of November I didn't fancy the swim, I did not use the restaurant or any other facility as I met my friends in Town but the staff were very helpful every time I needed to book a taxi, at my check in and my check out! I would stay here again...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pauline from Newcastle

Curates egg

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
Our first night was a disaster, we had booked a superior room and first impressions were very good. Unfortunately our room turned out to be an emergency escape route and therefore had a green light which remained on constantly. Worse the room was linked to a seminar room and we were woken at 2. 30. by furniture being moved as night staff prepared the room for the meeting to be held there in the morning. We complained the next day and the receptionist apologised and moved us to a fabulous room for our second night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

In need of revamp and a decent cleaner

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
our room was in much need of a good clean and maintenance. Cracked bathroom sink, disintegrating sash windows in much need of restoration (constant draft). Heavily worn out carpet, doors. Not to mention dead wasps, bees, spiders, and flies on the window seals and several large spider webs in almost every corner of the bed room and also down in the restaurant