Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crawley

Good Value Hotel but had a one minor issues

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Hotel is located in a good spot to explore Ghent and we found it easy enough by car. Parking and check-in was easy and pleasant and our room was in the annex part of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean, with a good sized shower room with twin sinks. My only problem was with the smell from the bathroom. For some reason, the bathroom would just start smelling real bad. We only stayed 2 nights, but my husband mentioned this when checking out and they were very apologetic and would look into it. Despite this, I would still book here again as I would hope we were unlucky on this occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Fantastic Place to stay!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The character and location within the city.
Cons: They could have had a bar area for guests in the hotel but i didn't see one.
Location: Historic castle and canal system were all within a minute from the front door!! Local restaurants and bars were fantastic. Ghent is beautiful!
Spent a day at this Hotel in the fantastic city of Ghent. Less than a minute walk from the famous Castle and canal system. Absolutely brilliant stay. Room was clean Hotel was clean and staff were most helpful with us. Will be going there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm springs

haven in a city thronged with tourists

Posted Aug 16, 2014
exceptionally helpful and friendly staff both during the day and into the evening. more than ample breakfasts with leeway allowed for latecomers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by maggieosa from Belgium

Solid quality for a manageable price

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Given the last minute booking, and the high demand, we were able to book quickly. The staff was very pleasant, the rooms were of decent quality and cleanliness (although we were booked in the newer wing, I believe - I would have liked to seen the rooms above the reception area). Great location, accessible to the great sites of Gent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in excellent central position.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Position, breakfast, cleanliness, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Shower gel could be provided. The radio was coming off in the hall way outside which looked tatty. The hole in the window woodwork should be blocked.
Location: The position is excellent as others have said; a few steps to the castle and a couple of minutes to the main meeting place by the canal.
Our room was room 64 (or 66?) which was in the annexe and overlooked a courtyard where the hotel bar was situated. The room was very clean, beds comfortable, enough storage, nice shower room with good shower. Towels were changed whenever requested. I was pleased to see a mosquito net at one of the windows - it would have been good to have it at both as it was hot at night but we only dare have one window open. We noticed a hole in the wood at the bottom of the window which would have let ample mosquitos in but we blocked it with a tissue and we had no problem. The hotel also provides electric mosquito repellents. The room was on the second floor and was a bit dark, the windows being quite short and arched at the top and a big tree in the courtyard. We couldn't find any instructions for anything like the safe/ phone etc. The room was quiet at night once everyone was back in the hotel - the annexe people passed below the window to get in. Also one night there was a lot of noise from the bar as hotel guests were sitting outside. A fabulous breakfast with lots of choice and pleasant breakfast room. The position is excellent as others have said; a few steps to the castle and a couple of minutes to the main meeting place by the canal. Although the No.1 tram stops nearby too, be aware that coming from the station not all the No.1's go that far; the one we go terminated a few stops short and we ended up walking the last bit - not a good idea with cases and cobbles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Right across from the castle and steps from the city centre, you can't beat this location. Good value overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosa from England

Excellent location

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would stay again in this hotel juat because the location is excellent. The hotel is quite nice but the rooms are quite simple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Malcm72 from Kent, UK

great location. could do with a little tlc.

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a quadruple room. Good size and clean. Generally a good place and location is perfect for Ghent. The room required quite a walk to get to, but other than that it was good for a overnight stay.