Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel in relaxing surroundings

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The situation for perfect for visiting nearby family
Cons: wi-fi very intermittent and not available in parts of the hotel.
Location: We enjoyed the location, I went for a walk in the grounds We visited the Metro Centre and Durham City.
I stayed with my daughter who fell in love with the cream teas. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Allan

Nice but tired and noisey

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Good pool and location for our visit.
Cons: Put wedding parties all on the same floor.
We stayed in the old wing last year and it was lovely. Our stay this time was in a room in the new part of the hotel. Whilst being comfortable, it was "tired". The wedding party at the hotel spoilt our stay. Banging on our bedroom door at 1.45AM, running down the corridor. Shouting, screaming and generally badly behaved. These were tennagers, not adults. The children woke us at at 7.00AM, with similar conduct. We told the receptionist, who apologised and comfirmed that the "party" had not gone without problems.
2 out of 5
by P from Herts

Tired

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and happy anniversary tarts was a kind gesture after meal
Cons: Internal redecoration
Hotel decor is tired and needs freshening up. Room 2 is directly above the kitchen generators which stay on 24x7 and kept us awake most of the night. The staff were all friendly but sadly this does not justify its 4 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Serene and idealic environment.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pleasantly English. had a great dinner at the restaurant. Don't forget to book a table early if you want to eat in the restaurant in the evening. It was full for dinner throughout our four-day stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy room!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
The spa facilities were very good and the staff were very accommodating. The hotel however was rather disappointing. My room was filthy, in particular the bathroom and I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debbie from Cheshire

Good location for North East attractions

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Good setting and very comfortable room. Good location for road links to get around.
Location: Would be great in the better weather to stroll around the grounds. Visited Shildon railway museum, Durham, Darlington and family in Sunderland.
Warm welcome, very comfortable room with good choice of refreshments. Breakfast buffet style was good in choice but hot choices could have been a bit hotter. Staff very friendly and didn't get time to visit the spa, from a distance it looked good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No lifts, and a lot of stairs,

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Cons: helpfulness of staff
I had two heavy bags and was put in the furthest away room with tons of stairs and no lifts. Room was freezing with no heating controls, did my back in getting to the room that is after a 5 minute walk from the car park. Staff really unhelpful and they have a ridiculous £5 room service charge! Wont be staying again, it's a shame as it is a beautiful building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Family travellers from Australia

Great room

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two days over new year. We had a room in the old part of the hotel at the very top overlooking the entrance. I must dmit it was a bit of a mission getting to the room but it was worth it. The room and bathroom were modern and huge, large tv and comfortable. Only complaint I have is at the ny ball while eating, the music was so loud it made it very difficult to converse with the people at our table. Hotel food and staff were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jaxxxvint from Bedfordshire

Fabulous & Friendly

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was excellent apart from just a short wait to be seated for breakfast as hotel was busy and it seemed everyone chose to arrive at the same time. All staff very friendly and welcoming.
3 out of 5
by Mike from sussex, UK

Not suitable for business

Posted Nov 25, 2013
WiFi did not work No mobile phone signal Extortionate land line prices Wattage of room lights too low to read. Layout more tortuous than a maze. But the service at dinner was very friendly and efficient.