Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Did what a hotel should do.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Just a general 'revamp' - new bathroom and bedroom fittings. The shower could certainly have been better!
Location: It is a perfect hotel if you are catching an early morning flight. Probably the only reason people would book it.
The hotel was clean and comfortable if a little 'tired'. It did the job, was just what I needed! Despite being very close to the airport I only heard one plane and as that was 6.30am I was awake already.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

quiet and near family

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: quiet room
Location: very good location..in the country side in spite of being in an airport but near major roads
have stayed here before and it is excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Value Hotel near local airport

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: It had a nostalgic atmosphere that made up for the fact that it is an old RAF building converted into a hotel.
Cons: Everything could be improved from furnishing to food but then it would not be a low cost hotel and would loose its authentic 1940's feel and décor.
Location: The only thing nearby is the local airport but you can drive to tourist attractions in the north east which are available in information racks.
The hotel is next to the local airport in Darlington but it is not noisy due to the few planes that take off on its 4 mile runway. The hotel was the Canadian Lancaster RAF officers building and has lots of references to this time. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the Dinner is basic pub grub. This is a 3 star value hotel with free parking and internet. There is a statue of a WWII airman in the entrance and pictures of planes on the walls that give it a unique charm if you want to experience what it was like to be based there in 1942.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

Good Value

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly
Cons: Redecoration
Quiet location. Helpful staff and our deal included breakfast so it was very good value for a short stay. Room was very clean but 'tired'. Would not want to sleep on the cheap mattress for more than a couple of nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beds

Nostalgic visit

Posted May 9, 2015
Choose to stay at this hotel because my husbands uncle was stationed there during the war. Nice comfortable place to stay. Food was good, within easy reach of Darlington.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Quiet hotel.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Peaceful.
Cons: In need of complete renovation.
Location: On the outskirts of Darlington.
The St George has seen better days and is in need of refurbishment but is quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Room size is huge for this kind of money. Free wifi and free parking.
Cons: If I am going to be picky, furniture may be a little outdated.
Nice big rooms. Quiet although a walking distance from airport. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I'm sad that they are letting things slip.....

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Its old fashioned - a nostalgia trip for any one who has lived in an Officers' Mess.
Cons: They really need to get their housekeeping sorted out. Hot taps that need a washer changed, loose loo seats, broken bulbs etc = poor management.
I like this hotel because I am nostalgic for when I lived in an Ex-RAF pre war Officers Mess. When I first stayed there, I was inclined to ignore the small defects, but now, after a number of visits, the small points that ought to be picked up by effective management are more apparent. Light bulbs in the rooms are broken, this time my loo seat was falling off, and the hot tap on the bathroom sink barely worked because the washer was knackered. It's a shame, and it wont stop me from staying there again, but it is possibly indicative that the place has financial problems - or a house manager who is less than hard working. Of course the location is not that beautiful, but all in all, I have stayed in far worse places for far greater prices. There is a lot to commend the hotel for ancient old warriors like me out on business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Friendly, Quirky Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: All the staff, very accomodating & very friendly. Power of the shower great, beds comfy.
Cons: Heating needs a bit of a review but was sorted for me. Need to be able to use restaurant in the evening, even if limited menu to get away from the bar
Location: At the airport so not scenic but great access to the whole of the North East.
This hotel is very convenient for the airport and all major routes in the North East. It is quirky and a little old fashioned in it's facilities and decor but has a great sense of history as it was a mess for the RAF. The hotel staff a excellent, very friendly and rightly proud of the history behind their building. A huge bonus is that they welcome pets in all parts of the hotel but you wouldn't know from entering the building, no pet hair everywhere or smelling of animals. This isn't the most modern hotel but it was clean and the bed was comfortable, plenty of hot water and the power of the shower rates much higher than most modern hotels I've stayed in over the years. Room was a bit cold when I got there but the duty manger did sought that out for me. Breakfast is very good, plenty to choose from. There was only meals available in the bar when I was there, which wouldn't be suitable if you were entertaining guests, especially as there is a pool table with a huge TV screen that some guests seem to use a lot and can be a bit obtrusive if you are looking for a quiet drink. None the less, I was happy to sit there on my own with a drink and book & felt comfortable. Excellent value for money if you get a deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Langley, Slough

Far from Middlesbrough

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: quiet roads nearby
Cons: improve facilities in the room, position of the TV would be better hanged on the wall and definitely the room needs refurbishment
Location: not that much as you have to drive to the nearest village/town
Again this is the second time I stayed in this hotel and still the same comment apply, the room has not been hoovered, outdated equipment, for my two days stay in two occasions I have to ask for more tea bags, someone decided on my behalf one tea bag a day would be enough, I had to ask at the reception for couple more tea bags. I should not have to do ask, twice.