Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Good for only one night, nothing out of normal

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The staff kindness and the way they care for guests requests. We wre not happy with that.
Location: Please go and visit seydisfjordur!!! It is like a fairy tale small town!
The hotel is well located. From its location it is very easily to visit amazing towns in the east fiords, it is close to one of the most amazing towns we have ever visited in our life (After being in more than 50 countries...): seydisfjordur!!! The hotel staff was not as kind as the people from Icelandair hotel in Akureiry, being from the same hotel chain, service quality was very different and in Icelandair hotel Herad they were not very kind. Not even considering we were on our honey moon, no compliments were considered, we arrived late at night and front door was closed so we had to go and park in the lower back level, then come back up to the front to ask for someone to go and open the lower level door. It was kind of a mess for us who were really tired. In brief it is a very normal hotel, nothing exceptional with a service level below our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Cons: Cheaper breakfast rates but hey, this is Iceland and all food is rather expensive.
Good stopping off location on the circle road, Room was very comfortable and offered all the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GC from Ottawa, Canada

Quality Hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
This is definitely a first-rate, modern hotel. The rooms are bright and above-average in size. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stas from USA

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Same as all of Iceland Air hotels No queen/full bed, just two light single beds placed together. 1000 Isk for WiFi a day. breakfast is 2500 isk and not included in the hotel price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mia from HK

Comfortable hotel but better have WIFI in room

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable hotel but better have WIFI in room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from USA

Icelandair Hotel Herad review

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel had a great. At check in the desk let us know they would call us if there was a northern light sighting. Although we didn't get the call we thought it was a great feature. The town does not have a lot of options for restaurants and virtually none have breakfast. Where I come from(USA) there are numerous options for a hot meal so that was a small disappointment. Great views on the drive in and the town was easy to navigate. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by minna from canada

Great stay

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: The room was clen and comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel and it was excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Egilsstadir was suppose to be just an overnight stopover on route from the north to the east of Iceland. It turned out to be great.
We loved staying at this hotel. It was a very convenient location. The dining room was first class with food that would rival the best of Reykavik. We visited the local Icelandic Heritage Museum which was amazing and informative about how people lived in Iceland years ago. All in all, it was a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by yerstar from Washington, DC

Nice - but eat elsewhere!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Nice hotel. Somewhat generic, but very comfortable. My only complaint is that the prices of food / drinks were outrageous - more so than regular hotel food prices. For my boyfriend and I to have each have a burger in the lounge at happy hour it was going to cost close to $50! As an aside, I got a package through Expedia that included breakfast - if you can find that deal, take it! The breakfast was fantastic!