Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

useful bed and breakfast whilst travelling.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: convenient and good breakfast
Just a sleeping and breakfast stop for a family of 3. Staff stayed up until we arrived which was appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dunfermline, Fife.

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Cons: A lick of paint and the carpets cleaned (not they were too bad). There was one room being re-decorated while I was there.
Only stayed one night. You get what you pay for in this world and for what I paid to stay here it was worth it. Rooms are out the back of the inn, in a courtyard style type area. The room was clean and tidy. Bed sheets were clean and the beds quite comfy. The place could do with a bit of touch up here and there but all in it was good enough for what I needed and that was a place too sleep. Breakfast was included, a choice of cereals, toast or full english if you desire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient economy B&B close to Durham

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: location, quiet & peaceful, really good food on offer at reasonable prices.
Cons: pillows were a tad thin - not uncommon in my B&B experience.
clean and well presented rooms, good sized bathroom / WC, friendly staff. Very good cooked breakfast each morning and the chance of a good pint of beer (or alternatives) in the evening. Nice quiet village location but close to main routes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A Polizzifrom UK

Friendly Service.

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want a bargain break for a bargain price with friendly staff and a fantastic breakfast then book at the Bay Horse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
A bit basic and dated, but friendly staff and good value. Well placed for exploring Durham, Hadrians Wall, etc. Breakfast was good. We would be happy to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by neil bridgesfrom sheffield

bay horse

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robfrom Oxford

Affordable and spacious

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for one night on the way up to Scotland. Very reasonable rates for a family of three, and they even made our 1 year old daughter a special cooked breakfast. Will come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alejandrofrom Beckenham/Kent

Easy to get to and good parking

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Clean, good rates and excellent breakfast . Pub food and service of great quality. Overall I would give 9 out of 10
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike fzs 1000from Southampton

Great

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good quality food ,service & staff a clean and tidy room. Would stay again