Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Great location in town centre.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located in town centre, close to tourist attractions and the river. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Need to keep car parking spaces available for hotel guests - free of charge. Wifi should also be available and free in bedrooms.
Location: Very convenient location, close to Durham cathedral and castle and town centre. River path close by and several pubs and eateries in the area.
A friendly and convenient place to stay in centre of Durham.Excellent choice of food for breakfast and decent tapas served in the bar. Mulled wine and cake in reception. Daily newspapers and lots of seating in foyer. Large bedroom ( overlooking the car park!) in need of some repairs. Toilet wouldn't flush, bathroom door wouldn't close, air con not working resulting in very hot room (in November), no wifi, no fridge, side light needed bulb. And the mattress was old and too saggy. Our room was not cleaned and we were out of the room for 5 hours during the day so they had plenty of time. Must have been a busy weekend with Xmas functions. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your stay with us did not fully meet your expectations and that your room was not in full working order. More positively, I am pleased that you found the breakfast and tapas to your satisfaction and our staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful during your stay. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards Des Caldwell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom U.K

Great hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Make the prices in the bar reasonable and in keeping with a 4 star hotel.
Lovely hotel, fabulous helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is located very close to the city centre and the main attractions. Bar food and breakfast were of a very good standard. My only complaint was to be charged. £12.40 for one large glass of Sauvignon blanc- ridiculous pricing from head office I was informed. This really does need to be addressed. I did not allow it to spoil my stay but would bring a bottle with me rather than being totally ripped off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

coffee

Posted Oct 22, 2014
They must have the worst ever coffee in the dining room that I have ever experienced, I know they have opened a Starbucks outlet in the hotel not a favourite of mine as I cannot handle the large mugs..but that is an extra charge .My step- son and wifehad 2 coffees in the bar £6.00 how expensive is that for poor coffee!? Our evening meal upon arrival was okay except the salmon was presented with skin on and unboned, not normally a problem but with the difused lighting a tricky proceedure to remove all. My main problem was the coffee I ended up having hot water. as a breakfast drink then a coffee outside in a decent coffee shop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that the coffee served in our outlets did not meet your expectations; we have an extensive range available, differing in size and type. The team here at the hotel always endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations and I am sorry on this occasion you were not completely satisfied. Thank you once again for your comments and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Des Caldwell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London.

Well-situated.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The staff are faultlessly friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a good effort, something for everyone.
Cons: The heating in my room was noisy and woke me several times. The iron was also soiled. Would like to see gluten-free bakery items on offer at breakfast
Close to Durham centre, this hotel was a good base to explore the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caracas, Venezuela

Nice Staff. Nice Hotel. Near from de town center.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms were spacious and the bed was so couzy.
Cons: I would like to suggest to update and change the hot and cold taps of the sink and replace it with one command tap.
Location: Just step to the High Street (Silver Street) and other attractions.
We recomend this hotel to everyone. It is located step from the town centre, Cathedral and Castel. It Is confortable. Have enough paid parkin space available. And the staff was very helpfull...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: It is very close to the center of old town and local attractions like the Cathedral and Castle. The area has many small to medium size restaurants.
The hotel is well situated for tourists with a Starbucks just outside the front lobby on the street corner. It is very close to the center of old town and local attractions like the Cathedral and Castle. The room was located in the older section of the hotel. Hallway floor boards were very noisy announcing everyone who passed by day or night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

A flying visit

Posted Sep 21, 2014
We only stayed one night but room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We used room service, which was efficient and the food was delicious. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all, an excellent experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel in a great location. Very friendly staff. A few things that could have been better: - Terrible shower pressure - didn't offer to carry bags up the stairs even though the lift was out or order - charged for parking