Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Late city break

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: All areas
Location: Well located very central for all places of interest
Have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years. However, I think this will be the last time. "De Luxe" room which basically means 2 free bottles of water and wifi definitely not worth the extra money. Room very small and not to the usual Marriott standards. Restaurant now closed down and only bar menu available. It feels like Marriott have forgotten about a once great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you felt the amenities and standards of our Deluxe rooms did not meet your expectations. There is currently some maintenance work taking place and we have closed the restaurant for a short while , however there is still an extensive menu available in our Bar to dine from. Hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards Des Caldwell
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Great location in town centre.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located in town centre, close to tourist attractions and the river. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Need to keep car parking spaces available for hotel guests - free of charge. Wifi should also be available and free in bedrooms.
Location: Very convenient location, close to Durham cathedral and castle and town centre. River path close by and several pubs and eateries in the area.
A friendly and convenient place to stay in centre of Durham.Excellent choice of food for breakfast and decent tapas served in the bar. Mulled wine and cake in reception. Daily newspapers and lots of seating in foyer. Large bedroom ( overlooking the car park!) in need of some repairs. Toilet wouldn't flush, bathroom door wouldn't close, air con not working resulting in very hot room (in November), no wifi, no fridge, side light needed bulb. And the mattress was old and too saggy. Our room was not cleaned and we were out of the room for 5 hours during the day so they had plenty of time. Must have been a busy weekend with Xmas functions. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your stay with us did not fully meet your expectations and that your room was not in full working order. More positively, I am pleased that you found the breakfast and tapas to your satisfaction and our staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful during your stay. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards Des Caldwell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom U.K

Great hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Make the prices in the bar reasonable and in keeping with a 4 star hotel.
Lovely hotel, fabulous helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is located very close to the city centre and the main attractions. Bar food and breakfast were of a very good standard. My only complaint was to be charged. £12.40 for one large glass of Sauvignon blanc- ridiculous pricing from head office I was informed. This really does need to be addressed. I did not allow it to spoil my stay but would bring a bottle with me rather than being totally ripped off.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Tiny noisy room

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tiny hotel room, stayed in marriot Sunderland which was cheaper and an enormous room with living room. Staff at marriot Durham were not particularly attentive. You have to pay or car park and no wifi. Far too expensive and rooms no better than a premier inn but sadly not premier inn prices. Would NOT stay again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Melfrom St Albans

Father of a freshman

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
It could have been just what I was looking for... Except. When I'm paying more than £140 a night I kinda think that charging me a fiver to park is a bit rich. And when insult is added to injury with a £6 an hour broadband fee for being in my room instead of the bar where you can access the adjoining Starbucks WiFi for free you may get a feel for why I will be doing all I can to never return. They advertise that breakfast is included but it isn't. They advertise that WiFi is available. Well I guess so if you're a complete mug. Frankly it just isn't worth the bill so try nd book something else. It's a real shame because as the parent of a first year student I will be looking for a room probably 10 times over the coming few years. And on this experience I will be looking elsewhere. It's not the rooms, the location or even the staff. It's just the expense of the lack of service
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review . I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion . So we can best meet the individual needs of our customers, we offer rates both with and without breakfast . Guests who then opt for a room only rate then have the option of a full buffet breakfast, Starbucks or a 'breakfast to go'. Regarding internet access, the hotel has free WiFi in the bar, lobby, conservatory and Starbucks store and it is also included in our deluxe and supreme rooms. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Durham . Warm regards Des Caldwell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ann-Lisbethfrom Halden

Hyggelig opphold på gammelt sjarmerende hotell.

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sjarmerende gammelt hotell med knirk i gulvene. Stort rom og god seng. Noe støy utenfra natt til lørdag. God frokost med flere varme ting å velge på, dog noe dyrt. 16 pund for frokost er noe i overkant av hva den er verdt. Stor parkeringsplass tilhørende hotellet, 5 pund pr natt. Veldig hyggelig betjening både i resepsjon og til frokost. Wifi på rommet koster 15 pund pr døgn. Hårføner og toalettartikler tilgjengelig. Ikke kjøleskap på rommet. 2 gratis flaskevann pr dag. Kunne koke te og kaffe på rommet uten kostnad. Strykebrett i skapet. Stor flatskjerm. Sentral beliggenhet, kort vei til både catedral og butikker. Mange spisesteder å velge mellom, prøv Tango rett ved hotellet hvis du er glad i burger (bør bestille bord for den er veldig populær).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Johanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nickfrom Leicester

Fantastic Spa

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ashleyfrom Ayr

Good staff but very tired rooms

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vey friendly staff (especially at check-in), but the room was tiny, very tired and generally unappealing. Bed was a very small double, shower was just about adequate. Breakfast, however, was good and the parking price was very reasonable, given the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with your bedroom. The hotel will undergo a bedroom refurbishment in 2015 so hopefully you will find an improvement on future visits. Thank you for your kind comments about our team, especially Front Office and breakfast. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future so we can demonstrate our commitment to providing excellent customer service. Warm regards Des Caldwell General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here many times before so disappointed to be put into the Coach House - in the car park. Broken furniture in room. However Hotel redeemed itself with efficient and friendly staff and excellent breakfast.