Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West yorkshire

Brilliant reception staff

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Cons: Reception staff are amazing and the bar food was excellent
Location: Fantastic base for Durham, Newcastle and Metro at Gateshead -
This was our 4th stay at the Ramside our room was very comfortable and had a nice d├ęcor. It was just the bathroom that let it down a little ( A little tired round the bath taps and door handle) But the reception staff are some of the most helpful we ever encountered (we stop in hotels a lot with my husbands business) The bar food was excellent good value and very good quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Albans

Superb

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Just a one night stay, but everything excellent. Superb room, superb food, what else does one need
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CDMfrom Hereford

Quiet location near A1(M) Durham

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Ramside was very comfortable and spacious, surrounded by its golf course which made it very quiet, at least during the week when we were there.Our only disappointment was with the level of general lighting in the room, which seemed a bit gloomy, although specific task lighting was OK. The location was perfect for me, as it is easy to get into the city by car or bus, and to get to Sunderland, where I had business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom england

Lovely quiet hotel, very relaxing

Posted Sep 15, 2014
This hotel was amazing, I had a delux twin overlooking the golf range, view was lovely, the rOom was well Stocked with all I needed, breakfast good, and reasonable for a hotel at 12.99. The staff were very welcoming , and went above and out of their way to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
limited ventilation by opening the window but fortunately the evening was cool; the room was clean , quiet and roomy; it was somewhat difficult to find this resort without GPS and a fair distance from downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosiefrom Wiltshire

Great stay

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location and surroundings. WiFi in room kept dropping out which was a let down. The Pemberton's Carvery could have been better more tables with proper dining chairs rather than the bench seating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

BEST NIGHTS SLEEP

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
USED TO PREMIER INN, THIS HOTEL WAS WAY BETTER AND MORE COMFY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorridge

Nice hotel, better than it looks

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and great staff.
Cons: Overall facelift with new carpets in particular needed.
Nice hotel, better than the dated look, particularly on the outside. Staff were lovely particularly in the restaurant where we had a nice meal. Very comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lorrainefrom Devon

Delightful from start to finish

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked three nights here for a "city" break in Durham. We were thrilled by the welcome we received from the reception staff after our long drive from Devon.Our room on the 2nd floor was lovely, an enormous 7ft bed, flat screen tv, and plenty of room to move around. We had our supper in the dining room & had the "carvery" which was excellent, a choice of 3 different meats, and a varied selection of fresh cooked vegetables and potatoes. There are also quite a few other options, including fish dishes and a veretarian option. There is also a more formal restaurant offering a very varied menu at reasonable prices. The hotel is approx half a mile from the park & ride for Durham city centre, and this proved very useful, as the streets of Durham are very narrow in places, and parking is very limited. heartily recomend this establishment which was delightful from start to finish, and the staff were a credit to the hotel. Thank you. We will return