Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West yorkshire

Brilliant reception staff

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Cons: Reception staff are amazing and the bar food was excellent
Location: Fantastic base for Durham, Newcastle and Metro at Gateshead -
This was our 4th stay at the Ramside our room was very comfortable and had a nice d├ęcor. It was just the bathroom that let it down a little ( A little tired round the bath taps and door handle) But the reception staff are some of the most helpful we ever encountered (we stop in hotels a lot with my husbands business) The bar food was excellent good value and very good quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Albans

Superb

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Just a one night stay, but everything excellent. Superb room, superb food, what else does one need
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom england

Lovely quiet hotel, very relaxing

Posted Sep 15, 2014
This hotel was amazing, I had a delux twin overlooking the golf range, view was lovely, the rOom was well Stocked with all I needed, breakfast good, and reasonable for a hotel at 12.99. The staff were very welcoming , and went above and out of their way to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorridge

Nice hotel, better than it looks

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and great staff.
Cons: Overall facelift with new carpets in particular needed.
Nice hotel, better than the dated look, particularly on the outside. Staff were lovely particularly in the restaurant where we had a nice meal. Very comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lorrainefrom Devon

Delightful from start to finish

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked three nights here for a "city" break in Durham. We were thrilled by the welcome we received from the reception staff after our long drive from Devon.Our room on the 2nd floor was lovely, an enormous 7ft bed, flat screen tv, and plenty of room to move around. We had our supper in the dining room & had the "carvery" which was excellent, a choice of 3 different meats, and a varied selection of fresh cooked vegetables and potatoes. There are also quite a few other options, including fish dishes and a veretarian option. There is also a more formal restaurant offering a very varied menu at reasonable prices. The hotel is approx half a mile from the park & ride for Durham city centre, and this proved very useful, as the streets of Durham are very narrow in places, and parking is very limited. heartily recomend this establishment which was delightful from start to finish, and the staff were a credit to the hotel. Thank you. We will return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

Well organised convenient good quality hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness, food. Simultaneous unnoticed organisation, three weddings and other visitors all at the same time
Cons: Room lighting, shower head arrangement.
Location: Excellent location for Durham, Cumbria and Northumbrian attractions
Excellent , rooms available on time for check in. Breakfasts grand Steaks good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike Hughesfrom Northants

Fantastic Stay

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was perfectly located, very close to Durham which had some great restaurants and the A1(m) but no noise from the motorway. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Perhaps a walk in shower rather than one over a bath would have been better especially for shorter people but it suited us ok. The most exciting bit is that after Spring 2015 a huge new Spa centre is being added - almost doubling the size of the hotel - we will be returning to try that out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very good, even if you dont like golf!

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant stay, plenty of food choices, golf, tv channels etc. Wifi is free but i could not pick a decent signal up, wifi or cellular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by keithfrom sunderland

just as expected

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was just as you would expect from this standard of hotel. Polite and friendly receptionist. The room was nice and comfy. We ate at the Rib room, if you like steaks and don't mind paying a price for them, I would recommend booking a table. Great choice of meat cuts and wine to go along side them. Its not cheap but well worth treating yourselves to it.