Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great location to explore Ghent by foot

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The hotel's rooms are on the quiet and scenic side of the building The hotel is about 50 ft from the large town square.
Location: Walking distances to may restaurants and shops.
The hotel looks like many other local hotels from outside, but the room we got was modern and roomy. The front desk help was professional and helpful. We got room 212, which was away from the elevator and faced the canal on the back of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Comfortable Hotel in good position

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: 3rd floor breakfast restaurant.
Cons: Door between bar and ground floor rooms to lessen the noise
Location: A few steps away from the Vrijdagmarkt with some bars and restaurants. Easy walk to the other attractions.
Excellent position within walking distance of major attractions. Rooms are comfortable but avoid the ground floor rooms as these are close to reception and bar and are VERY noisy. Lovely light and airy 3rd floor breakfast restaurant with vies across the rooftops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge

Good hotel near to city centre.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Good clean rooms, central location, easy parking in underground parking nearby.
Cons: Breakfast was too expensive.
Location: The city of Ghent has loads of things to do but as it is much bigger than Bruges it does lose some of that charm. There are lots of things to see.
The hotel was generally very good, they had nice chocolates available on the front desk and also a happy hour for the bar (5:30-6:30). It was central and close to the historic city centre (although this isn't as pleasing to the eye as the one on Bruges). The room was comfortable and had good, clean bathroom facilities. The one thing is if your room doesn't include breakfast then it is quite pricey (21 Euros pp!), which than we paid for a meal out the night before.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

nice canal view, but expensive breakfast

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: location, room decoration
Cons: welcome/receptionists- we were offered no advice or information at all about the hotel or the area
Location: all of beautiful gent!
would recommend hotel overall as location was good, close to everything, but reception was poor as they first sent us to a room which hadn't been cleaned, then she went off to shout at someone. Ended up with a nice room with canal view which they offered as an upgrade apparently. Breakfast very expensive so preferred to use local bakeries. Some noisy guests disturbed an otherwise comfortable and quiet sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ingmar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Ghent River Hotel was in a nice location on the river, an easy walk to the main square. The breakfast was not included, but looked good. Too much food, though, which made the 20euro price too high. The internet is so glacial as to be unusable, however. This was our most expensive hotel, with the absolute worst internet. I'd look for another hotel next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central.

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Close to everything. Clean and comfortable
Staff on arrival not at all helpful but after that rest of staff were more than helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Dec 13, 2014
A very good hotel facilities centrally located. Staff very good without being overbearing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Miss Helen Lfrom Camberley

Perfect location.

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Ghent river hotel is in the perfect location, walk 2 minutes in the market square were there are lots of bars, a few more minutes away you hit the river, shops, churches and belfry tower. The hotel was clean and well presented with wifi throughout, the breakfast buffet was perfect was lots of selection that kept being replenished. Our room was upgraded as they run out of standards rooms, it overlooked the river, my only complaint was that it was very dark in our room as the main lighting came from lots of lamps. Great hotel would use again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Goed hotel in centrum Gent

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Een goed hotel op een super locatie. Alles in order en van standaard niet al te modern kaliber. Een minder positieve opmerking: ontbijt voor EUR 20 is voor een dergelijk hotel echt te veel.