Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marta from Surrey

great location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
ticked all the boxes, perfect for business as well as lesuire,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Business Trip from Midlands

Quirky

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Comfort, staff, food
Cons: Needs to be closed for a while and refurbished or a refurbishment programme needs to be phased whilst keeping the Hotel open.
Location: Great location close to the A1M
I was staying for the one night whilst away on business. The hotel was a bit quirky and definitely tired and worn. Great building and grounds. Staff superb in reception, bar and restaurant. Excellent meal. The room i had was a 'superior double'. It was right at the front of the buidling, very spacious and only a few pounds more expensive that a standard double. Having read other reviews I probably benefitted from being there midweek - no weddings on and very attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janielou from Carlisle

Good stop over

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Ease of booking, friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Bar menu could be less deep fried
This hotel is always reliable - it does what it says on the tin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ScottFraser from Watford

Nice place to stay

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I liked it, room had a carpet stain and the bed was a bit hard. Had an ironing board, but no iron. The room was next to the staff dining room, so there was a light on all night. I'd stay there again though the beer and the food were both excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AyeChampion from London

One too many coats of Paint.

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The food was out of this world, Hotel itself in tip top condition but it has had one too many coats of paint. Stiff doors, slamming doors through the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kevin from West Midlands

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Huge comfy beds and nice location
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A nice break

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 3 nights in mid March. Very happy with all aspects of this hotel i.e room,bar and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jack from Corby

Ideal to tour area

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel at a very good price. Bus service and train service to local areas are frequent and affordable.
3 out of 5
by sharon from herts

Great staff

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Very handy for the A1 so easy to get out and about
Hotel looks quite grand and the lounges, dining room etc were lovely but our room was disappointing. The bed was so uncomfortable , no extra blankets and the cleanliness wasn't too good. Hotel in General is crying out for TLC. However the staff were so friendly and efficient so I didn't complain!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very poor