Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Catherinefrom New Zealand.

No food

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place was lovely. But stayed in lodges and they were very tired looking. Under the beds was very dirty..we also struck the problem that we were tired and hungry. They have a restaurant but when there are functions on, guests cannot eat there. As it was in the country. We had to go to the nearest town to dine. Last thing we felt like doing. There was no information in the rooms about services available and no phone directory. Overall I was very dissapointed as I had read a couple of good reviews. If we could have had a meal onsite I would happily overlooked the lack of staff and other issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by American in Scotlandfrom Colorado

A little out of the way, but a beautiful place.

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
It would be a lot more comfortable if there were a restaurant on site, because I had to take a taxi into town for food. The breakfast was not included, but hearty and delicious and expensive. It was a great space to be for the price on a night when I couldn't get a room in Edinburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dennisfrom Park CIty, UT

Beautiful grounds.

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel and grounds were an old estate house. The grounds/gardens are beautiful. The room itself was comfortable and clean, except for a bit of mold on the wall of the bathroom. Very comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by francisfrom budel

Geweldige service

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Verrassende ervaring, echt de moeite waard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Lodge. Lovely view and friendly staff

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Close to the Carberry Tower
Cons: Internet connection is really poor
Location: Local churches, lovely scenery.
Lodges are fit for purpose and within the compound of the Carberry Tower. Nice clean and comfortable. 30 minutes drive away from Edinburgh town city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect!!

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: peaceful
Cons: nothing!!
Location: perfect for us as we were close to portabella beach
this was booked as a stop of....and what a lovely surprise to see that we were actually within a stones throw from the MAGNIFICENT tower!!!!...wonderful breakfast and service..................what more can I say!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markfrom London

Castle Escape!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: It was a CASTLE!!! It was beautiful and a lovely retreat with very comfortable linen and facilities. Highly recommended!
Cons: The booking system - I had confirmation codes on two separate rooms but hotel only were aware of one. Fortunately, the staff assisted and resolved.
Location: Musselborough does not offer a lot but Edinburgh is a short 10-20 minute drive away. Not sure how well serviced the public transport is.
This was a fantastic actual castle from the 11th century! Amazing! Very luxurious, comfortable and lots to see and do both within the castle and the private grounds. Absolutely highly recommended, friendly staff and very reasonably priced as well!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Disappointing overall

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Impressive corporate venue, but lodges less so. Room small but adequate. Bed is standard double, so short if you are tall, and rather hard. TV reception poor. Shower room adequate but needs refurbishment: tile grout, heater thermostat faulty so was stiflingly hot. Got woken in early morning by very noisy guests in other rooms. Overall disappointing: may be OK for overnight, but would not consider for longer stay. After complaining to manager, decided not to bother with the, typically, over priced breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dianefrom York

Nice lodges only 5 mins away from station

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Closeness to Edinburgh, peaceful surroundings and price
Cons: Nothing, we were happy for that price with what we got, it is nicer and better located than several of the budget hotels
Location: 5 mins from Wallyford Station which has regular trains to Edinburgh, the last train being at 11.15pm on Saturday night. Musselburgh very close.
This is a very peaceful location and only 5 mins away from Wallyford Train station where you can park your car for free all day and get on the train to Edinburgh for £3.60 return (kids go free if travelling with adults). We checked in at Carberry Tower (the posh hotel) as there was no-one on the check in desk in the lodges, we were told where to park the car and which lodge our room was in. We had a triple room and it was fine for the 3 of us. We didnt use the bar or restaurant in the Carberry Tower, but were told we could. The only slight downside was noise during the night from possibly a water heater or some sort of water boiler, it was quite loud at times, but not sure if this can be heard in all rooms. As we were only staying one night, we didnt bother querying it, but would have done if staying longer. For the price and ease of getting into Edinburgh and the A1, it was definitely worth the money and we will definitely stay again.