Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Middlesbrough

A wedding venue conveyor belt.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Bought an upgrade to delux room which was quite small and made smaller by the ceiling being the slope of the roof at one end. One small narrow window plus velux window. Bathroom was 5* , breakfast good but evening meal was limited and expensive for what it was. All in all not value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunderland

Gorgeous hotel with original features

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Efficient, friendly, great food, clean and loved the original features
Cons: More bar staff at busy times - there was a bit of a wait during the day to be served when it was busy.
We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our friend's 50th birthday. There were 24 of us in total and there was also a wedding on at the same time so the hotel was very busy. However, check in was very efficient and most of the rooms were ready for us. We booked a standard room and it was in the original part of the hotel. It was really quite large as was the bathroom and was immaculate. I loved how the windows were set into the original stonework of the hall with what looked like the original (or at least very old!) iron frames. I also loved how there were sockets underneath the main mirror - something so simple but makes a massive difference to people drying their hair for a night out! In the old part of the hotel, the rooms can only be accessed by quite a few stairs, so if you have problems using stairs, you don't want to be in this part of the hall. Some of our friends had rooms in the newer part of the hotel and they were equally as impressed with the rooms. Our meal on the night was really lovely and the breakfast was amazing with lots of choice - full English buffet, continental with cereals and lots of fruit to choose from. The plates provided were quite small so you had to stack your plate high if you didn't want to keep going back to fill up!! The hotel were very accommodating with our friends when organising the night - and so we all had a great time.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Ok hotel would benefit from a makeover

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Location: Good location not far from A1 and good access to North Yorkshire
Hotel seemed a bit tired. It has rather an odd lay out, with the dining room in the middle (no windows) and the leisure facilities in a different section accessed via narrow stairway and corridor. The food was ok, nothing special so we ate elsewhere on our second night there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Yorkshire

Spa break.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel is easy to get to off the A1 and is set in its own grounds. Plenty of car parking at the back of the hotel amongst the trees.
Cons: The dining experience would have probably been better in the older side of the restaurant.
Location: Durham is only 20 minutes away and is great for the shops and sites.
Booked for a Spa treatment for the wife as a treat and an evening meal. Spa treatment and facilities were very good as was the quality of the evening meal. The room was spacious and comfortable with a super king bed. The spa bath in our room was an unexpected bonus. We used the Health Club facilities which was also very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing overnight stay

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Cons: £9.95 for a glass of Chardonnay from the hotel bar was a bit steep
Location: Locomotion at Shildon is very close by, & interesting
A special birthday treat for my wife, so I pushed the boat out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north yorkshire

A relaxing break

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The staff and the restaurant.
Cons: The lift system. It's baffling.
Location: In summer it would be nice to wander in the grounds but not in December. Durham is about 10 miles away with a good park n ride.
A lovely old hotel that has charm. They have built a new accommodation block which compared to the old part is lacking in any redeeming features. However my room was clean and functional with a fabulous shower. The restaurant was really good and no more expensive than places in towns. A very good wine list as well. The staff are really helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The bar is a nice relaxing place to sit and have a sandwich and drink and read the paper. A good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom yorkshire

utiful building and reception area set in woodland

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: historic character building
Cons: clear indication as to what extra facilities are surcharged.
Location: museums and Durham nearby.
comfortable stay but unsure what facilities were surcharged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Some problems, but would give it another go

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally good ambiance around the hotel, but my room had recently been repainted (mostly) and recarpeted and on arrival it was still very smelly from this. As it was on the ground floor and the security bars on the windows weren't working, there was no way to ventilate it except when sitting in the room with the heating on full blast to combat the cold air. The refurb could have done with fixing broken tiles and replacing grouting in the bathroom too. The free wifi service was the slowest I have encountered in a developed country for many a year - possibly a ruse to encourage you to upgrade to the premium paid service, but even a free service shouldn't drop out every couple of minutes and should offer speed close to what is claimed. Having said all this I would give the hotel another chance if I was in the area - as noted, the general ambiance was good (the food too), and the staff welcoming. I just hope I don't have the same room problems or need to use the wifi!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mikefrom Merseyside

Looks impressive but service was poor

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very impressed on arrival at the grandeur of the hotel, the room was large and nicely furnished however the service was poor. Usually at least even the reception is friendly but I just seemed to get miserable faces from all staff. When I lost my room key in the changing rooms the staff disinterest was palpable. Gym and Pool were both very good. Restaurant was nice but pricey, breakfast was average. Facilities 4.0, service 2.0.