Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Good enough hotel is this small town.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The rich history.
Cons: Hotel is at end of life. Needs to be rebuilt.
Location: Angel Fire Ski area.
Electrical floor heating continuously pop, pinged and cracked throughout the night. Floors would creak for neighbors walking in adjacent rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mannyfrom Denver, CO

Clean room and friendly staff/owners

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, clean room, ample towels, and a comfortable bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Too far from Taos

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel had wifi and HBO tv. The area was pretty....with a lake and mountains.
Location: It was near a lake and near mountains.It was clearly only a hunting and/or fishing destination. There were only a few stores in the small town.
Although it was listed under Taos hotels, it was nearly 1 hour away up winding roads. This small town had almost nothing open. Clearly it was only a hunting and fishing destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Evansville In.

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location was superb. The rooms great and clean. There however was not a cafe r breakfast Resturaunt to be found in that town. We left immediately for Red River.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Older but clean rooms.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We just had a one night stay at Laguna Vista and would not hesitate to stay again. It's basic but has some nice touches. It had a new TV and wifi. The only cooling is a fan and a window but had heat. Rustic but very fitting for the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Blanefrom Pearland tx

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was great but we didn't like smoke coming in from the smokers right out our front door.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by klhfrom Santa fe

Damp suite

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I entered the 2 bedroom suite (all that was available when I reserved) I noticed immediately that it was musty. i opened the windows and this helped somewhat. But in general the condition of the motel is 'old' and not updated. I would consider this a 2 star motel/lodge at best. That being said, the pluses of the accommodations were: spacious, well-stocked kitchen, state of the art tv set and very comfortable (new?) beds. I was disappointed also that the only view of the lake is through the bedroom windows. It also didn't help that a worker in front of the lodge was smoking a guitar. I did leave a day early since the mustiness bothered my allergies, though this was partially due to my forgetting some medication. Oh, and by the way, I had the best Chili Relleno I've ever had at the connected Calamity Jane Saloon/Restaurant. And the restaurant's service was outstanding. Note that the only groceries (limited) in the town are at the camp store and the gasoline station. Be sure to pick up any needed supplies in Taos or Angel Fire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nofrom Name

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
nice room, great location, one of our best stays in Eagle Nest
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodson, Texas

Surprisingly nice!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
To be honest, I didn't really expect much. It doesn't look like anything special. But once we stepped into the room, the rooms were well kept and very clean. The chairs were nice, and the beds comfortable. Everything looks older and perhaps a little dated, but it has been kept enough to not make a difference. I would definitely stay here again.