Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

coffee

Posted Oct 22, 2014
They must have the worst ever coffee in the dining room that I have ever experienced, I know they have opened a Starbucks outlet in the hotel not a favourite of mine as I cannot handle the large mugs..but that is an extra charge .My step- son and wifehad 2 coffees in the bar £6.00 how expensive is that for poor coffee!? Our evening meal upon arrival was okay except the salmon was presented with skin on and unboned, not normally a problem but with the difused lighting a tricky proceedure to remove all. My main problem was the coffee I ended up having hot water. as a breakfast drink then a coffee outside in a decent coffee shop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that the coffee served in our outlets did not meet your expectations; we have an extensive range available, differing in size and type. The team here at the hotel always endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations and I am sorry on this occasion you were not completely satisfied. Thank you once again for your comments and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards Des Caldwell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London.

Well-situated.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The staff are faultlessly friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a good effort, something for everyone.
Cons: The heating in my room was noisy and woke me several times. The iron was also soiled. Would like to see gluten-free bakery items on offer at breakfast
Close to Durham centre, this hotel was a good base to explore the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caracas, Venezuela

Nice Staff. Nice Hotel. Near from de town center.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms were spacious and the bed was so couzy.
Cons: I would like to suggest to update and change the hot and cold taps of the sink and replace it with one command tap.
Location: Just step to the High Street (Silver Street) and other attractions.
We recomend this hotel to everyone. It is located step from the town centre, Cathedral and Castel. It Is confortable. Have enough paid parkin space available. And the staff was very helpfull...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: It is very close to the center of old town and local attractions like the Cathedral and Castle. The area has many small to medium size restaurants.
The hotel is well situated for tourists with a Starbucks just outside the front lobby on the street corner. It is very close to the center of old town and local attractions like the Cathedral and Castle. The room was located in the older section of the hotel. Hallway floor boards were very noisy announcing everyone who passed by day or night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

A flying visit

Posted Sep 21, 2014
We only stayed one night but room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We used room service, which was efficient and the food was delicious. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all, an excellent experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Spacious room near to downtown Durham

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Excellent breakfast with coffee and hot items served by attentive and courteous staff.
Cons: The room came with a single rack for luggage. I requested a second (we had one suitcase each) and staff complied. Unfortunately it was very shaky.
Location: We walked to Durham Cathedral, the castle, shopping area and supper.
Sunny and comfortable room with huge bathroom. Only a few minutes to walk to Durham Cathedral and other city sites. Very helpful desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: glass of wine on arrival- friendly stafff !!!
Cons: parking - car got bashed in to and no note - 2 panels to repair, could happen anywhere though
Location: good location
no problems at all, fine, no complaints would reccommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dundee

Well located for Durham City and University

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, and the fact that they have a Starbucks inside it!
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Very close to City centre and historic sites.
The Marriot at Durham is an adequate hotel, well located and decent amenities but lacks charisma and effort. Our room had no air con and the lifts were under repair, which on a hot day was a pain. The leisure club was tired but fine, the room was hot as it has no air con, which the staff were quick to point out as we were a cheap expedia booking! The most irritating point though of our lack lustre stay was the taxi service. They seem to have a tied taxi service which they use and it has a direct line for the service on the reception counter. When we asked for a taxi at 6pm in the evening to take us less than 2 miles to the university campus, the taxi took 20 minutes to come (hotel said 5 minutes) so this got us thinking that Durham was short of taxis. The next day on leaving, I asked the staff if I could book a cab to take the family and bags to the station. They suggested I used the tied taxi line, so called them. taxi would be 20 minute wait, so with a train to catch, we walked - the staff at the hotel could not have been less helpful. What was annoying, was that when we had sweated up the hill to the station, we discovered a sea of other taxis available for hire - lots and lots from different firms who live off the University and station trade. This is obviously of no interest to the Marriott staff and they were not in a position to help us get another taxi firm!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have looked into your reservation and can confirm that you reserved a standard bedroom which does not have air conditioning included, this would apply to all of our standard bedrooms, it is not dependant on how you make your reservation, I am sorry that the Front Desk team did not explain this to you at the time. We are always striving to continue to improve our hotel and its facilities; having recently completed a refurbishment of our Exist block guest lift we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our Middle block guest lift. Guest satisfaction is always of the up most importance and we notified all agents of this work and the timeframes, I apologies if you were not informed of this work at the time of booking. I was extremely disappointed to read of the poor experience you had when making taxi reservations, whilst we do have a nominated company that we use, ensuring our guests are able to book a taxi and to arrive at their destination within a reasonable timeframe is of paramount importance. Our Front Office Manager has shared your feedback with her team and also the Taxi Company concerned as this is a reflection of our service to our guests and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope your recent experience will not deter you form staying with us in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bakewell

Disappointing

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I had previously phoned to request a twin room for my husband and son. No problem I was told. They were given a double. TheNot what they wanted. A main reason for booking a good hotel was the air conditioning. After travelling from the South in heat they were in need of a comfortable atmosphere. Just a fan recirculation warm air. My husband mentioned this and was told "in that building there is no air conditioning it is only a standard room." My husband noted the gentleman was higher management from Hemel Hempsead or St Albans (memory unsure) but it was on his badge. Another hotel guest a large American gentleman commented to my husband "I think I've found the only working lift in the building" The receptionist on arrival was lovely, the breakfast excellent and the shower clean and spacious. The restaurant staff could not have been more helpful. The attitude of senior management on leaving and reporting difficulties far from acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Durham Marriott GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have looked into your reservation and can confirm that you reserved a standard bedroom which does not have air conditioning included; this would apply to all of our standard bedrooms and please accept my apologies that this was not explained to you fully when questioned at the hotel. I am sorry that your request for a twin bedroom was not followed through on by our Front Desk team; this is not the usual service we pride ourselves upon and has been addressed by our Front Office Manager. We are always striving to continue to improve our hotel and its facilities; having recently completed a refurbishment of our Exist block guest lift we are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our Middle block guest lift. Whilst the renovation of this lift is taking place we still have two fully operational guest lifts within the hotel and our Front Office team are available to assist with any luggage or directions to guest bedrooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the receptionist on arrival, these have been shared with them directly. We constantly strive to ensure our guests are completely satisfied and appreciate your feedback; I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Des Calwell General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Aaasdgggcvv. Ghjmvgfjffg. Vdknjc c vvbkfxhgb hhsdkhgfjbdf tyhficfv fgh