Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
The staff were wonderful - very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ILLINOIS

NICE HOTEL WITH BIG CASINO

Posted Apr 21, 2015
I ENJOYED STAYING AT THE AMERISTAR. IT WAS A NICE HOTEL WITH NICE ROOMS AND GREAT CASINO. THE STAFF WAS VERY NICE AS WELL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Petoskey, MI

The HUGE tub in bathroom loved it!!!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
This is one of best hotels I've ever stayed in and I travel quite a bit. Everyone I encounter during my stay was very helpful and nice. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous!!!!!! Book this hotel you will be so happy you did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Stopover between Toledo, OH and Minneapolis, MN.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Free valet parking. Complimentary bottled water in the refrigerator.
Location: Not to far from the Chicago Museum of Science and Industry
Close to the toll way and a floating casino within easy walking distance. Our room overlooked the parking lot but the other side of the hotel overlooked the marina. Heritage Buffet was wonderful, had a nice selection of offerings and even offered a choice of wine. Other restaurants all in the same vicinity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Every Staff member was exceptional, and James who bought our bags to our room was so funny, he had us belly laughing.
Cons: As stated above.
I love the hotel, we were in awe it is absolutely beautiful, staff was awesome. Some things I would suggest is not putting the coffee pot in the bathroom, shower bacteria can live the coffee pot which is why I did not use it. There should also be plastic bags in the trash containers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Parking is easy.
Cons: More restaurant choices. Is there any place to walk outside, with in walking distance?
Location: I work in Gary and East Chicago is the primary reason for my stays.
The staff is very helpful and willing to go the extra mile. I love having the bottled water available when I get in from a long day. The décor is always nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Why? WHY!!!Why? WHY!!!Why? WHY!!!Why? WHY!!!Why? WHY!!!Why? WHY!!!Why? WHY!!!Why? WHY!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
the staff was very cordial and accommodating to my needs, the hotel deal was a perfect value match in my opinion. I had no problem with checking in or out of the hotel and when I needed anything the staff happily helped me. I plan on going back to the same hotel next time I am in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom m

Rude staff Dirty Towels

Posted Mar 18, 2015
From the moment I arrived the young lady Shanica at the front desk was rude and short, the housekeeper in the hallway was rude she blocked the hallway giving something to another patron in a room near mines I said excused me and had to squeeze through and she didn't even acknowledge my presence. When I came down to play on the casino the Latino security guard is the only one who says HELLO! With a smile. Other than that the only bad thing was dirty towels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Very happy with my stay, impressed with the hotel staff