Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by jennywren from Kent

Not what we expected

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: It was a pub not a hotel. The food was good and it had a good atmosphere in the bar. The staff were friendly.
Cons: The place needs redecorating and a lot of attention needs to be taken with regards to cleanliness. It needs bringing into the 21st centuary
Location: We were in the area visiting family so we weren't doing the touristy things.
I thought we were staying get in the pub but the accommodation was like 2 houses adjoined to it. The staff in the pub were very friendly. The room was very dated . The light fitting had not been dusted for years. The extractor fan in the bathroom was covered in cobwebs. The furniture looked tired and the smell in the hallway leading to the room w a s musty. We e had great problems closing the room door. We would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

No sleep for us!

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is well located, and reasonably priced. While the rooms are a little worn, they are clean and adequately equipped. The evening staff were helpful. The problem was the noise. I had read about that in some other reviews so called when I booked and was told that there was no event planned that evening so all would be fine. There was no event as far as we could see, but there was a lock in which lasted until about 3am, with associated bass boom of music and singing. None of us got any sleep!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Suburban B&B

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and room rates.
Cons: There should be some description in the room of how things work at the hotel: heating, towel and linen changes, local information, etc.
Location: Nothing to do except the in-house pub, kind of noisy until about midnight.
On-line details were a bit confusing about number of beds in room, but it turned out OK. Hotel was fine for short stay. Bus stops close by to go into town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Great bar but rooms a bit scruffy

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
After a long day travelling I was a bit disappointed by my room. The TV was stuck on ITV3 and I couldnt get it to work. That said I thought the barman/receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and the steak for dinner was lovely. Sadly the room wasn't great so I will be searching around for an alternative next time Im in the Durham area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted May 20, 2013
No staff responded to the on-going disturbances between mid night and 2:30am caused by two adults. It was left to a guest to call the police to resolve the situation. Although a note was placed under the door at about 3am from the management, this was totally inadequate.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mdt from Darlington, UK

very handy hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2013
Pros: Accommodating friendly staff, clean room reasonable location to city centre
Location: nice quiet area of Durham, ample parking and short drive into city centre
Very friendly and accommodating staff, they were very welcoming as It was a last minute booking and the booking had not yet come through to them, very comfortable room for my quick visit. Although located on the outskirts of Durham it is only a quick taxi ride into Durham
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MB

Easy access to Durham centre

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pleasant pub B&B with friendly staff. It's a bit outside Durham, but there are frequent buses that stop pretty much directly outside and take less than 10 mins into the city centre. Hotel breakfast is generous and the coffee satisfyingly thick and strong.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Steven

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
This inn is 2 stars because the food was good, and the place was clean somehow. It looked nice but rather shabby, there were no toiletries in the en suite. The inn is not near any shops or restaurants. There was no internet and no room service. The television was just a radio: a screen-it was not working. The bed that my daughter slept next to had a radiator that was boiling hot and the room was stifling. It was a restless night of fitful sleep, for the bar downstairs were constantly laughing and talking and we could hear it quite clearly and outside there were a fair amount of cars and sirens. On the other hand, the food was quite good, and the prices very satisfying but the water was expensive. Breakfast was the same (but included in the price of your stay), but the process of giving us the food was very slow as there was only one waitress.