Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: Very handy for Durham and not too far from Newcastle and the North-East Coast and Metro Centre
Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very pleasant staff and a good north east greeting! Clean spacious rooms and bathroom. No frills but you know that when you book. Kettle and hairdryer in room and soap and shower gel dispensers in bathroom. Room nice and warm and water always hot. Be careful - very hot at times! Good internet connection.Easy proximity to Durham and Newcastle and free parking. Would use again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

It does the trick but don't expect luxury

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Staff was friendly. Location is good if you are on your way in or out Durham. Unfortunately, the kettle in the room wasn't working, neither one of the bed side lamps and the heating in the bathroom. Also there were no extra duvets or towels... apart from that it was O.K for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Very good for access to the local areas and towns.
Location: Just here to visit friends in Ferryhill and Durham. Not a tourist.
Very comfortable hotel with very helpful staff, will be staying here again sometime next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Deutschland

abgehalftertes Raststättenhotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Hunde waren gegen einen Aufpreis von 10 Pfund erlaubt.
Cons: Hotel renovieren und bei der Information angeben, dass es sich um ein Raststättenhotel handelt.
Location: Direkt an der Autobahn und man kann dort garnichts unternehmen.
Das Hotel liegt auf einer Raststätte. Es ist ziemlich in die Jahre gekommen und schäbig. Die Tapete blättert von den Wänden und das Badezimmer war sehr grenzwertig. Über den Teppich im Zimmer möchte ich nicht nachdenken. Frühstück gab es nur bei Mc Donald's oder Costa auf der Raststätte.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Doncaster

Perfect for business trip but able to take family

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: It did look a bit tired
Location: Only needed to use the room - very close to A1 so easy access
I was away on business but my daughter was told by a doctor that she needed to get rest & warmth. She is a student living in shared accommodation so would get neither where she normally lives so it was perfect to be able to take her with me Comfortable warm & friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom huddersfield

rather further from city than I would have prefere

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: easy come easy go
quality as expected - it pretends to be no more than it is
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ideal hotel for business meeting in the Durham are

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Handy situation.
Location: Durham is an amazing city
Check in is simple and straightforward, and the room and facilities are basic but ideal for brief stays in the region.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom West Yorkshire

Convenient one night stopover

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Good value for money and conveniently located alongside the A1 but didn't hear any road noise once inside the hotel.
Cons: Decor rather dated
Location: Handy for Durham and our visit to Beamish museum less than 30 minutes away.
First visit and need somewhere in the area for an overnight stop. Good price and comfortable large bed. Would use them again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northallerton

Value for Money

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The staff were so helpful
Cons: More choice of food
Location: Didn't feel like investigating.
Everything clean and tidy. We arrived and booked in then had a phone message about a family emergency. I have to say that the staff were brilliant finding us the telephone number we needed and showing concern and caring. We stayed local for something to eat at the Costa. A reasonable fare (Costa chain food) but they could not supply what we would have liked as they had run out of most things by the time we got there. Just didn't want KFC so it was a bit of a scratch meal.