Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Excellent Hotel in every way

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good all round location 30 mins to Sunderland coast line, five mins into Durham with its many heritage sites.
Had to travel to the Sunderland for a funeral, picked Ramside Hotel as a last resort as there was little else available, thank goodness we did, a super hotel in every aspect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice golf/wedding/ holiday hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. Carvery restaurant reasonable price, food Ok. Main restaurant food great but expensive when you add veg and potato on. Extensive building going on at side of hotel, but not intrusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Wonderful Experience

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The room was large, well equipped and decorated. Great dinner and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stopped there because of distance from our destination. Durham looked like a great town, but we didn't have the time to explore.
This hotel is top notch. Restaurants great, room beautiful. Wish we were there longer. They offer golf packages. Definitely recommend that als0
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but could be so much better

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Golf course
Cons: Water flow and information
This is a 4 star hotel but some things let it down. The room we got was comfortable and quite big. No a/c though so I imagine it may get quite hot. The bathroom was modern and clean but the shower flow was pitiful. The information for guests in the room was non existent and we had to look at the web page just to find out what dining was available. The hotel caters for weddings so is quite busy and noisy at times. Drunk people make lots of noise in the corridor and we were constantly wakened until about 3:30 in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK, current building works; not really exclusive

Posted Jul 2, 2015
No particular issues with our one night stay. Slightly put off by the extent of building work going on currently and a somewhat off-hand receptionist on arrival. The hotel was much bigger, and less exclusive, than the website had given me to believe, with a very popular and busy carvery. For this reason, I would really question the value of rooms at the headline price, although with a 'last minute' discount, OK. So would recommend to a friend as 'buy with caution'. Very handy for the Park and Ride into Durham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Nice hotel and close to city centre

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Couldn't get parked up as building work being done and spaces were limited. Checked in and told pool was closed, which was disappointing as was looking forward to some relaxing pool time..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a kink to work out in the electric

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: All good.
Cons: Just my comments regarding wiring.
Location: We stayed for a university open day so that was all we really saw.
We stayed in the new wing of the hotel. Very nice but there was no way of turning off the main ceiling lights just leaving on the side lamps, in both rooms we booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply the best

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Durham historical city is great place to go
We had a great stay at Ramside (one of my favourite hotels). From the staff in reception who are amongst the best I have encountered to the room staff who all speak to you, the staff are great. We stayed in one of their new premier rooms which was absolutely superb. I would rate this hotel as 10 out of 10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

An excellent hotel with few negatives.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Excellent facilities - helpful staff - lovely bedroom. e
Cons: Better lighting in the bedroom - bedside lights were so dim it was almost impossible to read.
Location: N/A as were up for Graduation so didn't have time to explore
We arrived and were booked in quickly and efficiently. We had a lovely afternoon tea and dinner in the Carvery. Staff were friendly and helpful when I rang to complain about the noisy disco from the Marquee - they did get it turned down but said Expedia should have told us about it - we had a ground floor room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Newbury

Lovely place, great shower!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location, proximity to Durham centre, definite 4* standards, welcome, staff generally, breakfast choice and the most powerful shower I've had in years
Cons: Parking was a bit limited as it's a golf club too, food quality could be improved despite the good choice.
Location: Great for golf no doubt, if you're that way inclined, and Durham is packed full of things to do and restaurants to choose from.
This was such a find, I just hope the prices stay where they are, as we will be returning when we next have to drop off or collect our daughter from Durham Uni - 10 mins drive to her digs and a lovely oasis to return to. The welcome was very pleasant in quite a busy reception, and the room was good, exactly as per the website. The shower was the best I've had in a long time - I didn't want to get out, it was so invigorating! Breakfast was a very wide selection from the buffet, with the only minor grievance being that the tables in the main eating area were full so they put us in the next room, which was clearly a rather soulless function room, but we soon found a space in the main area so all was well. All in all, the best place I have found for our regular trips to and from the Uni, I just wish I'd found it earlier!