Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great Location. Comfortable.

Posted May 25, 2015
I stayed in Durham for three nights while visiting a friend who attends Durham University. The outstanding things I enjoyed about the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County are its great location and its very comfortable bed and linens. Just great!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bradford

It let itself down

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: A service that matches the price paid
Location: Great location for the city centre and the cathedral
The hotel is ideally placed and certainly acceptable for a couple of nights away on a quick culture trip. However, it appears we did not rate the room being cleaned and made up the next day - we got a replacement bottle of water, but no coffee replenishment, no clean cups, no made bed, no clean towels and no cleaning. As a result, I would not use this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

The heat is on at the Durham Marriott

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: location to the bailey
Room was not ready for 3pm checkin although was given a complimentary drink whilst I waited a further 45 minutes in a rather bleak and depressing looking bar. Despite promising someone would come and tell me the moment my room was ready, this did not happen and I had to yet again enquire to be told it was now ready. Once I had encountered the many stairs and wrong corridors attempting to cross other to the newer extension with the river view, I eventually arrived relieved and shattered to my room. It was a lovely size, with a huge king size bed and overall very nice for a 1 night stay. Having travelled all day I was too tired to dare to venture out of my room again and settled on room service for the night which was very pleasant, except for the £4.00 tray charge. What soon became annoying was the high level of traffic noise from the major roads even the tv couldn't drown it out. Then every hour throughout the night I was woken up as the heat was unbearable, no air conditioning/controls seemed to work so I found a fan tower which helped to keep the room semi-comfortable. Despite being a Marriott member, and as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary it was disappointing to receive no complimentary wine/fruit in our room as we have received on previous occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Stamford

Very comfortable & convenient

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Location plus reasonably priced overnight parking
Cons: how they cook the bacon and scrambled eggs
Location: Easy to walk to the shops, restaurants, Cathedral and many of the Uni buildings
I booked the last standard grade room to be had in the city on a University Open Day so I was nervous taking Hobson's choice. It could not have worked out better! I had a twin bed room in a separate building from the main hotel over looking a narrow road parallel to the river so it was quiet. The bedside lamp wasn't working but a quick call to the front desk and they arranged for this to be fixed whose I was out. The room was very clean and the bed comfy. The only negative was the scorching hot radiator so I was too hot during the night and it wasn't to open a window enough to make a difference. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient helping with booking a recommended Thai restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was only ok in terms of quality (referring to the hot dishes specifically). Service was quick and efficient but staff seemed rather 'stretched' and not enough time for a smile…but I'm used to this in UK! Overall I would happily return as the location was ideal and an easy walk to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulinefrom Darlington

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, helpful & friendly staff. Lovely leisure facilities too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
It seems from your review that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Des Caldwell
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peterfrom Grimsby

A night in Durham

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Durham is so nice, lots of history with a modern buzz. For a deluxe room we were disappointed, just not as extra special as we hoped. The shower head would not stay upright which was inconvenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your guestroom did not meet your expecations on this visit and I was disappointed that you experienced a problem with the shower. I do hope that the issues you had during your stay will not deter you from returning to us when you next are in the area. Warm regards Des Caldwell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margaretfrom Wrabness

Royal County in Durham

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel. Our room a bit far from reception . Fabulous position in City. Helpful friendly staff. Nice pool. Comfy bed. Ample breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please come back and stay again soon. Warm regards Des Caldwell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Seaham

Good hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Elizabethfrom Edinburgh

Helpful staff, great location

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Due to a mistake, we were given a room with just one double bed when I had booked two twins. After returning to reception to explain the problem we were immediately and cheerfully upgraded to a suite! The staff was very helpful, the room comfortable, and the location hard to beat. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a great deal of choice. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards Des Caldwell
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Late city break

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: All areas
Location: Well located very central for all places of interest
Have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years. However, I think this will be the last time. "De Luxe" room which basically means 2 free bottles of water and wifi definitely not worth the extra money. Room very small and not to the usual Marriott standards. Restaurant now closed down and only bar menu available. It feels like Marriott have forgotten about a once great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you felt the amenities and standards of our Deluxe rooms did not meet your expectations. There is currently some maintenance work taking place and we have closed the restaurant for a short while , however there is still an extensive menu available in our Bar to dine from. Hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards Des Caldwell