Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Had a wonderful time.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Stayed one night on the way home from a baseball game. Hotel was nice. Had a king size bed. Room was big. Gambled some in the casino and actually won some money. People very friendly. We will most likely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburbs

Clean. Comfortable. Wonderful staff

Posted Aug 13, 2014
I had the nonsmoking room. My experience was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Nice, Surrounding Area the Pits

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel was surrounded by factories on 3 sides, a nice beach that looks like it has never been used, the beach is on the other side of the parking garage. Forget people watching at the Casino, lets just say its not Vegas. The room and hotel were very nice and clean!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel considering location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Very clean, comfortable room.
Cons: Separate the smoking from the non-smoking section further.
Location: 22 minutes from Three Floyds Brewery.
Located in a really industrial part of town, the hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. The casino's non-smoking section wasn't separated enough from the smoking section and my clothes were smelly afterwards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Night Out

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Hotel and staff were great. The casino and the games was below par compared to others in our area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ralph from Woodstock,Il

Casinoi review

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Never go there again. I will sleep in my car first. Signs to Hotel stunk. Hotel is in the middle of the refinery's. Smells like cigarette smoke really bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Ralph, thank you so very much for your review. I'm sorry to hear your experience was less than satisfactory. I have send out casino team your comments regarding the smoke. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you reconsider staying with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Harrassed because of my child

Posted May 24, 2014
I checked in to the East Chicago Ameristar, not to gamble but for an affordable nice hotel to stay at while I attended the Yankees games at both Wrigley and US Cellular. After check-in i was refused entry to my room because my 2 year old daughter was with me. I was not granted axcess till i talked to a hotel manager to approve my child being with us. i have been to many casinos in my life and never seen one that refused children with their parents to stay in a room. I will never return to this hotel/ casino again after this issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lisa from Australia

Excellent

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were fantastic, everyone was so friendly, the doorman James & the James that settled us into our room, both excellent , when ever we came down in lift they were always there to greet us, they could not help is enough, the rooms are lovely, the surrounding area, not so nice, but out room faced the lake, so was good. Grea experience overall Lisa & Mel (Aussies)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com