Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outdated, but good location and staff make it up.

Posted Aug 16, 2013
The hotel is in a great location and has a nice lobby and restaurant. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The man who checked us in had several of his favourite restaurant recommendations and told us a couple funny local stories. The room was clean and functional, but outdated. We were originally disappointed to have a room right by the elevator, but once we got into the room and saw the view from the window, we were happy - it had an amazing view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by GJW from North Wales

Great Location

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a modern, clean and comfortable hotel. This is the first time that I have stayed at an Ibis hotel, but will be happy to use them again based on the standards here. I did not find the room particularly small, which was a concern after reading other reviews. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. It is easy to reach from the train station, you need the number 1 tram and get off at the 7th stop. There is a ticket office near the tram stop outside the station. The central location is great, in easy walking distance of major attractions. The lighting of the city centre is itself a very effective attraction. It does tend to get noisy from about 6.00am including trams running; if this concerns you, you could ask for a room at the rear. Very good value at rate paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sabine from St. Maarten

Great location

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Our room was a little small. Very clean and comfortable. Great location, easy to access from the bus or tram. A lots of restaurants,attractions in the area. Safe to walk at any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dg from London, UK

Central hotel - traffic noise can prevent sleeping

Posted Jul 10, 2013
I found it very noisy from ~5.30am or so when the trams and buses started running and was unable to get back to sleep. My colleagues with room in a similar position to the road found the same. This will vary by room. of course.
1 out of 5
by DANIEL from Norwich, Norfolk, UK

unpleasant and expensive for what it is

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: The dirtyness
The entrance to the parking is unbelievably small, almost to the point of being impossible to get in. Our room stank of mould and wet dog. The new beds are far too soft and ours already sagged in the middle. And the non english speaking middle aged woman in charge of the breakfast behaved as if she was doing us a favour by taking our money and wanted to tell me off for getting my own coffee instead of waiting for her. I don't know why as there were machines and all the people who had breakfast included in their room rate were helping themselves as well. The only difference was that I needed to pay for mine then. She quickly apologised when I made it clear that I don't appreciate being talked to like that and the fact that I was waiting for almost 10 minutes for someone to serve us. On the whole it was a nightmare. I'm under no illusions about the type of hotel that I stayed in but I don't believe cleanliness and courteous staff are too much to ask for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennifer from London, UK

Fab location but don't expect more than the basics

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor, compactness, no more than the basics
Location: Moments away from the historic town
Just like many of the other reviewers, I would say that the best thing about this hotel is the location. Otherwise it is fairly basic and just about okay for the money charged. The room was clean and compact, the decor is quite dated, there is no safe, fridge, hotel information booklet or complimentary bathroom extras. The bathroom was fine although the toilet was in a tight corner, so would not be very comfortable for a larger person. On day two the shower did not work, but this was fixed promptly after notifying the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

fantastic location

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very pleased with our stay - rooms tidy and clean, beds comfortable, breakfast convenient, and the location fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Richmond upon Thames

Brillant Location

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Simple but comfortable room in a great central location - just what we wanted. Friendly and helpful check-in staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2013 on Hotels.com