Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Would stay here again

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: What I liked most about this hotel were the owners, Lee and Marcus! They were both so friendly and helpful to us during our stay.
Cons: Nothing stands out to me as needing improvement.
Location: The location is very close to the beach. It is also somewhat halfway between central Brighton - where The Laines etc are - and also Kemptown.
My boyfriend and I stayed at Amherst Brighton for a long weekend. When we arrived, Lee & Marcus greeted us and made sure we had everything we needed. Our room was bright, clean and very comfortable. Overall, Lee & Marcus did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and well looked-after. I would recommend Amherst to any couple looking for somewhere comfortable and welcoming to stay in Brighton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrow

Hotel very close to sea front, lots of bars

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: close to beach, good range of breakfast, rooms clean
Cons: needs a little modernisation of the communal rooms ie dining room, hallway, carpets
Location: good location, walk along the beachfront, shopping
We had a really good time, so much to see and explore from the quaint shops to a good choice of bars and restaurants. It is far from being a typical seaside town, diverse and interesting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark & Sadie from Leighton Buzzard

Very comfortable stay near to the pier

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Central location, Comfortable rooms.
Location: Brighton Pier, The Lanes, Beechy Head (Car Drive)
Very happy with our stay, Lee and Marcus were very accommodating and stayed up to wait for us to arrive later than the normal check in time. Very comfortable rooms with views of the sea. We found parking pretty easy and as it was our first time in Brighton, Lee made us aware of the local attractions and gave us a map. Would definitely recommend and use again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Amherst, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind kind words. We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations. Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL" We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future. Thank you again for taking time out to place a review. Kind regards the boys at Amherst
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Perth, Scotland

Weekend in Brighton.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Owners and Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location.
Location: Full access to all that Brighton has to offer.
Great weekend in the lovely town of Brighton & Hove.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Amherst, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind kind words. We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations. Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL" We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future. Thank you again for taking time out to place a review. Kind regards the boys at Amherst
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted May 6, 2014
I went away with my girlfriend our stay was brilliant..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Amherst, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind kind words. We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations. Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL" We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future. Thank you again for taking time out to place a review. Kind regards the boys at Amherst
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jo from littlehampton

friendly atmosphere

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
i loved my stay at the Amherst. from the moment we arrived, we were shown warm and friendly service, and nothing was to much trouble. we were also left alone, without feeling we were an inconvenience . will go back next year. thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Amherst, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind kind words. We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations. Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL" We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future. Thank you again for taking time out to place a review. Kind regards the boys at Amherst
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easter in Brighton

Posted Apr 22, 2014
My boyfriend and I had a great couple of days in Brighton for Easter. Found the Amerhurst guesthouse on Expedia fairly last minute and very glad that we managed to bag the last room. Excellent value for money in comparison to everything else that was available. The location was perfect, 5 minutes from the pier and other main attractions. For a little extra cost we had room service so had our complimentary breakfast in bed which was a great touch. We would would highly recommend the Amerhurst on a number of different levels. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Amherst, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind kind words. We do appreciate feedback as it helps us with our efforts to please our Guests and to go beyond their expectations. Our mantra is " If we can WE WILL" We hope that you will stay with us again in the not to distant future. Thank you again for taking time out to place a review. Kind regards the boys at Amherst
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Cheltenham

Nice hotel, very friendly

Posted Jan 10, 2014
The best thing about this little hotel is that they are very friendly and chatty and helpful. The rooms are nice and the bed was super-comfortable. I slept like a log. Will certainly be back if I need a room in the Brighton or Hove area again. The location would have been great if it hadn't been pouring with rain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short break at Brighton

Posted Sep 16, 2013
We stayed at the Amherst Hotel on a short break to Brighton. We really enjoyed our stay, at Brighton and at the Amherst. The hotel is centrally located. The hosts were lovely and very responsive to any requests for queries we had. The room was well well equipped, clean and very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead

wonderful hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was literally a stone's throw from the beach and a leisurely 10 minute walk into town. The decor was bright and clean, Lee and Marcus were very friendly and welcoming hosts. The epic ascent to the top floor room was worth it. The room was large and well furnished with a huge bed, and a sea view...just, a very comfortable stay indeed. There was a choice of breakfast, a free continental, or a very good cooked breakfast for a few pounds extra. We would highly recommend staying at the Amherst.