Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in a beautiful part of Gent.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The comfortable bed and luxurious room
Cons: The quality of the toilet paper in the bathroom and general cleanliness of the bathroom was not perfect. Hotel parking could also be cheaper / free!
Location: It seemed like the best location in Gent! Lots of restaurants and bars within 50m of the hotel. Looking out over a beautiful square.
Lots of restaurants nearby and very comfortable bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect situation for visiting Ghent

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Stayed before
Cons: More staff available at reception
Location: Excellent location
We have stayed before and will stay again. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bradford, West Yorkshire

The best hotel I have ever visited!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the ultra-comfortable room.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Wonderful position for exploring Ghent, right beside one of the rivers and beside the boat trips.
I spent a weekend, 5-7 December, in Ghent with my daughter and we are so glad we chose the Ghent Marriott. Everything about it was brilliant from checking in to checking out, and for once we felt like using the foyer area of the hotel for coffees as it was so tempting. At check in we were given our key, with our room being on the 4th floor. We asked where the stairs were as my daughter is lift phobic, and the kind Receptionist, Sharon, immediately changed our room to one on the 2nd floor instead! On the first afternoon we chose to have a coffee in the foyer area as is is such a splendid area. We were amazed when our trays arrived - with not just a latte for me and a tea for my daughter, but a jug of milk, sugar, a glass of water, a Marriott chocolate and an amazing glass of chocolate schnapps with whipped cream which was wonderful! It is no wonder we returned to repeat the experience. Lizabeth was extra friendl. Also on the first evening there was a pianist and singers in the foyer, along with the enormous Christmas tree, which made it extra special. When we sat on our beds it was like sitting on a cloud, and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time in our room, each having a larger than king size bed each. Also there was a bath, which we both appreciated. On the final morning we had breakfast at the hotel - continental, and that was as impressive as everything else. I can't praise this hotel enough - it seemed to be extremely efficiently run.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Market Harborough, UK

Smart hotel next to quayside in historic centre

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Everywhere was spotlessly clean, especially the bedrooms which were well furnished and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The Ghent Marriott hotel is ideally placed in the historic centre of Ghent. Inside it is a smart, modern hotel with a large atrium that adds a wow factor, but step outside and you are immediately on the quayside surrounded by historic old buildings and just a short walk from the castle in one direction, and the main shopping streets in the other direction. The underground car park is really convenient if you're driving, though a little pricey at €25 a day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Beautiful hotel, perfect location!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Walk out of the door and you have the river, cafés with warming fires and gluhwein, chocolate shops and a beautiful view... Inside it's peaceful and comfortable. Staff really friendly. Rooms good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenhithe

Great location!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Nice modern hotel behind an old façade overlooking the river. Fantastic location for exploring the beautiful city of Ghent. The only downside is the parking at €30 a night. The car parks that are only €11 a night that are near were totally full by lunchtime. Obviously, this can be avoided by not taking your car!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Just brilliant

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Perfect location in the middle of all the sights making it easy to pop back to. The hotel was clean, comfortable and modern with all the usual comforts. No minibar in the room but there is a shop in reception where you can stock up on goodies and a supermarket over the road to grab other bits. Above everything was the service given by the staff. Especially Giel on reception who couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble and delivered with a smile. If going to Ghent you can't really go wrong with the Marriott. We had standard room 522 which is on the top floor with one wall of windows looking out over the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandrafrom Brentwood, TN

Good Stay for Us.

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a great stay for us. Location was perfect, easy access to all the sights. Staff was very helpful, attentive, and always smiling. Our room was clean and comfortable. Room service food was ok, chicken not cooked enough in Caesar salad, but hamburger was good. Bar service was good, though you had to get staff's attention first. overnight parking is very steep, the highest we paid in Belgium. Overall, this was a good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cfrom london

Love it!

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel in great location.