Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in excellent central position.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Position, breakfast, cleanliness, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Shower gel could be provided. The radio was coming off in the hall way outside which looked tatty. The hole in the window woodwork should be blocked.
Location: The position is excellent as others have said; a few steps to the castle and a couple of minutes to the main meeting place by the canal.
Our room was room 64 (or 66?) which was in the annexe and overlooked a courtyard where the hotel bar was situated. The room was very clean, beds comfortable, enough storage, nice shower room with good shower. Towels were changed whenever requested. I was pleased to see a mosquito net at one of the windows - it would have been good to have it at both as it was hot at night but we only dare have one window open. We noticed a hole in the wood at the bottom of the window which would have let ample mosquitos in but we blocked it with a tissue and we had no problem. The hotel also provides electric mosquito repellents. The room was on the second floor and was a bit dark, the windows being quite short and arched at the top and a big tree in the courtyard. We couldn't find any instructions for anything like the safe/ phone etc. The room was quiet at night once everyone was back in the hotel - the annexe people passed below the window to get in. Also one night there was a lot of noise from the bar as hotel guests were sitting outside. A fabulous breakfast with lots of choice and pleasant breakfast room. The position is excellent as others have said; a few steps to the castle and a couple of minutes to the main meeting place by the canal. Although the No.1 tram stops nearby too, be aware that coming from the station not all the No.1's go that far; the one we go terminated a few stops short and we ended up walking the last bit - not a good idea with cases and cobbles.
1 out of 5
by Amine from Montreal

Worst hotel ever Terrible and unprofessional staff

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Light was cut during the night without any notice. Staff at the reception was not professionnal and uncompetent. Brief, uncapable to read an expedia receipt and charged me twice. A big garbage container put in front of the entrance. I moved to the Sandton Grand Hotel Reyloff which I definitely recommend not the Gravensteen hotel for sure...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Viana from Toronto

Nice Hotel in the City

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: It is right in the City.
Cons: The entrance to the Hotel.
Location: Stores, restaurant, train.
Yes, it is 3 stars hotel OK. It is in the City. You get what you paid for, the price is reasonable if you do not want to spend more. The most important is clean.
2 out of 5
by Riitta from Camarillo, CA

Hotel under remodeling, wait until finished!

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Due to the remodeling (which was not disclosed at the time of reservation, only 2weeks before the stay) it is not ready to take visitors.
Location: Great location:a short walking distance from the beautiful old center of Gent with its important sights, restaurants, bars and shopping
The four of us were touring Belgium: 4 cities in 6 days. The location was an important factor in choosing the hotel. Hotel Gravensteen had received good reviews so I chose it for the 24 hour stay in Gent. The hotel is a short walk from the old center of the beautiful city of Gent right next to the impressive Gravensteen medieval castle and the somewhat disappointing Design Museum. That was the only positive comment I can give at this time of the hotel (the location). It was under heavy -and loud- remodeling, which probably explains the negative impression. There was no hot water in the room, always a cause for aggravation. The staff at the reception was not particularly friendly and never apologized for the inconvenience of the noise etc. I would not go there again, unless the remodeling is successful -and completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rohet from Northampton

Ghent Market

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Best location to visit Christmas market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard Woodall from Lincoln

Great Location

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
A good standard of hotel close to all the attractions especially the old part of the city
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Very pleasant Stay

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a long weekend. The hotel was perfectly located in the centre, within easy walking distance of everything. Service was great, the room was OK. We couldnt get the wifi to work, and the smokers going onto the fire escape blowing smoke back into our room was annoying. But overall a good place to stay, and we'd recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jack from Chicago

Great location to canal and town center

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Superb location - excellent price
Cons: Stay would be even better if there was a fan in the rooms.
Staff were very helpful and courteous. Hotel is located right next to a tram stop and is 1 minute wlak to the canal and 3-5 minutes to the center of Ghent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Randy from Washington, DC

OK Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: Great Location
Cons: Wi-fi was out, room was stale, shower was moldy
Location: Close to historic downtown Gent
The hotel has a great location and is central to all of Gent's main attractions. It was perfectly basic and fine; however, there were some notable weaknesses. First, the room had a funny layout with a separate room for the toilet and another room for the shower and sink. The doors opened into each other and caused a lot of frustration as they opened loudly into each other. The room was very small but did what it needed to do. Unfortunately, it was also very dull and stale looking with a lot of water stains on the carpet and mold on the shower grout. The most frustrating part of the stay is hard to quantify. I chose my hotels based on those that offered wi-fi so I could stay in touch with my family back home. When we arrived, and after I asked about the wi-fi, the receptionist told me that the wi-fi was down and had been for 2 days. Due to holidays, it was unlikely to be repaired. Therefore, there was no wi-fi and he offered no apologies and did not make any offers to compensate for this. In the end, I typed my emails offline and went down the street near the Marriott and signed up for the free Gent wi-fi so that I could send messages home. It would have gone a long way to get an apology and maybe a breakfast or a drink since assumably the cost of my room included wi-fi. I will as a result stay elsewhere next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aoife

Great stay, great hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff of this hotel were positively lovely. There was always someone in reception if needed. The room, the bed, the shower, everything was top quality and the location of the hotel was perfect for all Gent had to offer. We loved it!