Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Nice hotel and close to city centre

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Couldn't get parked up as building work being done and spaces were limited. Checked in and told pool was closed, which was disappointing as was looking forward to some relaxing pool time..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a kink to work out in the electric

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: All good.
Cons: Just my comments regarding wiring.
Location: We stayed for a university open day so that was all we really saw.
We stayed in the new wing of the hotel. Very nice but there was no way of turning off the main ceiling lights just leaving on the side lamps, in both rooms we booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply the best

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Durham historical city is great place to go
We had a great stay at Ramside (one of my favourite hotels). From the staff in reception who are amongst the best I have encountered to the room staff who all speak to you, the staff are great. We stayed in one of their new premier rooms which was absolutely superb. I would rate this hotel as 10 out of 10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

An excellent hotel with few negatives.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Excellent facilities - helpful staff - lovely bedroom. e
Cons: Better lighting in the bedroom - bedside lights were so dim it was almost impossible to read.
Location: N/A as were up for Graduation so didn't have time to explore
We arrived and were booked in quickly and efficiently. We had a lovely afternoon tea and dinner in the Carvery. Staff were friendly and helpful when I rang to complain about the noisy disco from the Marquee - they did get it turned down but said Expedia should have told us about it - we had a ground floor room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Newbury

Lovely place, great shower!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location, proximity to Durham centre, definite 4* standards, welcome, staff generally, breakfast choice and the most powerful shower I've had in years
Cons: Parking was a bit limited as it's a golf club too, food quality could be improved despite the good choice.
Location: Great for golf no doubt, if you're that way inclined, and Durham is packed full of things to do and restaurants to choose from.
This was such a find, I just hope the prices stay where they are, as we will be returning when we next have to drop off or collect our daughter from Durham Uni - 10 mins drive to her digs and a lovely oasis to return to. The welcome was very pleasant in quite a busy reception, and the room was good, exactly as per the website. The shower was the best I've had in a long time - I didn't want to get out, it was so invigorating! Breakfast was a very wide selection from the buffet, with the only minor grievance being that the tables in the main eating area were full so they put us in the next room, which was clearly a rather soulless function room, but we soon found a space in the main area so all was well. All in all, the best place I have found for our regular trips to and from the Uni, I just wish I'd found it earlier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks

On university review for my son

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Very good size rooms and beds Excellent hotel
Cons: Very expensive
Location: Visited to check out university
Hotel superb. Stayed here while reviewing Durham Uni. Great place but generally very expensive for food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Nice room, clean and tidy. Being on the bottom corridor we had a lot of noise from other guests as they walked through, throughout both nights we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax

beautiful hotel in grounds

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: the setting
Location: 3 miles from the historic town of Durham
relaxing stay in a lovely setting. food in the rib room restaurant was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent

nice hotel and close to everything

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: a lovely hotel
Cons: no
Location: going to durham and beamish museum
very nice hotel nice and the staff are very good and friendly and very
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Rochester kent

Curate's Egg?

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent room; arriving at old reception could do with notice/signage to new reception. Breakfasts excellent. Let down a little by Luxury Fish & Chips with soggy and large chips and very poor quality baked Alaska - perhaps it was because it was a Sunday