Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: glass of wine on arrival- friendly stafff !!!
Cons: parking - car got bashed in to and no note - 2 panels to repair, could happen anywhere though
Location: good location
no problems at all, fine, no complaints would reccommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Well located for Durham City and University

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, and the fact that they have a Starbucks inside it!
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Very close to City centre and historic sites.
The Marriot at Durham is an adequate hotel, well located and decent amenities but lacks charisma and effort. Our room had no air con and the lifts were under repair, which on a hot day was a pain. The leisure club was tired but fine, the room was hot as it has no air con, which the staff were quick to point out as we were a cheap expedia booking! The most irritating point though of our lack lustre stay was the taxi service. They seem to have a tied taxi service which they use and it has a direct line for the service on the reception counter. When we asked for a taxi at 6pm in the evening to take us less than 2 miles to the university campus, the taxi took 20 minutes to come (hotel said 5 minutes) so this got us thinking that Durham was short of taxis. The next day on leaving, I asked the staff if I could book a cab to take the family and bags to the station. They suggested I used the tied taxi line, so called them. taxi would be 20 minute wait, so with a train to catch, we walked - the staff at the hotel could not have been less helpful. What was annoying, was that when we had sweated up the hill to the station, we discovered a sea of other taxis available for hire - lots and lots from different firms who live off the University and station trade. This is obviously of no interest to the Marriott staff and they were not in a position to help us get another taxi firm!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have looked into your reservation and can confirm that you reserved a standard bedroom which does not have air conditioning included, this would apply to all of our standard bedrooms, it is not dependant on how you make your reservation, I am sorry that the Front Desk team did not explain this to you at the time. We are always striving to continue to improve our hotel and its facilities; having recently completed a refurbishment of our Exist block guest lift we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our Middle block guest lift. Guest satisfaction is always of the up most importance and we notified all agents of this work and the timeframes, I apologies if you were not informed of this work at the time of booking. I was extremely disappointed to read of the poor experience you had when making taxi reservations, whilst we do have a nominated company that we use, ensuring our guests are able to book a taxi and to arrive at their destination within a reasonable timeframe is of paramount importance. Our Front Office Manager has shared your feedback with her team and also the Taxi Company concerned as this is a reflection of our service to our guests and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope your recent experience will not deter you form staying with us in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakewell

Disappointing

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I had previously phoned to request a twin room for my husband and son. No problem I was told. They were given a double. TheNot what they wanted. A main reason for booking a good hotel was the air conditioning. After travelling from the South in heat they were in need of a comfortable atmosphere. Just a fan recirculation warm air. My husband mentioned this and was told "in that building there is no air conditioning it is only a standard room." My husband noted the gentleman was higher management from Hemel Hempsead or St Albans (memory unsure) but it was on his badge. Another hotel guest a large American gentleman commented to my husband "I think I've found the only working lift in the building" The receptionist on arrival was lovely, the breakfast excellent and the shower clean and spacious. The restaurant staff could not have been more helpful. The attitude of senior management on leaving and reporting difficulties far from acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have looked into your reservation and can confirm that you reserved a standard bedroom which does not have air conditioning included; this would apply to all of our standard bedrooms and please accept my apologies that this was not explained to you fully when questioned at the hotel. I am sorry that your request for a twin bedroom was not followed through on by our Front Desk team; this is not the usual service we pride ourselves upon and has been addressed by our Front Office Manager. We are always striving to continue to improve our hotel and its facilities; having recently completed a refurbishment of our Exist block guest lift we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our Middle block guest lift. Whilst the renovation of this lift is taking place we still have two fully operational guest lifts within the hotel and our Front Office team are available to assist with any luggage or directions to guest bedrooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the receptionist on arrival, these have been shared with them directly. We constantly strive to ensure our guests are completely satisfied and appreciate your feedback; I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Des Calwell General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Aaasdgggcvv. Ghjmvgfjffg. Vdknjc c vvbkfxhgb hhsdkhgfjbdf tyhficfv fgh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Late booking success

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Even though I booked online at about 9pm the staff and room were ready when I arrived twenty minutes later. Really helpful and gave me a wonderful suite for my overnight stay. Superb location for exploring Durham Castle and cathedral. Room service food was really good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel in the centre of Durham.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great staff, fantastic location and exceptionally clean. Rooms were a very good size. Would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from York, North Yorks

Ideal for the center of Durham

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Can't praise them enough. Well run and clean facilities. Food was good with an excellent choice at breakfast.
Cons: Not much really
Location: Everything well within reach
Great position near the center but having to pay for hotel parking isn't ideal. View fro the room wasn't inspiring but it wasn't too expensive and it was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from Kent

Lovely place to stay close to Durham city centre

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The room and the staff
Cons: Not much really
Location: So much to do but the Cathedral is a must
This is the second time we have stayed at the Royal County and once again the staff were more than welcoming. The mix up with the booking was sorted out and the room we stayed in was superb. Special must go to Clare and Michael on the front desk and Stewart who helped with the change to the booking. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Durham Marriot Hotel Royal County

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Staff; room; food.
Cons: Lifts - but they are in the process of doing that this year.
Location: Excellent location - with a five minute walk to either the cathedral/castle of the central square of Durham.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in the Marriott. All the staff we met at the Hotel were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and quiet, even though the hotel was in a central location. Meals were also first class - especially the breakfast; indeed the staff inn the restaurant were - at times- almost too helpful (if that is possible!). The room we had with a king size bed was very good VFM and we most definitely enjoyed our stay at the Hotel and can recommend it to others (the only downer being the weather in Durham when we were there......though that was hardly the fault of the Hotel).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by frankie from London

Nice hotel easy access to everything

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Had a very enjoyable stay. Afternoon tea on the terrace in the sunshine was definitely a highlight.