Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hull

great location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: customer service
Location: the fort was fantastic
the hotel was nice but the not checking in until after 4 pm was a drag.It was raining and we got to ghent al 11 am so we had a lot of time to kill in the rain!! When we did check in the lady on the desk innsissted on taking several telephone calls and kept us waiting. customer service was the poorest i have seen in belgium.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Great hotel, great location and friendly staff

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Spacious clean rooms and very friendly staff who are always willing to help and the breakfast was superb.
Cons: The gym, if they could have more dumbells, and some barbells, and a pull up and more machines like leg press and chest press e.t.c.
Location: The location is great, there is a river nearby, good restaurants, cathedral and boat rides. It is very close to Graventsteen castle.
This is a nice hotel with friendly helpful staff who are always willing to help. The umbrellas on the reception were a big plus as it was raining during our stay but we managed to get out and about comfortably.The internet was reliable too. Highly recommended and I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable & very nice breakfast

Posted Aug 18, 2014
This hotel has a very good location, is very clean, comfortable, and the breakfast good & was served in a beautiful room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chester

Lovely view

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: View
Cons: Rearrange the furniture
Location: Close to town
Great location, just out of town but easily walkable. Fantastic breakfast with just about every option available, all beautifully presented. Rooms reasonably large, but badly laid out so they feel smaller than they are. And the rooms need a lick of paint as they are getting a bit battered due to the poor lay out, which means that access to the rooms is cramped with a large wardrobe in the way so the walls are scuffed and dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Saskatchewan

Located close to city centre

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast was pretty pricey.
Location: Easy walk to city centre and restaurants.
Comfortable hotel, easy walk to city centre, staff was helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Toronto

Great location

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: earlier check-in. we had to wait til 4pm
Location: see overview
Close to everything: the river of course, the parking on arrival, the best sights (castle, cathedral, river boats, just walking around), and if you are there on a friday a super market. The restaurants in the square were equally good, not a bad bite! And if beer is your pleasure, lots of cafes. There is one that promises 250 beers! We had one day of rain and and still got around. I can't believe some of the negatives mentioned. The hotel is clean, the staff helpful, the breakfast super! Even the breakfast room has a view. There was some noise but we use earplugs on all out trips - you just can't get perfect noise isolation anywhere. A shoe store in the square had great deals and the 2 women in our group both bought a pair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Allegra from London

Convenient central location

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Central location. Also 3rd floor breakfast room has nice views of the city.
Cons: Mainly the internet service provision
Location: Didn't have the opportunity to explore as in Ghent for work
There were few hotels available in Ghent when I booked Ghent River for the first time. The ground floor room (#17) was very gloomy but fine for what I needed. Fixture in the room look dated but are functional. Internet free but very sporadic, so not ideal if you need to work. Breakfast too expensive in my view at €20 - and who actually pays for minibar stuff in these rooms (more than €3 for a small bag of peanuts is a joke!!) Generally OK overall, but there are much nicer places to stay in Ghent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Flandrien from Uk

Tour of Flanders

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel , clean and tidy. Stayed over for the cycling event - tour of Flanders. Hotel refused to let us put bikes in our rooms for security, said we can put them in a downstairs room that wasn't locked which anyone had acces to!! Not very cycle friendly considering it was Belgium!! On the Friday night we were woken at 0400 hours by some raging drunk Belgian having a argument in reception - staff did not handle this guest very well at all - this went on for an hour. I nearly went and sorted it myself! Clean and tidy hotel, breakfast ok. Just needs some rule changes regarding bike storage and how to deal with rowdy drunks!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

-Cosy atmosphere-Very close to must see sights

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay at the hotel .Our room was clean and updated. The hotel is very convenient and accessible to the tourist attractions in the old city