Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Just brilliant

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Perfect location in the middle of all the sights making it easy to pop back to. The hotel was clean, comfortable and modern with all the usual comforts. No minibar in the room but there is a shop in reception where you can stock up on goodies and a supermarket over the road to grab other bits. Above everything was the service given by the staff. Especially Giel on reception who couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble and delivered with a smile. If going to Ghent you can't really go wrong with the Marriott. We had standard room 522 which is on the top floor with one wall of windows looking out over the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The hotel is beautiful inside and out, and is located on a stretch of canal with some of the city's most historic buildings. The staff are enormously helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

great hotel in centre of town

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were welcoming at reception and nothing seemed any trouble for anyone during our stay.
Cons: The continental breakfast is fine, but the cost of the cooked breakfast was rather high considering what was on offer.
Location: In the centre of Ghent with all the main sights within easy walking distance. There are a good number of good restaurants nearby.
We looked for somewhere in the centre of Ghent with good access to all the main attractions. This hotel ticked all the right boxes for comfort and facilities. There is said to be limited chargeable parking but a prior phone call to hotel provided a reserved space for the duration of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, UK

The Best Located Hotel in Ghent

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: What's not to like?
Cons: Inclusive breakfast, Sky TV & free, or at least reasonably priced car parking.
Location: The hotel is ideally located on Korelei, opposite Ghent's most impressive historic feature Gravelei.
The interior of the hotel has a jaw dropping modern design, with an historic canal side exterior and is located in an unbeatable central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, UK

Fantastic location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The location is 5* plus the beautiful modern design behind the old facade was a delightful mix. Every single staff member was a credit to the hotel.
Cons: The mini bar could have drinks etc in it rather than having to go downstairs to the foyer.
An excellent location for experiencing the heart of beautiful Ghent. Right next to the river with immediate access to cafes and shops and with the convenience of parking. The polite friendly staff are a real asset. They went out of their way to help and are multilingual. We were accomodated with regard to looking after some very expensive road bikes and were made to feel very comfortable and relaxed. I look forward to staying again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Ghent's historic centre is beautiful and this hotel is at the centre. Impressive interior and very comfortable room. I would recommend .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JT Y'allfrom MONS

Fantastic Hotel Shame about the Breakfast and Park

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
| really enjoyed my stay. The Hotel is fantastic, the layout is stunning shame you always have to take the lift as you do end up on random floors sometimes. The Breakfast was ok but was very expensive for what it was. The Parking was expensive when just around the corner you could get it secure parking for 11 euros a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lizbrazierfrom UK

Stunning location - bit of a struggle to find

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are roadworks everywhere in Ghent and as a consequence it took longer than it should have done to find the hotel and the drive through the city was quite stressful. Consequently, when I did arrive I was stressed and really regretting this stop over en route from Germany to Calais, this was compounded when I found out the room would not be ready until 4pm. However, the check in staff dealt calmly and politely with us and suggested we take a boat trip to relax. When we stepped out of the main hotel entrance we found ourselves on the canal in a beautiful location. After a beer and a boat cruise we checked into our room. The beds were comfortable, the air con effective, the shower hot and powerful and the bath huge. We had breakfast at the hotel and this was wonderful, my son loved being able to make his own waffles. It was a very relaxing and luxurious stop over and Ghent is a great city to visit. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Best location for a Ghent hotel, free wifi, comfy room
Location: Easy to reach by train and tram. Close to tourist centre including river and castle.
Hotel is next to the river, light and modern, staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed 3 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SteveRfrom Canberra

The place to stay!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a great hotel, although wifi took some work to get operating properly. Its a lovely hotel and while arrival address looked ordinary, once you walk out the back door you are in the heart of historical Ghent and within easy walking distance of most sights. Get a City Card and trams are included and then you also have easy access to the more distant museums. Rooms and big and well appointed and have good black out curtains. Stayed three nights and would definitely stay there when next we visit.