Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

the location was very good so central

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: I really liked the location
Cons: the room temprature it was so hot in the hotel
my stay at the hotel was really good however two things it was a bit confusing trying to get to your room because of the layout of the hotel which can't really be helped and also the heat in the hotel was immense -
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: good central location
Cons: structure of the building is somewhat confusing to negotiate but not sure how that could be rectified without a complete overhaul
Good central location; bit of a hike from reception to the fourth floor room - especially if you hate lifts. Seemed quite quiet tho there was some kind of noisy air-conditioning unit type thing that came on promptly every morning at 8am and seemed to stay on until exactly 6pm. No long lies in that room. Staff helpful when room key didn't work but did briefly encounter a rather brusque member of reception staff during my stay. Didn't eat there so can't comment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really good central location

Posted May 2, 2014
Decor throughout hotel really good room very spacious all little added extras in bathroom but missing shower gel when asked for chamber maid said sorry none left room was really noisy it was above air conditioning unit room 359 apart from that we would definitely stay there again but ask for a room on other side
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KB from Manchester UK

Great Value

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Really nice rooms and very quiet
Cons: Parking is very limited but free
Location: Great base to explore Yorkshire Moors and across to the coast
Lovely clean hotel, great friendly staff and beautifully decorated. The bar is great value with amazing cocktails, even better at happy hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great location comfortable rooms & friendly staff
3 out of 5
by Bob from London

Adequate town centre hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Disappointed with the early closing of the restaurant and bar.
Location: There is a good Indian restaurant called Reema and next door is the Twenty 2 which is one of Darlington's nicer pubs.
Well situated in the centre of Darlington near to pubs and restaurants but still quiet enough. My fourth floor room involved a long walk and several flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend Break

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Value for Money and location.
Cons: nothing really.
Location: city Centre location, direct access to shopping centre, opposite Wetherspoons for breakfast.
Excellent value for money. Great location, underground parking for free.. happy hour in Bar from 5 til 7 including cocktails. Cant fault it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice room.

Posted Dec 26, 2013
We stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting family in the area. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated and the room had a nice big bath. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed when we visited so we ate in the bar one night. It was a bit lacking in atmosphere. The hotel is right in the centre of the town and unfortunately this meant that we were kept wake from street noise. Would stay there again - it's reasonably priced and a good option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GK from London

Best Mercure I've stayed in

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in various Mercure hotels before and often find them rooted in a bygone age, and not in a good way, but this was excellent. I was very impressed by the staff who were friendly, helpful and polite from the receptionist to the cleaning staff. The bathrooms and rooms are modern and the TV has Freeview and not the stupid Accor TV system that can usually be found. There was a big party on when I stayed so I got room service and the menu was a bit of a disappointment - very limited and very predictable, with a pretty unjustifiable £5 tray charge. If it had fridges in the rooms and nicer carpets I'd have given it 5.