Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

The heat is on at the Durham Marriott

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: location to the bailey
Room was not ready for 3pm checkin although was given a complimentary drink whilst I waited a further 45 minutes in a rather bleak and depressing looking bar. Despite promising someone would come and tell me the moment my room was ready, this did not happen and I had to yet again enquire to be told it was now ready. Once I had encountered the many stairs and wrong corridors attempting to cross other to the newer extension with the river view, I eventually arrived relieved and shattered to my room. It was a lovely size, with a huge king size bed and overall very nice for a 1 night stay. Having travelled all day I was too tired to dare to venture out of my room again and settled on room service for the night which was very pleasant, except for the £4.00 tray charge. What soon became annoying was the high level of traffic noise from the major roads even the tv couldn't drown it out. Then every hour throughout the night I was woken up as the heat was unbearable, no air conditioning/controls seemed to work so I found a fan tower which helped to keep the room semi-comfortable. Despite being a Marriott member, and as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary it was disappointing to receive no complimentary wine/fruit in our room as we have received on previous occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Stamford

Very comfortable & convenient

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Location plus reasonably priced overnight parking
Cons: how they cook the bacon and scrambled eggs
Location: Easy to walk to the shops, restaurants, Cathedral and many of the Uni buildings
I booked the last standard grade room to be had in the city on a University Open Day so I was nervous taking Hobson's choice. It could not have worked out better! I had a twin bed room in a separate building from the main hotel over looking a narrow road parallel to the river so it was quiet. The bedside lamp wasn't working but a quick call to the front desk and they arranged for this to be fixed whose I was out. The room was very clean and the bed comfy. The only negative was the scorching hot radiator so I was too hot during the night and it wasn't to open a window enough to make a difference. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient helping with booking a recommended Thai restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was only ok in terms of quality (referring to the hot dishes specifically). Service was quick and efficient but staff seemed rather 'stretched' and not enough time for a smile…but I'm used to this in UK! Overall I would happily return as the location was ideal and an easy walk to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Elizabethfrom Edinburgh

Helpful staff, great location

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Due to a mistake, we were given a room with just one double bed when I had booked two twins. After returning to reception to explain the problem we were immediately and cheerfully upgraded to a suite! The staff was very helpful, the room comfortable, and the location hard to beat. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a great deal of choice. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards Des Caldwell
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Late city break

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: All areas
Location: Well located very central for all places of interest
Have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years. However, I think this will be the last time. "De Luxe" room which basically means 2 free bottles of water and wifi definitely not worth the extra money. Room very small and not to the usual Marriott standards. Restaurant now closed down and only bar menu available. It feels like Marriott have forgotten about a once great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you felt the amenities and standards of our Deluxe rooms did not meet your expectations. There is currently some maintenance work taking place and we have closed the restaurant for a short while , however there is still an extensive menu available in our Bar to dine from. Hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards Des Caldwell
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Great location in town centre.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located in town centre, close to tourist attractions and the river. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Need to keep car parking spaces available for hotel guests - free of charge. Wifi should also be available and free in bedrooms.
Location: Very convenient location, close to Durham cathedral and castle and town centre. River path close by and several pubs and eateries in the area.
A friendly and convenient place to stay in centre of Durham.Excellent choice of food for breakfast and decent tapas served in the bar. Mulled wine and cake in reception. Daily newspapers and lots of seating in foyer. Large bedroom ( overlooking the car park!) in need of some repairs. Toilet wouldn't flush, bathroom door wouldn't close, air con not working resulting in very hot room (in November), no wifi, no fridge, side light needed bulb. And the mattress was old and too saggy. Our room was not cleaned and we were out of the room for 5 hours during the day so they had plenty of time. Must have been a busy weekend with Xmas functions. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your stay with us did not fully meet your expectations and that your room was not in full working order. More positively, I am pleased that you found the breakfast and tapas to your satisfaction and our staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful during your stay. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards Des Caldwell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom U.K

Great hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Make the prices in the bar reasonable and in keeping with a 4 star hotel.
Lovely hotel, fabulous helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is located very close to the city centre and the main attractions. Bar food and breakfast were of a very good standard. My only complaint was to be charged. £12.40 for one large glass of Sauvignon blanc- ridiculous pricing from head office I was informed. This really does need to be addressed. I did not allow it to spoil my stay but would bring a bottle with me rather than being totally ripped off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jeanette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Marriott Durham

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location so close to Durham township. Friendly staff and nice surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulfrom Aberdeen

Fantastic City break.

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a really enjoyable city break. The hotel was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Very well equipped with its leisure centre, upmarket restaurant and coffee shop all on site. Staff are very pleasant and attentive and the room was a very pleasant surprise. The location is a stones throw from the city center with plenty of shops, bars, restaurants including the historical sites means there is much to do.