Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kettering

Dated hotel not as good as the reputation suggests

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location, area and rooms were plesent, Staff very good,
Cons: Decor, separate facilities for wedding business
Location: Nr North Yorkshire moors, Whitby etc,
Hotel needs some work, tired, First 2 nights weddings in the hotel, take over of the bar and public areas, poor atmosphire, drunks, etc, Morning 2, no hot water, cold showers, Night 3, noise in roof space above bedroom 59, no sleep, Breakfast day 2, hot options ran out,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from China, UK, USA

Comfortable Stay at a Good Price

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Much better than the local chain hotels (Travel Lodge or Premier Inn) for about the same price. Great location near city center.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Unhappy from London

Very disappointing

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sign outside says "4* Boutique Hotel", that's really not what you get. The room we were in was in very poor condition and the hallways and general areas weren't much better. To the point where the wallpaper in the room was ripped, discoloured and damp looking white marks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Nick Collins from Suffolk

Great way to stop 1/2 way to Scotland

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
What can I say, lovely place, helpful staff, big room, great place to stop enroute to Scotland. We had a executive double, and paid extra for roll out bed for our daughter, room was fantastic and a massive bathroom. Room number 19. £100 for bed and full English breakfast for us all, which is on par with Premier Inn price, but a class above. Will stay again when we go back to Scotland to see our friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abbi from London

Excellent Staff

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere (especially at Christmas), comfortable rooms (we stay in a Junior Suite), breakfasts and the staff.
Cons: A small safe in the bedroom would be useful. A slightly more adventurous wine list.
Location: Central location in Darlington. Near some good small shops and wine bars.
Stayed for 3 nights over Christmas. Meal on Christmas Eve was good, better than last year. Breakfasts are very good. We would have found a small safe in the bedroom very useful. Bed was comfy, and the bathroom was large and warm. The hotel offers excellent value, but what always makes our stays here so enjoyable are the staff. They are charming and helpful and will always go that extra mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
shower head too low for a tall person
4 out of 5
Recommended
by J&M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from Cheshire, UK

Excellent hotel.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Quality service and friendly polite staff. Nice bar, gardens and restaurant. Great breakfast.
Location: 10-15 minute walk from the station or a £5 taxi. Right next to the town centre and a short walk to the park.
Really good service, nice surroundings and good food. A nice change from the large hotel chains and superb value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good service

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good, reliable hotel that has a central location for Darlington
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A most suitable hotel for most travellers

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: The overall service
Cons: The noisy bar and restaurant
Location: Fairly central in town, with easy access to the town and shopping centre, bus routes and the railway station
We use this hotel several times a year for guests visiting us. As octogenarians we do not wish visiting friends and relatives to stay with us. We have invariably found this hotel to be most suitable and all our guests having stayed there appear to be very satisfied and ask to stay there at another occasion. Both the bar and the restaurant can be crowded, and it is advisable to book a table in advance. In common with most restaurants it can be noisy. In good weather a fair sized garden provides additional spaces. All hotel staff are very well trained, extremely helpful and courteous. Overall the hotel is competitive, when compared with hotels of the same standard and quality. A hotel owned wellness centre, open to residents is located close by.