Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middle of France

A taste of Castle but...

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The building is impressive first. A huge mansion build some 400 years ago or so. The room was really vast with a comfortable bed but... Absolutely no flexibility of the room service (we checked in pretty late and ordered food 4 min after the 22:00 limit but were only authorized the night menu). No fridge in the room--an empty furniture obviously supposed to hide was present though--and some of the appliances were in bad shape (broken mirror for example).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford, uk

Stately entrance facade

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Facade and gardens
Cons: Rooms and interior decor could use an update
Location: Durham
There is a beautiful looking hotel, with a lovely facade and gardens. Facilities are good, rooms are a good size and its fabulously quiet given its off road location. The rooms themselves are a little dated and tired, but are clean...through perhaps somewhat dark given all those energy saving bulbs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel in relaxing surroundings

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The situation for perfect for visiting nearby family
Cons: wi-fi very intermittent and not available in parts of the hotel.
Location: We enjoyed the location, I went for a walk in the grounds We visited the Metro Centre and Durham City.
I stayed with my daughter who fell in love with the cream teas. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Allan

Nice but tired and noisey

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Good pool and location for our visit.
Cons: Put wedding parties all on the same floor.
We stayed in the old wing last year and it was lovely. Our stay this time was in a room in the new part of the hotel. Whilst being comfortable, it was "tired". The wedding party at the hotel spoilt our stay. Banging on our bedroom door at 1.45AM, running down the corridor. Shouting, screaming and generally badly behaved. These were tennagers, not adults. The children woke us at at 7.00AM, with similar conduct. We told the receptionist, who apologised and comfirmed that the "party" had not gone without problems.
2 out of 5
by P from Herts

Tired

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and happy anniversary tarts was a kind gesture after meal
Cons: Internal redecoration
Hotel decor is tired and needs freshening up. Room 2 is directly above the kitchen generators which stay on 24x7 and kept us awake most of the night. The staff were all friendly but sadly this does not justify its 4 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Serene and idealic environment.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pleasantly English. had a great dinner at the restaurant. Don't forget to book a table early if you want to eat in the restaurant in the evening. It was full for dinner throughout our four-day stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy room!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
The spa facilities were very good and the staff were very accommodating. The hotel however was rather disappointing. My room was filthy, in particular the bathroom and I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Travelling Steve from Kent

The disappointment is in the detail...

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clearly the management of this hotel doesn't read or act on feedback from their customers. During my stay I recognised so many of the comments listed here in my own experience of this hotel. Yes, this is a smart hotel in a nice location. But it's the little things that make a hotel a 4 star experience at a 4 star price. Finding our room was the first challenge, as the lifts in different parts of the hotel have different numbering systems for the floors, and the room numbers do not correspond to the level they are on. Our first floor room (712) had cobwebs in every corner, a non functioning TV remote, and some light bulbs which needed replacing. Yet it was smartly furnished, well laid out and had a very nice spa bath. Staff are friendly and service was excellent, but the food we ordered was mediocre at best, and very over-priced. A lamb and coriander burger was a small disk of mince lost in a much larger sour-dough bun. Beer battered cod and chips "with all the trimmings" was served with peas and a slice of lemon. This hotel could be so much nicer than the sum of it's parts if someone would only take the initiative and get the details right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Arnstein from Norway

Unprofessional staff.

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
In general nice, but the staff was not very professional. Seems like they have hired all local house wife's to do the work at the hotel. This could have been a very nice experience with the final touch as you would expect from a nice place like this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Morag from Edinburgh

Lovely gardens and grounds

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a stop over after a long journey. We found it very relaxing in a very comfortable room. Excellent leisure facilities unfortunately didn't have time to use them this time. This is our fourth visit and we have been very happy with Redworth Hall.