Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Roy from South Shields

NO SPA FACILITIES

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Its a nice hotel
Cons: COMMUNICATION to guests who specifically book the hotel for the pool etc and to tell them that it is not available
Location: .....
You will by now have in your possession an email from me via a Zak Livingstones account complaining about our stay at The County.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that the swimming pool was out of service during your stay. Unfortunately due to an unforeseen incident, it was necessary to close the pool for a 24 hour period in the interest of our guests’ safety. I do hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from visiting us again in the near future. Warm regards Des Caldwell
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jon from Bolton, UK

Location perfect.............but

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Central and easy to access
Cons: Provide the cleaning staff with some polish and dusters.
Location: Location is perfect, can walk the river bank, through town up to the castle and cathedral, well worth a visit. Lots of restaurants and bars, loved it.
This hotel was perfect for Durham city centre, we enjoyed our stay and the staff were helpful so no complaints there, had a slightly disturbed night caused by some group who had apparently won a tournament so this created lots of door opening and closing ( why do hotels set doors to close shut with a bang?) and the room was very dusty, could have wrote my name in the dust on the window ledge and the table. Would I come back? Yes I probably would as these things happen and as I pointed out, perfect location.
Comment from
Jan 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you experienced disturbance during the night and poor cleanliness standards within your guest room. On a more positive note, I am pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and you found the location of the hotel to be perfect for you. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future. Des Caldwell General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by totoro from LALA land

cant go wrong with marriott

Posted Mar 9, 2014
love this hotel, and you cant beat the location of it: within a minute you already find yourself at the city center where lots of eating and shopping places located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from London

Nice building but

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Exceptionally pleasant staff
Cons: Room cleanliness and upkeep
In principle, this was a very nice room. But there were bread crumbs on the carpet and half of the lights in the room didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, shame about the wifi

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Cons: Free Wi-Fi in rooms.
Location: Great location - very central.
Lovely hotel with very comfortable rooms and helpful staff. One niggle - why no free Wi-Fi in the rooms? Isn't this a bit of an anachronism these days, particularly in such a good quality hotel?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for city centre

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: The beds and the size of the standard rooms.
Location: Over the bridge to the city centre, very central location with lots of shops and lovely tea rooms.
Lovely welcome from the front of house staff, excellent size room with lovely comfy beds and the breakfast was perfect and the restaurant service was great. Very friendly and comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jim from edinburgh

weekend break

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: room overlooking river,excellent staff at reception, breakfast dining experience superb well run with polite pleasant local staff
Cons: bar looked a bit bare, lack of atmosphere, pictures on walls may help ?
Location: good area lot of pubs and places to eat, short walk to centre 5 mins
two night break hotel as described on trip advisor good parking and close to centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GilliM from York

Enjoyable stay

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I have stayed for our anniversary 2yrs running. The proximity to Durham centre, ease of access are bonus. The public areas of hotel are attractive and comfortable. The staff were warm and courteous. Lovely touch to be offered mulled wine and mince pie on arrival. The rooms are a little tired, bathrooms and public toilets could do with upgrading but all clean and tidy. Good choice at buffet breakfast , very bright pleasant breakfast room. Overall very good experience. Will return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: staff friendliness
Cons: evening meal - ordered pizza which looked to have come form the local pizza takeaway. Car parking and Wifi expensive
very good hotel